We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Pub Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Buxted Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Buxted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Four of us ate at this hotel/pub last night and it was unbelievably good. We didn't book as we thought it wouldn't be busy on a Wednesday night and we were eating at 7pm - we managed to get the last available table! The whole meal was beautifully presented, cooked to perfection and sufficient to sustain us. Every course was excellent and couldn't be faulted - and the raspberry creme brulee with the Chef's secret ingredient was absolutely mouthwatering! The staff were attentive and on the ball and the menu choices were good. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Phone and book otherwise you may be disappointed. This is a hidden gem which the locals obviously k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Charison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We called in for a meal on Tuesday evening and were very pleasantly surprised. We were told that the place had been taken over a couple of years back and completely refurbished; they certainly had done an excellent job. Everything was neat and tidy and spotlessly clean. Very impressed with the loos. The menu was extensive and not too pricey; we both chose cheaper options but we could have gone for more expensive dishes without worrying overmuch about the cost. The food was top rate and my glass of Harveys was just right. Unfortunately the wife's Pinot Grigio was undrinkable and we had to send it back; the replacement was not much better – clearly a poor management choice but I'm sure the other wines are fine. A couple of nitpicky observations: the seats were a little hard and my bottom was quickly feeling the effects. Wouldn't enjoy sitting down to a full three courses! And if you go for fish & chips ask them to put it on a plate. They serve this dish on a rustic board; it looks nice but is totally impractical. The chips come in a little basket (like a miniature deep fat fryer) and the peas in a small separate dish. It's impossible to eat normally like this! However all is forgiven as the staff are so friendly and they made our visit most enjoyable; we will surely call in again if we are passing this way (though I may keep a cushion in the car to save my behind!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our experience of the Buxted Inn was fantastic, clean design, sharp finish, all modernised, stylish & sleek it comes with a personal feel as well. Jason & Gary and their team are relaxed very friendly, down to earth lovely people. A delightful breakfast and service awaited us in the morning to nurse our slightly hungover heads. Many Thanks for the chilled surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Good job The Hotel Inspector hasn't stayed here ..... would soon become bored with nothing to criticise ! Great attention to detail in all aspects : room design and quality of fixtures, menu offering and food presentation, and particularly attentive service. Thanks Gary and Jason .... keep it up.
John & Barbara B. (London)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had a very friendly welcome, and found this a comfortable and excellent place to stay when we went to a nearby wedding. The staff were helpful and rang around until they found us a taxi at short notice. The decor was extremely stylish without being garish and our room had a hi-tech shower room with lovely big towels. It was a very hot evening and we had the door to our balcony open, but would have liked some sort of security lock on it. Breakfast was lovely! A huge and unlimited choice; I suspect the restaurant would be excellent too, judging by the speed it was filling up as we were waiting for our taxi. I would thoroughly recommend the Buxted Inn.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Buxted Inn as we had a friend's wedding to attend nearby.

We would highly recommend this hotel - as well as the restaurant! The staff are extremely friendly and down to earth, we were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble.

The food in the restaurant is outstanding, absolutely delicious and all fresh, local produce. The burger and fish and chips were especially tasty!

The rooms are very modern with a comfortable bed and brilliant power shower, towels were replaced daily, and the bed was made up when we returned. The ONLY criticism that I do have was that the room was extremely hot, maybe some fans in the room would be helpful in the Summer months?

But apart from this, we had a lovely weekend away and would not hesitate to return.

Thanks for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Buxted Inn B, Owner at The Buxted Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. With reference to the bedrooms being warm we have updated our room information folder where guests can now request a bedroom fan at anytime during their stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back to The Buxted Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This unassuming, Hotel/restaurant & bar, is simply a breath of fresh air. Fresh delicious food served in a quaint friendly restaurant, with great atmosphere, by one of the best maitre d I have ever come across. Nothing was too much trouble. It is hard to find down to earth places, with great food without a silly price tag. Thanks goodness I have found one here. Well worth a visit. Booking advised as others have found it too, which means it can get busy.

Viv Barrow

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxted
0.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,490 reviews
3.6 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Smokehouse and Lodge
The Smokehouse and Lodge
#1 of 4 in Uckfield
13 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#1 of 1 in Maresfield
366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blackboys Inn
Blackboys Inn
#1 of 2 in Blackboys
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buxted Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buxted Inn Hotel

Address: High Street, Buxted, Uckfield TN22 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Buxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buxted
Price Range: $63 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Buxted Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing