We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fleece Countryside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Barkisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to the fleece last night for dinner, it was very busy on Thursday after new year..!!! Food was excellent, I had scallops to start followed by beef Wellington, which was outstanding, cooked to perfection, plus was reasonable priced
This place has just had a huge refurbishment and looks wonderful, will be returning very soon

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Foodieripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleece_Inn_Halifax, Owner at The Fleece Countryside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Foodie,

Thanks for posting your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit so much. Just to let you know, we have recently changed the beef wellington, for a venison version, which is as good, or maybe better! Hopefully you can find time to come and try it!

Regards,
The Fleece

p.s You posted your review on the hotel listing. The restaurant page can be found here http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g190786-d3753943-Reviews-The_Fleece_Inn-Halifax_West_Yorkshire_England.html

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 355 of 355 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We popped in on Boxing day for lunch and was most impressed with it. I had roast pork dinner which was cooked perfectly with decent crackling and lots of fresh veg. My partner had the fish and chips and it looked fab. I'm not sure what the normal menu is like as we only had the choice of the Boxing day menu but it that was anything to go by then it'll be great. We'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SamNorton1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleece_Inn_Halifax, Owner at The Fleece Countryside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Sam,

Thank you for visiting The Fleece so soon after we reopened, and even more so for choosing Boxing Day to dine with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your food so much.

If you would like to see our full a la carte menu, please drop us a line at contact@fleece-inn.com, and we will promptly reply.

Regards,
The Fleece

p.s Your review was posted on the hotel listing. You can find the restaurant page here http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g190786-d3753943-Reviews-The_Fleece_Inn-Halifax_West_Yorkshire_England.html

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a fabulous place this is! Went for lunch today and couldn't fault it. The food was beautiful both in taste and presentation. The staff were helpful and obliging. The Sunday lunch menu was varied and good - in fact, we were spoilt for choice! If you want a meal somewhere in a beautiful setting, where good food is served in classy surroundings AND the food not overpriced then this is the place to go. I do know that we shall most certainly be back!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LandK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleece_Inn_Halifax, Owner at The Fleece Countryside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for posting our first review on Tripadvisor, and even more so for saying such nice things! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much.

We can't wait to see you again in the future!

Regards,
The Fleece Inn

p.s You review was posted on our hotel listing. You can find our restaurant page here http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g190786-d3753943-Reviews-The_Fleece_Inn-Halifax_West_Yorkshire_England.html

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barkisland
1.8 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
312 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
161 reviews
4.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece Countryside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Countryside Inn

Address: Ripponden New Bank | Halifax, Barkisland HX4 0DJ, England (Formerly The Fleece Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Barkisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barkisland
Price Range: $97 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleece Countryside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fleece Countryside Inn The Fleece Countryside Inn is an award-winning Pub, Restaurant, Wedding Venue & Function Venue. Situated in the beautiful Ryburn Valley in Calderdale, The Fleece overlooks the village of Ripponden as well as across the Calder Valley from its hillside location. Following its full refurbishment and reopening in late 2012, the venue has retained its charm and character against this backdrop of stunning Yorkshire landscape. Our award-winning food is served in both a Bistro and Restaurant setting, with the menu changing on a weekly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fleece Countryside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing