We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what all Hotels should be like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Buxted Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Buxted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the check in to the check out i can't fault this hotel it's comes close to being my no1 and after 34 years of travling the lenght and breath of the U/K that saying something.
And the food was well present plenty of it worthy of a mitchlen star

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzby177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to stay here while visiting family recently as its close location to uckfield.

We were pleasantly greeted and shown to our room, which was a nice size and very presentable. Had everything you would expect from a hotel / b&b - tea coffee makings, hair dryer, safe etc. Bathroom was a good size and clean and the digital shower control was brilliant - just have to figure out what temperature you want your shower! Staff were very helpful and couldn't do more to help.

The only down side which isn't a major thing, but there didn't seem to be any way to control the heated towel rail in the bathroom so was constantly on which made the bathroom very warm!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back - and next time we will sample the menu - both breakfast and dinner!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunty24Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Room was excellent,stylish and well fitted. Restaurant food was well presented. Excellent choices for beakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Gary and Jason. They deserve every success which is the result of all their hard work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We needed a get away after a disasterous holiday so this was a last minute booking. The room is spacious with almost every mod con. Very impressed with the very high standard of finish and attention to detail. From the moment we checked in we were well looked after, in the restaurant, at the bar and reception. We are looking forward to the remaining 3 days of our trip and exploring the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilys_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at The Buxted Inn for two nights whilst attending a wedding in the area. When booking we expected an average bed and breakfast experience, however, we were delightfully surprised by what is a great modern establishment, which was definitely better than average.
The room was a decent size, with a massive bed. The bathroom was very clean. A review a little further down mentions that there weren't any shelves in the bathroom, this appears to have been rectified, although perhaps a further shelf wouldn't o amiss. We weren't intending to have breakfast at the hotel as we thought we could find somewhere for breakfast a bit cheaper; but decided to have it at the hotel on the morning and glad to say we didn't regret it at all. Food was well cooked, and they were happy to change a few items around without any issue. Service was attentive without being fussy. To be fair, when you take into account the quality and amount provided the price seems reasonable.

The owners appear to take great pride in providing a great friendly service. For example, some guests came back late at night after the wedding, and were being noisy (screaming); they politely asked them to keep it down, ensuring all their guests were looked after. But what was nice, the next morning, they were friendly enough about the incident, chatting with the 'screamer' at breakfast.

One minor point of feedback is that payment was taken at the start of the stay, which isn't the norm that I've experienced.

I didn't eat in the restaurant for evening meal, but the food looked very nice, and if breakfast is anything to go by, then I'm sure the food would be good.

Overall, this is a great little hotel. At first, I thought it was a bit on the expensive side, but seems about the going price in the area, so what what they provide i think it's well within reason. I would definitely recommend this place to others staying in the area.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Skeeterskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here recently overnight for a wedding nearby. Was very impressed with the decor and modern feel to this hotel, the control for shower and do not disturb sign were touch screen/digital. Bed was very comfy and large, bedding was lovely. Windows were nice and big which gives the room a spacious light feel. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Didn't experience evening meal but the food looked amazing. Breakfast was very nice and consisted of 2 courses that you select from a menu with tea, coffee and juices included. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Buxted Inn and were very impressed. Inside it is very stylish and comfortable. Gary, and all his staff were welcoming and couldn;t do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The restaurant was well patronised - lots of locals - and the food was good - the fillet steak excellent. Beer from the local brewery was well kept and wine on offer reasonably priced. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and excellent reading lights. Space age shower was very impressive!!

Room Tip: A room towards the back away from the mini roundabout might be preferable but the road didn;t appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BORING-OLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxted
1.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,471 reviews
3.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,233 reviews
3.6 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
552 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
412 reviews
12.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buxted Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buxted Inn Hotel

Address: High Street, Buxted, Uckfield TN22 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Buxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buxted
Price Range: $64 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Buxted Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing