We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plates and main dinner cold” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Northill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Plates and main dinner cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Overall disappointed with this visit. Ordered some lamb for around £15 which was a bit of lamb with fat, some small slices of potato and a spoonful of spinach sitting in one lump in the middle of a cold plate. When I complained I was given a complimentary plate of vegetables which were fine and hot. Probably wont visit again as everything there is overpriced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alshyundai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    69
    28
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Great food, lunchtime and evening with friendly helpful staff, but do watch what you drink. Eg single espresso was £2.80 and two gin and tonics cost nearly £10. Service was very god even though pub was fairly busy. That was good to see too as this pretty Bedfordshire village nearly lost its pub/ restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank lushrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Massive Improvement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This Pub was in serious decline several months ago but it would appear the new management have turned things round.

I often take my little boy there for a Sunday roast and its fast and friendly service at a good price with the added bonus of a play area for kids (could do with upgrading as the play equipment has been there for years)

Lovely atmosphere and lots of smiles of the staff :)

Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perryboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
2 reviews
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I love The Crown, it is somewhere we can go as a couple for a great lunch or evening meal, it is also somewhere the children love on a Sunday afternoon in their fantastic garden and huge play area. The menu is wide and varied, my personal favorites are the burgers (beef or lamb) the fish deli board and belly of pork. They cater well for my sister who has different dietry needs, they also cater well for the children with a children's menu or they will do smaller portions of most dishes. The pub is clean and beautifully presented, there is also loads of space to sit outside. The staff are always friendly and the service attentive without being too much. If you go you must try the trio of desserts, it's wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keepmesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy Umbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were very disappointed. Nothing like the food we had a few years ago at our last visit! The starter was a generous assiette of delicatessen but the burgers were salty and tasteless and the sweet potato chips soggy; the haddock risotto was not edible. We will not return again to eat at the restaurant. The pub is lovely and the service was good. There was also a good selection of beers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Moggerhanger, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing