We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Boonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was on a road trip to Minnesota, and my stopping point was Des Moines. I found this property online at priorityclub.com.

Looks like a new hotel. My expectations are pretty set when it comes to the HIX brand, and this property didn't disappoint. The check-in staff was friendly and efficient.

There's a Culver's across the street, and an Arby's nearby. I opted to visit the sports bar up around the corner instead, for a little local flavor.

The rooms are well-appointed and well-lit. Bathroom size was ample and there was an adequate supply of towels and washcloths. Beds were comfortable and the curtains did a sufficient job of keeping out all the light even though I was right above the lobby and porte cochere.

It's conveniently located a few miles from where 35, 80, and 235 all intersect. I'd definitely consider this property again if I'm needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We always look forward to providing our guests with excellent service and a great room to rest your head for any occasion. We hope that you have the chance to stay with us again on any return trips to the area. We hope the remainder of your trip to Minnesota was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
23
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a whirlpool suite that was worth the small extra charge, had a great time at the hotel, Lonnie and his crew in bennigans were great!!! Pool area was nice. Can't wait to go back and hit bennigans for those aewsome burgers and midwestern hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your review with the staff and hope that you will be back again. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Got to the hotel late (not a good idea) so we got the last room at the end of the hall and one that likely hadn't been used much. I will summarize:

The security peep-hole was cracked and unable to be used but the part that I was concerned about the most was when the door is shut and you push on the door just a little, the whole wall moves.

Went to the pool and the pool was warmer than the hot-tub along with there being no towels. The kids made the best of it though.

Otherwise the hotel seems good but some of the details you see paying attention to for the Holiday Inns were not looked at closely.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you want one of the more maintained rooms it seems. Otherwise a decent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Great new HIE with all the expected features and benefits of the HIE branding. Very clean, King suites are a worthwhile upgrade. Clean,clean, clean. No wired smells that you get in hotels just a few years old. Travel to Des Moimes on business a lot and I'll keep coming back here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so happy that you had a great stay with us! We pride ourselves on having great staff and providing our business travelers a great place to finish up work for the day and unwind. We are thrilled that we are your destination of choice when travelling through the area and look forward to seeing you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale. We were in the Des Moines area to visit friends and to go to Adventureland. The location was perfect, right near the interstate, and there were plenty of places to eat nearby. The hotel was pretty clean and the rooms were good-sized. I also liked how you had a choice in which pillows to use, based on the embroidered pillow case, indicating "soft" or "firm". We spent a couple of hours in the pool, which was not crowded at all, and we also enjoyed the hot tub. In the morning before we left, we enjoyed a nice breakfast. The only not-perfect observation I made was that when we were checking under the beds before we left to make sure we didn't leave anything, we saw a couple of little cheerios, which were obviously from a previous family because we did not eat anything in the room and none of us eat cheerios anyway. They should maybe try to do a little more thorough job of picking up/vacuuming the room. Wouldn't hold something little like that against them, though, and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have also made some changes with our housekeeping department to ensure that vacuuming is done more thoroughly. Thank you for choosing us while you were in town and we cannot wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed July 18-20 and during that time there was an issue with pill bugs/roly polies on the first floor. There were many bugs on the lobby and hallway floors (some alive, some dead). There were also bugs in my room (roly polies along with one centipede). My room was located on the first floor so I imagine the bugs came under the door. Also, on the day of check out the cable went out on my TV. I spoke to the front desk about the bugs and TV issues and they refunded $20 at checkout.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Gretchen K,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Urbandale, IA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed here this past weekend (7/14/12-7/15/12) & will definitely stay here again. The room was VERY clean & the beds were comfortable. The hotel staff was very nice. The breakfast was good. There was bagels, cereal, fruit, bacon, biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs, coffee, juice, & more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
2.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Address: 8789 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing