We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Certificate of Excellence
Story City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very accommodating staff, friendly and professional . We have stayed in this hotel on three different occasions for an extended period. All three times in different rooms . Clean, spacious , quiet. Pet friendly.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi ldydriver,

Thanks so much for your repeated business! We're proud to have served you so well and hope to do so again in the future.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
15
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a good place to stay located right off of I 35. The service is excellent and the rooms are clean. As an added extras the pool and free breakfast are great. It isolated near gas stations and area restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi there Reviewer657,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review.

We like to think we have a perfect location: good service at a good location that's not too far from Ames and Des Moines.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that we'll see you again soon.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Comfort Inn isn't the Marriott, but it doesn't have to be. It needs to be clean, comfortable, and provide good service for passing through - and this Comfort Inn does just that. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was adequate, staff was friendly, the pool decently sized. WiFi worked well. Not a ritzy, elegant place, but just what we needed in the midst of a cross country trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Happyrocker,

Thanks for the kind words about our hotel and Comfort Inn. We're held to a high standard here, and I'm pleased to hear you believe we're holding up to it.

See you again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night, as a halfway point between the home I just sold in Minneapolis and the one I was moving to in Kansas City. The room was clean and well-maintained, the bed was comfortable and I didn't hear road noise from the interstate. I thought the room was a good value since it came with wireless internet, a refrigerator and breakfast. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast options - waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, doughnuts, pastries, eggs, and sausage. I was even able to fill up my water bottle with purified water in the exercise room. Totally satisfied since the base rate was just under one hundred dollars.

Room Tip: My room faced the "outlet mall" and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Angela,

Thanks for staying with us during your move. We're glad we were able to help ease you through what must have been a stressful time for you.

We hope you'll enjoy your new life in Kansas City and think of us the next time you're passing through!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Generally we did not have any complaints about the motel itself, the maid service, the breakfast or the room, but we did have some problems with the reservation and the billing.
#1. Someone entered our credit card number incorrectly and it was declined. This was not straightened out even after we called our credit card customer service until hours later. The clerk kept saying that the computer would not accept the corrected information. This is not an experience anyone ever wants to have.
#2. Someone in our party did not get a receipt because "the computer was down".
#3. A daily $1.50 charge for the safe was added to the bill even though we were not told about this and did not even use the safe. This was removed after we objected to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WantaTellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi WantaTellya,

We would like to offer our sincere apologies in regards to the billing difficulties that you experienced. Due to an unforeseeable computer glitch we had some difficulties updating our computer systems that evening. This is not typical of our system and, again, I apologize for the inconvenience that it created.

In regards to the safe fee this is an item that allows us to offer insurance on our guests valuables in each room provided they have a safe fee posted. If the safe is not used we gladly take that fee off in the morning. Again please accept my apologies our desire is to exceed our guest expectations each and every time and we failed to do this for you.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and make things up to you.

Best,
Roy Watson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairchild, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best rest I recall in a long time at a hotel. Loved the pillows! For being busy, the place was quiet. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Great staff, always helpfull. We also enjoyed the spa, very relaxing. We appreciated that we were close to the interstate to reach all the different places in the area we needed to go, yet no interstate noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Suzi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review. We like to think we provide the best of both worlds: interstate accessibility and small town hospitality. We're glad you agree!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay in Des Moines when in this area but tried Story City for a change. Very happy with the result! Hotel was great and downtown has some very nice parks to walk through in the evening to get some fresh air and exercise.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thanks for the review and kind words about our hotel and Story City. We hope you'll think of us again during your next visit to our area.

Best,
Sam on behalf of Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Story City
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#3 of 3 in Story City
11 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
12.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center
12.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
12.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 425 Timberland Dr, Story City, IA 50248-8773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Story City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Story City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing