We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laban Rata
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
30
54
49
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
54
49
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot showersummit climbprivate roombuffet dinnerbase camplong hikeplace to staytimpohon gatehot water is limitedmeals providedthin wallssutera sanctuary lodgescoffee and teabreathtaking viewscold weathernoodlesnational park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 158 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Laban Rata host the guest before the they were pushed the next morning to the top. A great pit stop. Take all the food & drinks untill 2.30am you'll wake up to start climbing up.
With just a head lamp all the climbers need to pursue the chill environment to the top.

The hotel was lovely & great surrounding view. Wish i had taken more pictures of the site.

Room Tip: Walk fast to booked your best room. 1st come 1st serve basis.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Laban Rata is at "base camp" before the final ascent of Mt Kinabalu, so although it is a basic trekking hostel, the fact that anything so developed exists at all in this location is remarkable. No frills, but no problems either. Food was decent. Rooms were comfortable if not luxurious. It is very expensive to stay there for the facilities, but there is no other choice and the sunrise at the summit was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

While there are plenty of negative reviews below I am not so sure what people are expecting considering the location of this property and the fact that the only way to transport anything (construction materials, food, equipment) up is by human labor! They have workers constantly walking up and down 12km total daily for supplies. So of course your beer or hot chocolate is priced above standard...!

We booked through a Malaysian travel agent and received quite low rates (although we are non-Malaysian) and even got upgraded to a VIP room with a heater and hot water. The property is basic but comfortable, with a big selection for the buffet. At first I couldn't comprehend spending that much for a 2D1N Hike I felt like my money was well spent in the end, when you experience everything that is included (2 hour transfer from town roundtrip, all meals, accommodation, guide, fees, insurance etc) and break it down it was very reasonable. Just make sure you bring enough warm clothes for the second part of the hike, however they are fully equipped with everything you may need to rent from head torches to extra layers. You won't get much sleep here as it is quite noisy and your sleep patterns are thrown off. Overall I don't think one should have high expectations for a hike stopover but it is quite comfortable and standard, as we had expected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandtangg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I had read a lot of horror stories about this place and expected the worst. We were plesantly surprised when we arrived. The restauarnt area was warm (it was very cold and wet outside) and the food was pretty good and filling. If you order anything outside of the buffe, t which is included in the price, it's fairly expensive. The dorm rooms were cold and dark but did warm up through the night so it was fine by the time we woke up (2am). Showers are cold at all times (contrary to the idea that hot showers are available if you are fast enough). Sleep quality was poor due in part to the altitude. Don't expect the marvelous views if the weather is bad. Overall, fine for what you need but pretty basic and obviously over-priced due to it's amazing location but all part of the Mt Kinabalu adventure! PS - Good Luck!!

Room Tip: book as early as possible (we booked 5 months in advance)
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed in late August/September 2010. Was pleasantly surprised to find such facilities in a national park, in fact a World Heritage national park given that such facilities are generally not available in Australian National Parks.

Pros
The location
The people
The good quality of the limited buffet meals
The range of services, provided you are prepared to pay, including a cold beer!

The cons
No hot water
Toilets bordering on unhygienic, but staff worked hard to clean
On the expensive side

All things considered, I felt lucky to have a safe, comfortable break to split the walk to the summit. The alternative would have been camping which would have been very uncomfortable, damaging to the environment and would have lost the opportunity to relax with the many international visitors and wonderful porters and guides.

You have to remember that you are up a mountain where everything has to be transported in by local porters, enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Get there first!
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews