We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fleece Countryside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barkisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Have watched this place being done up over the last 12 months, was keen to know the resulting article. Visited with friends for a meal as we live locally on a midweek night. As it wasn't busy our expectations in terms of both food and service was quite high. The menu looked inviting if a but pricey, and our order was taken quickly. 5 minutes later we were told that they'd run out of 'cow pie' one of their signature dishes! Surely we should have been told when ordering that something wasn't available. We all ended up having the same main, fish and chips with mushy peas which was ok but nothing special. Three of us ordered puds and one had cheese, two puds arrived and two didn't, after a while our waitress came and apologised, saying two puds had gone to another table and two more were being prepared, and would be another five minutes. We could have understood a mix up if the place was busy, but not so. The baby apple and almond tart had little taste and was poor quality, something you might expect in a chain eatery. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Terriers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleece_Inn_Halifax, Owner at The Fleece Countryside Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We apologise for some of the mistakes that we made on your last visit.

It is indeed our normal policy to advise customers of shortages on the menu, we will be looking into making sure this does not happen again.

The error in delivering food to the wrong table should not happen at any time, regardless of level of trade. We are aware of the error and we are looking at ways to implement preventive systems in the future.

We have now replaced the apple and almond tart with some great alternatives on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    78
    35
    26
    6
See reviews for
98
114
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had lunch here yesterday and only popped in for a drink!!! My friend and I were sat in the bar looking at the fabulous food that was being delivered to diners and we could not possibly pass this opportunity up, it was FAB. We has a vegetarian option which was Roast Squash & Beetroot Rissoto..... absolutely delicious and unlike other pubs/restaurants I have recently visited the staff here were very attentive. The parking and itereior are second to none. You will not be disappointed by the menu as there is something for everyone and every budget...

Room Tip: We didn't stay or use the pool but I would if I got the chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggymcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went with partner for his birthday on the snowy 22nd. Just about managed to get up the hill through the snow and we were met at the door by Chris who said he was surprised to see us as lots had cancelled. It was well worth the battle to get there as the food was superb, the four of us each had something different and nothing could be faulted, our lamb loving family said it was the best lamb they had ever had, and boy have they had some! Chris and the other staff could'nt have been more helpful. Looks like a lot of money has been spent on the refurb and the ladies loos are fabulous! We will definitely be going again, especially when the weather warms up as we cant wait to see the new cocktail bar and patio!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Went For Sunday DInner with the in laws and family the location and decor is stunning. My sister in law now wants to get married there! The food was amazing beef cooked as the family likes it pink! Massive Yorkshire puddings and a good variety of vegetables on offer.The fish and chips were also fantastic as were all our different starters and sticky toffee pudding to die for! We were all very impressed with the service and quality of food and price. three courses for £17 no complaints there we will definitely be back for more!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I moved to Halifax in 1985 and this pub/restaurant was one of the busiest places going. Since then I think it's fair to say it's had a bit of a checkered existence having actually closed down a number of times. Having been closed for a good 12 months it re-opened after a truly massive refurbishment early December 2012.

With regard to any negative reviews I suspect these were more likely to have been made in the very early days during the rush to open pre xmas. I believe this establishment is still very much a project in progress with plenty more big things to come . Nobody can deny the obvious large sums that have already been injected into this country inn. It's fair to say that the 'refurb' which has plenty of modern touches has also been done with plenty of consideration for the original building which I think dates back to the 1700's.

I have eaten there twice with both experiences being most enjoyable. Food prices are reasonable and very much in line with the many fine eating establishments in the area. I think the wine list carries a bit of a premium but obviously not enough to deter the customers as every time you pass the carpark is jam packed. Mains include plenty of favourites, meat and potato pie with maris piper potatoes, venison wellington and fish of the day to name just a few.
It's worth noting they also offer a sunday breakfast.

A well done to the management and their team is well deserved. Keep up the good work and I await with interest future developments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommurphy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Fleece, a brilliant experience, in a really impressive newly refurbished building, staff were attentive, service was excellent, and the food and drink very good. We had a fantastic freshly prepared food, from a value for money menu with a tremendous selection. The best, so good we have booked for a family feast this evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visisted The Fleece for Sunday lunch. The bar is a great mix of modern design and with a homely, country pub feel. They had a wide range of drinks on offer and it was very busy.

We ate in the large restaurant at the rear of the pub. It was packed and the Sunday lunch offer of three courses was £17 per person, so we went for that. The food was excellent and the service was top notch, sharp without being too pushy.

I would highly recommend The Fleece and in the summer it has an amazing terrace with stunning views. It'll be well worth a visit on a summers day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barkisland
1.8 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
287 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
462 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece Countryside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Countryside Inn

Property: The Fleece Countryside Inn
Address: Ripponden New Bank | Halifax, Barkisland HX4 0DJ, England (Formerly The Fleece Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Barkisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barkisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleece Countryside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fleece Countryside Inn The Fleece Countryside Inn is an award-winning Pub, Restaurant, Wedding Venue & Function Venue. Situated in the beautiful Ryburn Valley in Calderdale, The Fleece overlooks the village of Ripponden as well as across the Calder Valley from its hillside location. Following its full refurbishment and reopening in late 2012, the venue has retained its charm and character against this backdrop of stunning Yorkshire landscape. Our award-winning food is served in both a Bistro and Restaurant setting, with the menu changing on a weekly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fleece Countryside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing