We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff stole from locked room”
Review of Sosa Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sosa Cottages
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Travellers and conference-goers, do not stay here. The staff is untrustworthy and rude. In my case, a large amount of money was stolen from my locked room while Sosa Cottages staff were in possession of the key for "housekeeping purposes". To add insult to injury, upper level hotel "directors" were extremely rude and lacked any capacity for customer care or relations. Stay at your own risk. (The food is also terrible)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ambasu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

I was one of 7 women who stayed at the Sosa Cottages 6/23-27/2010 and it was wonderful. Such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay after very busy days on the road. The rooms were great, the food was good, the landscaping was beautiful, and the staff were all friendly and very helpful. We had a couple of special requests while we were there and they were very accomodating for us. I highly recommend Sosa to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank slookabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We visited the Gisambe area in 2006 and stayed at the MBale hotel. 2/3 of our group got sick, had items stolen from their rooms, couldn't sleep because of the noise surrounding the hotel. Fast forward to 2010 -- thank you Sosa! Sosa Cottages are lovely cottages, with 2-3 rooms per cottage. Every room has a private bathroom. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are cleaned daily, the staff is extremely helpful, delightful,and honest (the gal who cleans found my watch which I'd misplaced in the room and gave it to me!), the food is good. The landscaping is lovely, so the Sosa Cottage compound seems like a haven. There are two good conference rooms. The compound has a fence and security is tight. No one in our group got sick. My one complaint is that the walls between rooms are thin so it's possible to hear your neighbors. Take earplugs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank enjoyyourself50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hippodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisambai
10.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 27 in Kisumu
290 reviews
15.4 mi away
Rondo Retreat Centre
Rondo Retreat Centre
#1 of 9 in Kakamega
112 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wigot Gardens
Wigot Gardens
#7 of 55 in Kisumu
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sosa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sosa Cottages

Address: Majengo Hamisi Road, Gisambai 50304, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Western Province > Gisambai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gisambai
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sosa Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing