We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, Very accomodating, very quiet”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Certificate of Excellence
Cherokee, Iowa
1 review
“Very clean, Very accomodating, very quiet”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed while in town for a family funeral. Entire staff was very accomodating and mindful of our situation and reason for staying. We were able to get adjoining rooms so our family was able to stay together. The breakfast the next morning was more than we expected. We highly recommend staying at this fine establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Kirk,

Thanks so much for the kind words. We're pleased to learn we served you and your family well during what must have been a tough time. We're sorry for your loss.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
15
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herdcyclone
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a work meeting here for 10 people and used the conference room. Super friendly staff, had the room set up as asked, had plenty of outlet strips for computers, and set us up with coffee. Nice price for the room too. Lots of restaurant choices for lunch too. (we went and gorged on the buffet at Pizza Ranch) If you need a conference room for the SC area, this is a great spot.

Didn't use the "sleeping rooms" so no comment there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herdcyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi there Herdcyclone,

Thanks so much for visiting us again! We really appreciate your business and are thrilled to have served you so well. We look forward to your next visit to Story City!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the best Comfort Inn we have ever stayed in. Very clean and the rooms are spacious. We had one of the rooms with a whirlpool tub which was a nice treat. The breakfast buffet was good and lots of it. The staff at this hotel really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet. Some of the rooms have whirlpool tubs which is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Joan,

Thanks so much for your kind words about our staff. I'll pass this on to them and tell them to keep up the good work!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

stayed here this past weekend while attending family weekend activities at Iowa State in Ames. Rooms were a little pricey for comfort inn - about 140.00 including taxes - had room with 2 queen bds and one with 1 king bed - arrived late about 11PM - desk clerk - thin it was susan - was very polite and efficient - check in took about 4 minutes - rooms were nice , and bath areas good - enjoyable trip - will stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Grover,

Thanks so much for leaving us this review. Many people read reviews on TripAdvisor, so seeing positive endorsements like this one is always appreciated!

We hope you *do* stay here again and that you had a safe trip home to Council Bluffs. Thanks again, Grover!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for Cyclone Family Weekend. Check in was quick and easy. There was a case that said free cookies by the check I but no cookies were left. :-( The rooms were clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. We put left over pizza in the fridge but did not realize it was not plugged in until the next morning. There was a microwave as well. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff was very friendly! Name brand items were offered. We were on the bottom floor near an alternate exit. My only complaint would be the noise. The door was very loud every time someone shut it. It sounded like it was slammed shut. We could also hear the tv from the adjoining room. Also we could hear the people above us. It sounded like someone was stomping around or running up and down the halls. It may have been so loud because the hotel was full.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MolineFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there MolineFamily95,

Thanks so much for visiting us and leaving this kind review; we really do appreciate it!

We're sorry for the noise, Cyclone Family Weekend tends to bring in a lot of excited fans and their families. We will work hard to make it quieter for everyone next time around -- please let us know if there are any individual things or people that need our attention.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

They offer a great place to stay at a reasonable rate. Their rooms offer adequate space and are clean. They offer excellent customer service and have a fair breakfast buffet. Their pool and hot tub area they is attractive and fun to use. They are located right off of I 35.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Reviewer567,

Thanks so much for leaving us this kind review! We're happy to hear you found our customer service and amenities to your liking.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that we'll soon see you again!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was late and time to stop for the night, Story city was coming up so, I decided to find a place to stay. I passed up a couple hotel/motels close to the exit and drove a few extra blocks finding this property. The desk clerk was very pleasant and accomodating. The room was a typical hotel room but very comfortable & clean. After a sound nights sleep, I enjoyed the large selection of breakfast items (hot or cold) included with the room. I'll stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi there L L,

Thanks so much for your business and review - we truly appreciate it. We're glad we able to provide a rest stop for you, and we hope we'll see you again on your way home. :)

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Story City
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#3 of 3 in Story City
11 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
12.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center
12.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
12.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 425 Timberland Dr, Story City, IA 50248-8773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Story City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Story City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing