We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fleece Countryside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barkisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had lunch at the Fleece last week. It was re-opened about 5 months ago after a complete refurbishment. The decor is now contemporary meets country pub. Lots of inside space and eventually (coming soon) a cocktail bar upstairs. Outside there is a huge roof terrace/decking area. We had a sharing platter to start with - great - meal in it's self with home made bread, pate, olives, sun dried tomatoes and cold meats. We both had the lamb and that was just delicious with two different cuts, mashed potatoes and spring greens. Great choice of wines and really friendly service. Really recommend - going back next weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrisNorthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 359 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

First time we had eaten here since the refurbishment and were not disappointed.One or two reviews have commented on the staff but we found them to be very friendly and efficient.I always try to be friendly and courteous to waiting staff and not treat them like second class citizens like some diners do. The food was very good and the portions are generous.We went on a Tuesday lunchtime and it was very busy which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have to agree with Ian B - totally characterless. The dining room was noisy and felt like a canteen. The staff, whilst pleasant enough, didn't seem to know how to 'wait' on us. Drinks were late despite having reminded a couple of waitresses - one excuse was that maybe they were changing a barrel, and yet the order was for a bottled beer! We weren't offered desserts or coffee, had to ask for the bill several times. The food was ok, but as there are plenty of eateries within the locality where the food is possibly the same quality, the poor service would definately put us off going to eat at The Fleece again. Get your staff trained and you might stand a chance!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleece_Inn_Halifax, Owner at The Fleece Countryside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hi Sheran,

Thanks for your review. We apologise for the poor service that you received on your last visit. As I'm sure you are aware, that level of service falls well below our normal standards. Since your review we have taken some time to look into what went wrong, and as such we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've eaten here several times in the past before the recent refurbishment, when the pub had great character. It had a lovely atmosphere with exposed stone, beams and open fires. The food and beer were good too.
We booked a table and were looking forward to the same experience in the new look Fleece. Unfortunately, from the moment we walked in, it was clear the place had lost it's charm. The interior was unrecognisable, all character had been stripped out and it looked like any modern restaurant, grey paint everywhere, the traditional bar had been replaced with a tacky plastic padded front with chrome bar stools. The exposed stone and fireplaces remained but had been sanitised to look as new. Then we were shown into a new area which had the feeling of a works canteen. This area had obviously been built to accommodate weddings but it was totally featureless, white ceilings with downlighting, white walls with nothing on them and modern tables and chairs. We sat on a table next to a party of 20 people with babies and toddlers, not a very peaceful experience.
The food was OK, certainly nothing special. Should raspberry and frangipane tart have rubbery pastry, as if microwaved? We commented on it but doubt if this got back to the kitchen. The Pint of Landlord was freezing, lager temperature!
It's such a shame our character pubs are either closing down or being converted into drab, designer establishments providing mediocre fare. I guess I'm getting old!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely room, which slept 4 which meant our daughter didn't have to sleep in a room on her own. VERY delicious breakfast - Eggs Royale. One or two things would have improved our stay - a blind on the velux window over the mezzanine floor, clean cups for morning tea in our room on second morning and enough cups for all of us rather than only two

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpsomJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We live locally and this is one of our favourite places to eat (of which there are many, we are very spoilt). The beef fillet with bourguignon garnish is delicious. The choc brownie is one of the best I've had too. Their breakfasts are excellent, we went yesterday morning although ou need to be hungry as the portions are huge. i had a well cooked eggs benedict washed down with really good coffee. The service, surroundings and atmosphere are excellent and the place is very well run. Pay them a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Fleece has undergone a transformation that has made it a great place to stay and to eat.
Situated 10 minutes from the M62 and handy for Halifax,Rochdale, Leeds but it a quiet setting.
The rooms are excellent in every respect and the breakfast will keep you going all day.
The Restaurant has superb food, cooked to order, none of that chilled prepred nonsense, and you can tell!!
If you appreciate a decent pint ( which you can as you will not be driving) then there is a nice selection of real beer such As Timmy Taylors Landlord.
The staff are very helpful and enthusiastic about your experience, as an example I fancied a shandy with 80% lemonade and the Restaurant Manager passed by and had a fit. He was worried that the beer should look like this! Even after I explained that it was my choice and unavoidable because of the low beer content he was still concerned....
There is a 250 seater function room blessed with magnificent views up the valley and outside seating just for the party people but other guests also have a great outdoor seating area as well.
When a business has been put together with so much attention to detail it deserves to succeed.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barkisland
1.8 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
322 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.0 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Alma Inn
The Alma Inn
#2 of 5 in Sowerby Bridge
106 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece Countryside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Countryside Inn

Address: Ripponden New Bank | Halifax, Barkisland HX4 0DJ, England (Formerly The Fleece Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Barkisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barkisland
Price Range: $62 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleece Countryside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fleece Countryside Inn The Fleece Countryside Inn is an award-winning Pub, Restaurant, Wedding Venue & Function Venue. Situated in the beautiful Ryburn Valley in Calderdale, The Fleece overlooks the village of Ripponden as well as across the Calder Valley from its hillside location. Following its full refurbishment and reopening in late 2012, the venue has retained its charm and character against this backdrop of stunning Yorkshire landscape. Our award-winning food is served in both a Bistro and Restaurant setting, with the menu changing on a weekly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fleece Countryside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing