We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One to remember” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece Countryside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fleece Countryside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barkisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a first class inn serving quality food at an affordable price.
The location of this inn is surrounded by fantastic views and the inn has been developed to take in the vista from its terraces.
I fully recommend a visit to this part of the world and a visit to the Fleece Inn.

Room Tip: I would suggest a view that overlooks the rolling valleys and hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    75
    31
    24
    6
See reviews for
92
113
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I'm always a little dubious about ordering Sunday Lunch in a pub as 9 times out of ten is pretty dire! However, The Fleece turned out to the exception!!! We went on Easter Sunday and enjoyed the very reasonable three course menu which from memory cost a measly £17!!! Gorgeous crab starter with a mild aioli and flat bread followed by perfect roast pork with all the trimmings and finished with a chocolate brownie that I was too full to eat but demolished anyway because it was so lovely!

Staff and decor were also fab! Can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Given we booked relatively last minute and paid a reasonable £80 for two of us I really can't complain. Add to that the very tasteful decor and on the ball staff you're in for a good trip away. Room very comfortable and clean - although the bathroom was very hot (Room No.1). Breakfast very nice - we opted for the steak and eggs and lasted us pretty much all day. Food in the evening good as well - and reasonably priced. A great night away. Thanks.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacko66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyfall
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited the fleece with a party of 8 on a Saturday evening. Service while a little slow was good variety on the menu excellent and of course the views really good. Food good for what was a very busy night will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tonyfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had booked this after seeing a feature on The Fleece on Mary Berry TV programme.
The feature advertised how their chef offered Yorkshire Puddings in each course. I was intrigued, and thought it would be a bit of an unusual twist to Easter Sunday lunch.
My first impression was how amazing the pubs location is .
We were offered a table upstairs, where no one else was seated. I asked to be sat downstairs which seemed lively and full of atmosphere. Was told that many other people were due to be seated upstairs within the next 10-20 minutes, and there were no available tables downstairs.
No one else came- so we felt a little self conscious. In fact, no one came until we had asked for the bill over an hour later.
The main disappointment however was the menu....where were the famous Yorkshire pudding dishes.....
I was told that it had been a one off menu for that programme, and wasn't something they offered.
Wish we hadn't bothered.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Philbn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Thursday night is Steak Night & I can't recommend it enough.Best steaks for miles around & a bargain @ 2 for £30 including a bottle of house wine.Go there,but best book beforehand due to how popular it is.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dax1978dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Having booked our room at the last minute the night before, we were a little apprehensive about what the place would be like. We spent the day at a local museum and had two tired children in tow. We needn't have worried! We were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff who booked us a table in the restaurant and showed us to our room. The children were made to feel very welcome.
What a lovely room! Room 3 (at the top of the stairs) was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed- including free Wifi and a very up to date SmartTV which was very helpful at keeping the children entertained whilst we got ready to go out! The bathroom was again beautifully done (with fantastic taps!). The clever part was the mezzanine level, with two single beds, making this a super family room. My only negative was that without a gate or anything at the top, our children were a little too young for this (although this is our fault for not checking when booking). Super comfy bed, wonderful views from the windows. A pleasure to stay in.
That evening we ate in the restaurant and again it is hard to find fault!The restaurant is beautifully decorated (recently refurbished from reading some of the comments on here?). The ladies toilets are very nice! Again lovely taps!! We were grateful to have a table as it was obviously a busy place even quite early on. We took advantage of 'Grill Night' and enjoyed a free bottle of wine with our meals. Both adult meals were great and they accommodated my fussy eating easily. The children's menu has a good variety and there was no problem finding them something to eat. They both enjoyed their meals. Puddings were delicious, especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding that my husband chose.
Breakfast the next morning was again superb, Very friendly service. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it heartily. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEC0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barkisland
1.9 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
6.2 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece Countryside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Countryside Inn

Property: The Fleece Countryside Inn
Address: Ripponden New Bank | Halifax, Barkisland HX4 0DJ, England (Formerly The Fleece Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Barkisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barkisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleece Countryside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowned Yorkshire's Favourite Pub of 2015 by Welcome To Yorkshire, The Fleece Inn is a renowned pub, restaurant, wedding and function venue. Situated in the rolling hills of the Ryburn Valley, Calderdale. After reopening in late 2012, The Fleece has gone from strength to strength, offering consistently great food, friendly service and it's famous panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Fleece Countryside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing