We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay & catch a magnificent view of Mount Kinabalu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay & catch a magnificent view of Mount Kinabalu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the exterior the place looks like a nice place and when I was inside it definitely live up their 'resort' status. Rooms are clean, simple and tidy. Your room essentials are provided and complementary (no toothbrush). there's even free wifi for every block and you can connect without the need for a password. My only complain would be that I wished the blankets were thicker or there was a duvet/comforter because it is really cold at night. Or you can wear socks cos I forgot to bring mine.

Food at the restaurant is just average and nothing to shout about. However, there is a patio below the bar which my family and I chilled out at with a bottle of red wine for RM50.

But the highlight of the stay is the magnificent view of Mount Kinabalu at sunrise and sunset. And when you're not too tired and if the skies are clear, catch the starry lit skies.

I enjoy my stay here and would definitely like to stay here one day after hiking Mount Kinabalu. So I can look at the Mountain and say that I was up that beauty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philzpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    163
    79
    16
    14
See reviews for
116
97
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

booked via Internet and got a twin room, as most of the rooms are fully booked. Room were small, with a wall fan. Some rooms with LCD screen tv while ours was a 21" tv box- it is ok, as the mountain view is way better than the tv show. Bathroom with hot water shower is available. Strong wifi connection is available for free. Our stay was inclusive of dinner and breakfast- I actually chose this package- room with dinner and breakfast. Food was ok..can't expect too much as good food is really limited in Kundasang and most importantly the food is fresh and clean. Breakfast has very limited choice, scrambled egg, sausages, fried rice, bread, and chicken porridge. But this is good enough for the price we paid. Scenery was VERY great- perfect! I would love to come back again someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YhLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My family arrived four days ago and we were very satisfied with our stay there overall. They have the best view of kinabalu mountain. At 4.30 am I woke up and saw climbers from my room R1. Their flashlight and camera flashes can be seen along the climbing route. I was fortunate to experience this. The weather is good during my visit but the kinabalu view only available from 5.30 am till 9.30 am. After that the whole view will covered by fog. Its the view that make my stay there worth. Awesome view! I recommend this place to all including muslims since the provide halal food. Definitely will come again ! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaifudinBahrudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Kinabalu Pine Resorts has always been my choice of stay whenever I come to Kundasang (since the 1st time I stayed here about 4 years ago to Kundasang). The location is just nice and it looks very safe to me as they are not so much by those deep high mountain/hill side which is very dangerous when raining season.
During this trip, I can see that they have done a few refurbishment to the bathroom, 'antique bulky TV set' to flat screen TV, free wifi facility (which appears quite slow on the noon we reached, but got faster the next morning) and in-room telephone. Thumbs up to the management for making such improvements!!!
The gardeners should also be given a thumbs up for the plants all were nicely trim and the nice flowers.
We are a bit disappointed that the buffet breakfast still no improvement - very limited choice.... fried rice/noodle, scramble egg, not-so-yummy hotdog, porridge (like Teo-Chew style porridge - quite watery), bread with jam & butter.
They have an area where you can see the amazing & magnificient view of the Mount Kinabalu early in the morning.
During this trip, we got to know that they have steamboat cooking set for rent. So, if you have a big group of ppl, it is more economical to rent the steamboat set n buy fresh veges from the nearby market. The restaurant also has steamboat dinner set which costs about RM33 per pax.

Room Tip: It is recommended to choose rooms at the upper level Block G and it is very quite and can have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

If not, the you call room service to fix shower, etc. My room was fine, not super clean though, but the building complex and the outdoor arrangements and facilities and the views compensate for the little inconveniences.
Food is good, though make sure to settle the portion size of what you order.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

It has the breath taking Mt Kinabalu view from the resort's door step.
Room is spacious but the water heater in the bathroom is too slow to become hot.
The resort is comfortable but the big draw back is the breakfast & dinner serve is terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanskyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The place is magnifique. I loved the vista that was offered every morning as I woke up. I was told that the hotel is a 3+2 star hotel where three stars are awarded for the outside and 2 for the inside. I think that this hotel deserves a five star rating for its magnifique vista.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr1x1eNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
0.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
2.3 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 13 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#6 of 27 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#7 of 10 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Property: Kinabalu Pine Resort
Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 89308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing