We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 12 Kundasang B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Breath-taking view and awesome feel of living on the mountain. Rooms were fairly clean, food at the resort restaurant is not spectacular but still tolerable. Be warned to keep your main door closed as the lights from your room will attract many bugs, this is a pity as the resort should've installed a mesh netting as what they have did at the back window, so that one could enjoy the mountain breeze when opening the main door without the bugs flying into your room(some bugs can be quite huge). Only takeaway from this resort is the view of Mount Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwinTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Breathtaking view from the resort. The food from the restaurant was satisfying with reasonable price. Great and helpful staffs. The photo of the room from website had a big difference with the actual room condition. the room was a bit dirty first we stepped in, with lizards excretion on the floor, the staff came immediately upon request to clean the floor. the toilet was clean. But overall it was quite cozy. However The room rate was too high for a very simple standard room. when we reached the resort, the lights at the reception and restaurant were off although the area was quite dark. Poor road condition. Difficult to find the way to the resort if you were driving by your own. quite far away from other attractions and the town. is better to rent a car with a driver. there were some activities provided by the resort but did not worth the time and price. A great and relaxing place for a short getaway and get rid of the chaos from the city.

Room Tip: better view of mount kinabalu from kinabalu wing! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xinrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The view at the resort was manificent! You could see Mount Kinabalu in front of you room at Kinabalu Wing.

Poor road condition
However, the road to the resort was gravel rocky road from main road, we could only drive at a very slow speed (10km/hr) and it took us about 10 minutes driving up to the resort each time! i think it was a waste of time as we would think twice before going out or coming back to the resort. Resort was too far from Kundasang town.

Dirty rooms
Rooms were basic but dirty. Floors were dusty and toilet tiles was black. Bedsheet and pillow were smelly as though it was not changed from previous occupants.

Noisy door sound due to strong winds at night. One could here the strong winds at night that resulted in the shaking sound of the glass door. Kind if scary if you are sleeping alone.

Food was edible at the resort cafe although the choices were good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminetck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

the view is amazing! great helpful staff, the restaurant is avarage. if you don't come with your own or rented car, it's hard to get there and for borneo also quite expensive. backpackers be aware transport from the resort to the "attractions" (national park, hot spings etc.) in the area is quite expensive!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlekess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This must be one of the most relaxing hotel for me. Its view is breathtaking and wonderful surrounding. The rooms were simple yet adequate for me. If you seat on your bed and pull the curtains back, you will get to see the magnificent TIP of Mount Kinabalu. You could also see Laban Rata (half way point) and a majestic view of the valley below. However, the road to this hotel is a gravel road, so don't accept to much. You need a confident driver to drive up the slopes and on the gravel road.

Room Tip: It would be good if you can store up some drinks and snacks, it gets cold and hungry will strike mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

At first, we expected a poorly managed hotel judging from the extremely poor road leading to the hotel. However, after almost ten minutes of agony driving up a hill through gravel road, we were met with one of the most breathtaking views we had ever seen. The air was extremely cool, and the scenery was extremely pleasant whether facing Mount Kinabalu or the opposite valley.
The room was quite clean and comfortable, although the main entrance into our room in the Valley Wing is in the form a sliding door. No a/c because it was already cold; we rarely switched on the ceiling fan provided in the room. The bedding was extremely comfortable for the cold atmosphere. The bathroom was also very nice, and the water heater in our room works just fine.
The staffs were also quite friendly and processsed our requests considerably fast (although it may be due to the off-peak season). On our first day of stay, there were not so many guests, so the complimentary breakfast provided was served ala carte with toast and jam. There were two choices, malaysian breakast (a choice of fried mee/bihun/kuey teow) and the western styler breakfast. On our second day, there were considerably larger number of guests so breakfast was served buffet style.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Celyn Resort Kinabalu. The main thing that in my humble opinion that makes my stay slightly unenjoyable was the gruesome ride up and down the road. However, for us the view of kinabalu in the morning from the hotel was simply worth it.

Room Tip: -Kinabalu wing have better view of Mount Kinabalu. -Ground floor rooms may have less privacy becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinaranmalam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Poor facilities. No proper maintenance. All gravel road to this resort. Not much entertainment. No water when my father took shower halfway!!!. If the hotel facilities are properly maintained and staff are trained well, this will be a good plave to unwind. The main attraction is the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennistsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
1.6 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 14 in Kundasang
115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Strawberry Garden Hotel  Kampung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kundasang
108 reviews
0 mi away
Skyville Zen Resort
Skyville Zen Resort
#7 of 14 in Kundasang
2 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dream World
Dream World
#16 of 34 in Ranau
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celyn Resort Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celyn Resort Kinabalu

Address: Kampung Samuruh | Jalan Samuruh Kinoundusan, Kundasang, Ranau 89309, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kundasang
Price Range: $39 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celyn Resort Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celyn Resort Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celyn Resort Kinabalu Hotel Ranau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing