We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The resort is built on a hilly slope along the main road, so it's really quite impossible to miss. i went there during cloudy weather, so I wasn't able to enjoy the nice view, but the surrounding itself was nice and tranquil. i love the fact that they've got cutesy rabbits for kids to play with. the food was good, and the view from the restaurant is also nice. make sure you book early if you want to use their iron.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leenoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    171
    80
    16
    14
See reviews for
121
101
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I book this place about a week before we head out to Kundasang and was delighted that there was still room. During Check in, I found out that the room we are getting was just infront of the resort office and requested if they had other rooms and I dont mind upgrade. I was surprise that there was one more room at S and immediately requested to upgrade. The front office guy was kind to re-do the check-in and gave us the new room key. The entire family was very happy to get a room with such a beautiful view.

The room was clean, some of the amenities include coffee, shower gel & soap. Basic items for this class of hotel. The view from the hotel as well as around the hotel is beautiful. There is nothing much to do at the Hotel, except to sit around, enjoying the view and the climate. We did not take the food from the hotel as we had a car and we drove around to find food.

Mt. Kinabalu is covered with clounds when we arrived, but when evening comes, the sky clears and the majestic mountain just awe us. I woke up early in the morning and catch the sun rise, the run rises on the right, and as it breaks the clouds and start to paint the mountain orange, this is where the mountain is most beautiful. This is around 6-7am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KewLAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The only reason to stay at Kinabalu Pines is for the view, nothing more. When we arrived we got a basic room with no view. Therefore we upgraded to a more expensive room that had a view of Mount Kinabalu. The pricey room was old and basic but again you pay for the view. We took the dinner/breakfast package which was very average. Don't stay at this hotel for anything but the view. If you are lucky enough to get a clear morning the view is spectacular.

Room Tip: If you want a view be prepared to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kundasang hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The pine resort is located at the perfect location. The sunrise is stunning ! When you stay at mountain view room, the view is totally Awesome at the early morning. Our last stay was at block P ( Superior Standard Room ). However, room is basics and small. No aircond but fan. (the temperature can dropped to 17'C at night) To add a bonus, it has wifi with a good internet speed and accessible. Our room can accommodate up to 3 persons with an extra mattress. Don't choose the standard room. The standard room does not offer great panoramic view of the Mt. Kinabalu because it is surrounded by pine trees. Just add another RM 25 to upgrade from standard room to mountain view room. It really worth it ! Choose the package which is come with set of breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Kinabalu pine resort usually fully booked during peak season. Dont forget to request a mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Kinabalu Pine Resort is located in a great location maybe 4 miles from the Mt. Kinabalu National Park, Malaysia's first UNESCO World Heritage Site. Also, maybe 1 mile away is a large fruit and vegetable market and a small village for grocery shopping. Near the village on a small hill is a memorial dedication for the Australian, New Zealand soldiers and local Malay's who died fighting an overwhelming Japanese Army in WWII. Look for flags on a large poles. Also, nearby in the town of Renau is another memorial that marks the spot of the Japanese prison for Australian, New Zealand soldiers and Malay's. From this site the forced POW Death March began. A very small white sign from the road points to the site up a hill by the Women Fellowship, Sib Pekan Renau Church. At the resort there's a very nice view of Mt. Kinabalu from a platform close to the reception office and to the right-side of the small parking area up a short incline. Make a left turn after the reception office. Parking in front of the reception office and restaurant is not allowed. However, management does not enforce it. So, it's hard to drive pass parked Vans and Suv's that ignore the no parking sign. It's a problem management must fix. Check-in and check-out was very good. If you ask the reception folks to make a local telephone call to check on times for nearby attraction sites for the time they open and close - you'll be asked for 60-cents Ringitts per call. Not good for a Resort to charge a fee. It's another way for the Kinabalu Pine Resort to make money that we refer to in the USA as "nickel and diming." The restaurant menu is very good. Food is good and food is inexpensive. No beer in the restaurant is served. It's served downstairs below the restaurant and it's very pricey. Breakfast included in the cost of the room is a plus. Back-packers and guests bring their luggage inside the restaurant in the morning. Not good because tables are set up too close to each other. Folks going back and forth to the buffet breakfast were tripping on back-packer luggage. Management should require all luggage be left outside the restaurant. Reserve a table for dinner in the morning. Restaurant service is very good. In-room Wi-fi is another plus. The deluxe rooms are the best. Pay the extra cost for it. Standard rooms should be bypassed. Nice large porch comes with the deluxe rooms, especially deluxe room B3 that has a very nice view of Mt. Kinabalu from the porch. Rooms are clean. Two bottles of complimentary water is a plus. No shower wash cloth no hand towel provided. No air conditioning just a standing floor fan. Pillows are hard. Management needs to consider offering and providing guests with a choice for a soft pillows in lieu of the hard pillows.

Room Tip: Select the Deluxe Room - B3 with king-bed and large porch has a nice view of Mt. Kinabalu from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

You have to request for Mt. KK view room and you should set your alarm clock at 5.30am to watch the sun rise and the clear view of mount kk from your room. It was heavenly heaven! My family and I enjoyed the stay at this resort. Calm, cooling, peaceful. Good place for a city break!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanicholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The only thing going for this hotel is the view. The rooms are very basic, food basic, very noisy and do not recommend staying here at all. We had no choice as on a pre-booked tour out of Australia. We knew the hotels would be simple but this was very disappointing. Very thin blanket on the bed with no extras in the room so had to sleep in my jumper.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
0.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
2.3 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#4 of 13 in Kundasang
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 27 in Ranau
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#7 of 10 in Kundasang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Property: Kinabalu Pine Resort
Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 88990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing