We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hill side lodge-2 to 3 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Brunei Darussalam
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Decent Hill side lodge-2 to 3 star rating”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We are a couple with 3 teenage kids. After a hectic 4 days of sea and water activities at KK city we decided to go 'up the Hills' for a few days of relaxation. Mount Kinabalu is an hour and a half drive from the coastal city of KK (Kota Kinabalu). Its at a high altitude and the weather is cool and pleasant. The up hill drive is quite safe with fairly good roads.But there are only limited places to stay here. You should search for places to stay at KUNDASANG and RANAU - two small towns around mount Kinabalu.A large number of tourists comming here are adventure seekers planning a climb to mount Kinabalu
All the hotels here are in the 2 to 3 star range judging by the facilities provided. The tariffs can be quite stiff especially during holidays and peak seasons.Please do not expect anything beyond 3 star Amenities even in the best of places.
Pine Villa resort is made up of wooden "hillside Lodges" built along the slope of a hill with decent views of Mount Kinabalu. Quite spartan, but clean,quiet and peaceful.. There is a single restuarant which is small ,clean and serves decent food. Off peak seasons, meals are included in the room tariffs!!! Please confirm during booking.
For further info and hotel pictures , log on to www.kinabalupinesort.com

Room Tip: Ask for the villas in block N and bolck S - they have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    173
    83
    16
    14
See reviews for
124
104
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
selangor
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having paid about RM200, we got ourselves a one-room chalet with balcony. The room and attached bathroom was super clean and it was equipped with hairdryer, electrical kettle and television. The room was very well-maintained, the paint on the wall seemed very new and was not stained. We stayed in C2, facing Mount Kinabalu and the view is breath-taking.A few wooden chairs were placed at the balcony in front of our room. Very thoughtful as my family and I got to sit there and enjoy the fantastic view and even played some card games. The breakfast was average and adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osc_vitamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My friends and I drove up to Pine Resorts and were charmed by the cosy cabins, well equipped with hairdryer and electric kettle. As the resort does not have any supermarket nearby at night, an electric kettle is imperative for boiling water to cook cup noodles! We spent one night at this resort

We arrived there in the afternoon and had a convenient parking lot right in front of our doorstep (rented a small car). On a side note, please rent a car to get up there instead of taking a taxi as you would want to explore the area (Dairy farms, fruit markets, war memorials, strawberry farms) in the day. The resort also has a small rabbit enclosure for children to get close to the rabbits. Do ask the reception area for a map so that you can get around.

Woke up early next morning to catch the sunrise and it was really cold! Bring warm clothing. We managed to catch a glimpse of the hues only, as the clouds were blocking the sun. Nevertheless, that was beautiful enough and we had a great view of Mount Kinabalu's peak from our cabin's balcony. The view from the cabin is lovely, unblocked, and you suddenly feel like you are in some other winter country (See photos)!

One warning for people afraid of insects: the bathroom's panels are not airtight and insects and bugs do make their way into the bathroom at night. You could try to prevent this by spraying repellent around the window, or just turn the light off so that they will not be attracted to it.

There was also a cat which kept meowing right beside the bedside window, which kept us awake, but went off after a while.

Breakfast was buffet, nothing fancy but nothing to complain about either. Checkout was likewise a breeze, and on the whole it was a pleasant experience, especially for the very reasonable price!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sg_globetrotter89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL,M'sia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

For the price we paid, we didnt expect much but overall we're quite happy with the resort. The check in counter is really narrow n the procedure to check in is tedious n slow. We required to pay RM100 for key deposit which was refundable. Our chalet was in block C, didnt has the best view as its not situated on the hill top (eventho i'd requested for best view challet during my booking). The room was spacious and we love the balcony which was spacious too n we could sit there to enjoy the Mt Kinabalu view throughout the day (the mountain was covered with fog most of the time, we only get to see the mountain early in the morning 6-7am). The bed, bathroom n the hot shower were ok. The room rate included breakfast but we didnt really enjoy the breakfast. The Kundasang town is really nothing much, 2 rows of shops mostly mini sundry shops n a few local restaurants. The only restaurant we enjoyed was Restaurant Panataran, the one located opposite Kinabalu Park entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for the challet situated on higher ground eg block P n R (if i remembered correctly)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Room is clean! Furnishing very basic! We stayed in R2! Great view of mount kinabalu! Read review before we choose to stay there, so did not expect much for dinner n breakfast! Food served was adequate! Helpful staff at reception!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireneborneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I'll definately be here again........I'm sure that you wld feel the same. Go and experience yourself.......you'll never regret.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneKamaruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Pine Resort is in Kundasang which is a small village about 6 kilometres from the entrance to the National Park. The Hotel gives you fantastic views of the side of the mountain which cannot be seen from KK. The chalets are large and comfortable offering usual amenities and good parking if you have driven there yourself. The chalets are set on the hillside so some are higher up than others and requires a walk back to reception/restaurant. If you have walking problems you may want to take the location of the chalet into consideration when you book. The deluxe rooms offer dinner as well as breakfasts as part of their price. The food in the restaurant is fresh, variety of choices and good. A buffet choice for breakfast which is adequate. The staff are very nice. Nice alpine type hotel in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra blanket. Big temperature difference which made it rather chilly for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borneogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
0.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
2.3 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 11 in Kundasang
102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#4 of 12 in Kundasang
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#4 of 31 in Ranau
129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 11 in Kundasang
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#7 of 11 in Kundasang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Property: Kinabalu Pine Resort
Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 88990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing