We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs a good deal of updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Hotel

Viking Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Story City
mn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“needs a good deal of updating”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here once --the place is in dire need of updating. Rooms are large but appear to be vintage 1960's.

There are good places to eat nearby but that was a bout the only plus.

Would stay again only if nothing else was available

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
confused_tripper
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Rooms are cheap and basic but Mike the manager is eager to please. We had spent 9 hrs in the car and just wanted to crash. the rooms were decent and reasonably priced. Mike is a real character and loves cricket and Aussies and nothing was too much trouble. $49 bucks a night with a continental breakfast thrown in is pretty hard value to beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank confused_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We decided to try this Motel because it was $13 less than the national chain motel that we had stayed in previously. The only complaint that I have is that there was no top sheet. Instead there was just a comforter which got a little to warm. Other than that, the room was clean, the staff friendly and they had a better than average breakfast. We will likely stay here again. As a footnote I noticed that they allow pets and only charge $5. We did not tavel with a pet but have in the past and usually paid $10 - $15 for the pet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ML917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa,IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Not a good value.‎‎ I am not sure which motel the other reviewer was in but they were not in this one. Based on the apparently "padded" review I decided to skip the national chain motels in the area for this one. It was roughly $18 cheaper but not worth the savings.

The rooms are dated and the bed did not have a top sheet, or pillow cases; rather they had a fitted bottom sheet, a comforter and shams on the pillows. It made for an uncomfortable and sleepless night.

The room was fairly clean (i.e. No bed bugs); however the bathtub had hair in the drain from a previous guest and there are water issues with the shower. Half of my shower was in cold water and the water pressure is much to be desired. I did not see or stick around for the "continental breakfast". I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oskyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walut grove, az
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Excellent hotel in a little town. This area is mainly a gas stop and has a couple of expensive chain hotels at the exit. Viking Hotel is a gem. Clean non-smoking rooms, free DVD rentals for the night, free popcorn, friendly staff, pets allowed for $5, free continental breakfast, free highsped internet, free cable, and all for $55 per night.

Helpful?
5 Thank upfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Story City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Story City
108 reviews
12.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
72 reviews
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Story City
Super 8 Story City
#2 of 3 in Story City
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 1520 Broad St, Story City, IA 50248-1565
Location: United States > Iowa > Story City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Story City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing