We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View and Cosy Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My friends and I drove up to Pine Resorts and were charmed by the cosy cabins, well equipped with hairdryer and electric kettle. As the resort does not have any supermarket nearby at night, an electric kettle is imperative for boiling water to cook cup noodles! We spent one night at this resort

We arrived there in the afternoon and had a convenient parking lot right in front of our doorstep (rented a small car). On a side note, please rent a car to get up there instead of taking a taxi as you would want to explore the area (Dairy farms, fruit markets, war memorials, strawberry farms) in the day. The resort also has a small rabbit enclosure for children to get close to the rabbits. Do ask the reception area for a map so that you can get around.

Woke up early next morning to catch the sunrise and it was really cold! Bring warm clothing. We managed to catch a glimpse of the hues only, as the clouds were blocking the sun. Nevertheless, that was beautiful enough and we had a great view of Mount Kinabalu's peak from our cabin's balcony. The view from the cabin is lovely, unblocked, and you suddenly feel like you are in some other winter country (See photos)!

One warning for people afraid of insects: the bathroom's panels are not airtight and insects and bugs do make their way into the bathroom at night. You could try to prevent this by spraying repellent around the window, or just turn the light off so that they will not be attracted to it.

There was also a cat which kept meowing right beside the bedside window, which kept us awake, but went off after a while.

Breakfast was buffet, nothing fancy but nothing to complain about either. Checkout was likewise a breeze, and on the whole it was a pleasant experience, especially for the very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sg_globetrotter89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 370 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

For the price we paid, we didnt expect much but overall we're quite happy with the resort. The check in counter is really narrow n the procedure to check in is tedious n slow. We required to pay RM100 for key deposit which was refundable. Our chalet was in block C, didnt has the best view as its not situated on the hill top (eventho i'd requested for best view challet during my booking). The room was spacious and we love the balcony which was spacious too n we could sit there to enjoy the Mt Kinabalu view throughout the day (the mountain was covered with fog most of the time, we only get to see the mountain early in the morning 6-7am). The bed, bathroom n the hot shower were ok. The room rate included breakfast but we didnt really enjoy the breakfast. The Kundasang town is really nothing much, 2 rows of shops mostly mini sundry shops n a few local restaurants. The only restaurant we enjoyed was Restaurant Panataran, the one located opposite Kinabalu Park entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for the challet situated on higher ground eg block P n R (if i remembered correctly)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Room is clean! Furnishing very basic! We stayed in R2! Great view of mount kinabalu! Read review before we choose to stay there, so did not expect much for dinner n breakfast! Food served was adequate! Helpful staff at reception!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireneborneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I'll definately be here again........I'm sure that you wld feel the same. Go and experience yourself.......you'll never regret.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneKamaruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Pine Resort is in Kundasang which is a small village about 6 kilometres from the entrance to the National Park. The Hotel gives you fantastic views of the side of the mountain which cannot be seen from KK. The chalets are large and comfortable offering usual amenities and good parking if you have driven there yourself. The chalets are set on the hillside so some are higher up than others and requires a walk back to reception/restaurant. If you have walking problems you may want to take the location of the chalet into consideration when you book. The deluxe rooms offer dinner as well as breakfasts as part of their price. The food in the restaurant is fresh, variety of choices and good. A buffet choice for breakfast which is adequate. The staff are very nice. Nice alpine type hotel in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra blanket. Big temperature difference which made it rather chilly for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borneogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My family made this trip in December 2010 and I chose to stay in this hotel. I have never been to this part of Malaysia before nor had I been this hotel facilty. What attracted me to this hotel is that it's well described promotion and it's among the cheapest during that season. The best part is that I can choose which block I want to stay. So I chose the one facing the mountain view.

I have no regrets staying there. The room was clean and neat. It did not come with an air conditioning unit (why need one when the air is cool 24/7) and it was comfortable even during day time. Parking area is sufficient although you may need to drive up steep path to your parking bay. However, I have an issue with food. It's quite difficult to find shops offering food that I am familiar with. The hotel itself has a cafeteria but has limited choices. My advice to those planning to stay here: bring along some hot beverages sachets and make some simple sandwiches. Unfortunately, cooking is not allowed in the room.

What I liked best: LOCATION
What I liked the least: FOOD

That's all I have to say about Kinabalu Pine Resort. If you are coming for the view, this is the hotel I recommend for you! Have a nice vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very simple resort, with average accomodation. But you wouldn't be looking for anything else especially when your morning window view is the great mountain itself. The rooms are cosy though. The air is refreshing, and believe me....you will be truly refreshed by just being here for two days doing absolutely nothing but just sitting and admiring mother nature at its best.
Food at the only restaurant is pretty average, but we were only here for a night. We took a trip to the Poring Hot Spirings in the evening. Will probably return again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that have direct view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajBajwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
2.3 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 14 in Kundasang
115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Strawberry Garden Hotel  Kampung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#11 of 14 in Kundasang
9 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kundasang
108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dream World
Dream World
#16 of 34 in Ranau
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 88990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range: $52 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing