We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place if it all worked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Good - The facility is fairly new and the rooms are clean - about what you'd expect from a lower-end chain (old TVs, not everything works, but taken care of). The indoor water park was extremely hot, but very fun for the kids and the lifeguards were alert and engaged. The food at the hotel restaurant is tasty and lots of great lake views. The location is convenient too - walking distance to a public beach and very cool playground.

The Bad - The biggest reason to come here in August is for the water park. However, the outdoor slides - the best and biggest part of the park - were closed and with no warning or apology. Really bad. Also, lots of broken things around the place - ice machine on our floor and water fountains at the park were broken. The digital lock on our door didn't work for a while either.

One last small thing. The front desk promoted this fun campfire/s'mores night. It was really just two small Walmart-type fire pits on the sidewalk. And you get one s'more per person. Not terrible, just not special.

All in all, definitely worth going if the water parks are working (they're very fun). But do your homework before you go and temper your expectations.

Room Tip: Lake side has great views and a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Manager at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Matt J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel; however, we are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you had with the waterpark. Unfortunately, we had some mechanical issues with our outdoor slides and lazy river come up unexpectedly and we had to shut down those areas for the safety of all of our guests. We attempted to relay this information to all of our guests as best as possible by posting it on Facebook, having a sign up at check-in and in the waterpark. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and your family and hope you were still able to enjoy the waterpark. We will also let our maintenance team know about the ice machine and drinking fountain not working right away.

Thank you for your feedback and concerns, we really appreciate them. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We hope that you will stay with us at King’s Pointe Resort in the near future so you can experience the best of King’s Pointe Resort.

In the meantime, feel free to ‘like’ us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Josh Walls
Director of Waterparks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 787 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am going to start with the bad and then share the good. After a three hour drive, we arrived at the published 4pm check in time to discover two teams of players amounting to 30 people standing in line to be checked in with only one person behind the desk. And then more people showed up behind us. For a resort, this is unreasonable and there should be extra staff to handle all of the anticipated customers.

Upon getting our room, we discovered that there was no soap, so I had to track down a maid to get some. Then we noticed that the handles to one of the dressers was missing. I reported it but no answers and no solutions. We later discovered that this is the only way for the sofa-bed to open. But it made it hard to open and access those drawers when the sofa bed was not opened up all the way. A simple rearrangement of the furniture would solve this problem. The two trash cans in the room are tiny and do not handle the volume of trash if you plan to eat in your room at all.

We then went to the water park and kept hearing complaints of cold water, but previous reviews stated that the water was very warm. We discovered it was very chilly on a nice warm day, so I asked around and learned from two staff members that the new heaters had leaks in them thus making the water very cold. This was definitely disappointing. The Slides portion of the park were actually closed for the better part of one of our days too while they made these repairs and refilled the water. Then the next day the lazy river was filled with some sort of flying insects - they had drowned and were floating everywhere. Surely someone could have scooped them out prior to the park opening that day.

Later back at the room, we went to use the microwave and it did not have the internal plate and spinning object so we called and those were replaced. The next day the hair dryer started smoking and burning - it was replaced. The TV's went out for the better part of a day for the whole resort and one of our TV's had a sound problem in that the sound would suddenly drop out then return. And while our room was cleaned regularly they were not vacuumed as the crumbs from our meals etc were still on the floor each day. I think for this many problems they should not have charged us the daily resort fee of $7.00.

By the way, in another review further down someone else complained about the resort fee, and the response was that it would appear in the website, but so far it is not there. Also, the pictures on the website are wrong for the queen family suite in that it shows the kitchen picture of the king family suite.

Now for the good. The staff was probably the friendliest I have seen in a very long time at any hotel or resort. Everywhere we went the staff was smiling and greeting people. The front desk was very friendly as were the water park staff. The food at the restaurant was delicious although one night they charged 50 cents for sweet potato fries and another night it was $1.50. This additional price does not appear on the menu either.

The view from our room over the lake was spectacular and our time at the water park was really great even though the water was still gradually warming up - and finally on our last day got to a reasonable temperature. And while there are signs posted about not running, this is not enforced and many children were running a lot. The lifeguards actually saved a child in the deep end of the pool while we were there and did an excellent job.

The beds in the room were very comfortable, and the bathroom well stocked with nice fluffy larger towels. The snack bar at the water park will bring your food to you when you order it so that is a plus and you can charge everything to your room. Parking is ample and well lit and there are plenty of spaces. The grounds are pretty with flowers and trees dotting the landscape and of course the lake views are to live for. There is a nice coffee place across the street from the resort and rental bikes are also available too.

There is a nice fireplace in the lobby and another one for outside dining at the restaurant. We had some trouble with the Wi-fi connection, but eventually it worked fine too. There is a small hot tub or spa in the middle of the indoor water park, but don't be fooled into thinking that the water is warm, as it really is very cool and uncomfortable to sit in because of the cold temps.

So while there were a number of issues that I listed above about the things that did not go well, I would still return and recommend this place to others an in fact, I already have recommended it to another set of friends. We hope to go back soon too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingREVMdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Manager at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear TravelingREVMdM

Thank you for your recent stay at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We want everyone to have a wonderful experience when they stay at our resort. King’s Pointe Resort offers breathtaking views of Storm Lake, ample parking for all of our guests, and other local accommodations located within walking distance from the resort; such as: a bike shop that has bike rentals available and a cozy coffee shop. We understand that there were a few things that did not meet your expectations, that we have shared with our department heads who have responded to your feedback.

In regards to your hotel experience, I would like to apologize for your wait at the time you arrived to check into your room, after your long drive all I would want also would be able to get into my room to relax and not wait in a line. When we have sport teams arrive we do pre check them in so we can hand them their keys so we do not affect our other guests checking into the resort. We also try to make sure we do have adequate staff on duty to handle such situations.

I am also very sorry that your room was not stocked with all the appropriate amenities it should have been upon your arrival. I have spoken with our housekeeping manager to make sure we are having all the appropriate supplies in every room. These are the little things that we take very serious as the little things make a big difference to our guests and our guests should not have to track down our housekeeping staff to have their rooms properly supplied. Again I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. Some of our suites do have limited space for the sofa sleepers to extend properly with the current entertainments center we have. We are in the process of updating all our guest rooms to eliminate the entertainment center and allow more room for the sofa sleeper.

When our housekeeping staff cleans the microwaves they take the glass plate to our kitchen to have them put through the dishwasher to clean, unfortunately on this occasion she must have forgotten to go back and replace it in the room after they were cleaned. As for your stay over service your room should have been vacuumed and cleaned properly every day.

I am very pleased that you found the staff friendly and pleasant to deal with during your visit. We take great pride in our staff and our guest rooms and I appreciate your feedback. I want to also assure you that I will take your feedback to all areas of your concerns and use them so we may continue to improve upon our resort.

We never like to hear when guests have a bad experience at the waterpark, we will make sure all of the issues you had with our waterpark are addressed in a timely manner. We do apologize that the water in our lazy river was cold and that the slides were closed due to mechanical issues we are having with our lazy river. Our maintenance team is addressing these issues as they are consistently trying to have everything up and running so our guests have the best experience. Unfortunately, closing the slides was what we had to do to insure all of our guests were safe while they were at the wateraprk. We also apologize for the bugs not being filtered out of the water; we will assure this happens on a daily basis. We do have lifeguard trainings on a regular basis and we do plan to touch on the behavior of unattended children in the park and how important it is to the safety of our other guests. Safety is our number one priority in the waterpark and we will make sure all rules are being followed. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and your family and do hope you give the waterpark another chance in the coming summers.

I am glad you enjoyed your meals at our Regatta Grille Restaurant. Thank you for bringing the price inconsistency to our attention, we will take a look at our menu and do some ongoing training so that the up charge is communicated and consistent from day to day.

We appreciate having you stay with us and will look forward to your future stays as well! In the meantime, 'like' us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter(@kings_pointe), or join our email list on our website to stay up to date on our latest specials and events!

Sincerely,

King’s Pointe Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrived 2 days before the reunion so the kids could use the waterpark and visit with family. The indoor park was a bit small, having gone to other indoor waterparks, but the kids were happy. All the family had dinner in the restaurant the first night. We had a standard queen room, which was large enough to add a cot, just not much walking room then. The bathroom was small and difficuolt to get into. Was pleased the room had a small refirigerator, but no microwave. Had breakfast the first morning in the dining room and there was not a childrens menu, so we had some waste of food. On the weekends there is a buffet and it is more reasonably priced. The second day all of the family came over to the park and after 3 on Friday the waterpark is half prices so family staying at other hotels were able to enjoy the waterpark. Only real issue I had, the internet never seemed to work in the room,, We had a very nice time and would return .

Room Tip: WE had a room facing the lake. with a balcony. Very nice to sit out there in early morning and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Saroca,

Thank you for choosing to stay at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort! We are happy to hear you had a nice time with us!

We are glad to hear your kids were happy with the waterparks. However, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the set up of your room. By adding a cot, the room does get a bit cramped and there is limited walking space, so we apologize for the difficulty in getting into the bathroom.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, but we are sorry you were disappointed that there is no children’s breakfast menu. We will let our food and beverages director know about this concern to possibly add one in the future.

We also want to apologize for the internet service, with a lot of guests accessing the wifi, it can be a bit slow but we will try to work with our internet provider to get this issue resolved.

Again, thank you for staying at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort during your family reunion! We look forward to your next stay with us!

In the meantime, feel free to ‘like’ us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a very clean hotel! We booked with hotels.com and didn't know that waterpark passes were not included with their price! Make sure you check to see if there is anything going on with the waterpark, so they don't close the pool! We were very upset that we paid to get in the waterpark and that there was no posting about the pool shutting down at 4:00pm for a swim meet on one of the hottest days of the year! We talked to a lot of other guest and they were very upset about this also!!! I don't think it's fair that you pay to get in a waterpark or pay higher hotel price for the waterpark and they shut down part of it. They did have the waterslide part open but, with a smaller child this does you no good!! I think they could have kept the small play section open of the pool because it was no where near the swim meet! Smaller kids were trying to play on the slide and kept getting kicked off! It's hard to keep a small child, at a waterpark to not play!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a patio, make sure you ask for one. Not all rooms have them. We were on 3rd floor and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylen610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear kylen610:

Thank you for choosing to stay at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort!

We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel; however, we are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you had with the waterpark passes and the waterpark closing early due to a swim meet. Our waterpark is a public pool and it is not only open to hotel guests, so home meets for our communities swim meet are held at the waterpark. We apologize that you staff did not inform you of the swim meet that day.

Thank you for your feedback and concerns, we really appreciate them. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We hope that you will stay with us at King’s Pointe Resort in the near future so you can experience the best of King’s Pointe Resort.

Sincerely,
Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at King's pointe for 4 nights in a double queen lake view room (#308). The room itself was large, clean, and the view was very nice, but the walls were thin. I could hear the kids in the next room playing clue at midnight. I literally heard the dice hit the board, that's how thin the walls are. Upon arrival we had coffee, but no cream/sugar/stir sticks. After the first night housekeeping didn't even replace the coffee I had used, but the second night we got coffee and cream/sugar, and toiltetries replenished. Coffee was available for free in the lobby. And there was a coffee shop across the street. The indoor and outdoor waterparks were both very nice, though a little crowded as you don't have to be a guest to use them. One of the days they closed down part of the outdoor waterpark for a swim meet, which was really annoying. On that day we waited over an hour for towels, that never came. I was told it would be 5-10 minutes, yeah right. The pizza at the snack shack was terrible, the worst I've ever had. The lines tended to be a little long at the snack bar too. It was nice to be able to leave my wallet/money in the room and charge food and beverage to the room, in the restaurant and at the waterpark. I found it a little confusing at first to find the entrance to the waterpark, as this wasn't explained to me upon check in. I was also not given the wireless password upon check in and had to call down and ask for it. The swim area of the lake is easily accessible and wasn't very crowded at all. It would have been nice to have been able to rent chairs/umbrellas out there. They did have canoes and waterbikes to rent. We wanted to rent a pontoon boat, but both of their boats were out of service. The restaurant on site wasn't that great. I found the menu to be limited, not even a kids menu for breakfast. Some of the items were pretty overpriced too. We ordered room service one night. I asked for ranch dressing with my cheese sticks, which I didn't get, and my husband ordered a hot fudge sundae that was a joke. It was a drizzle or hot fudge, maybe like a teaspoon total. It was the most pathetic sundae I've ever seen. After that experience we were afraid to order room service again. The gift shop was a little small and I didn't notice prices on anything. It would have been nice to have a snack bar type grab and go place in the lobby. Maybe with sandwhiches, ice cream, etc. The biggest thing that put me off about this place was when I discovered that I was charged a $7 per day resort fee. Now, I am no stranger to resort fees. I don't like them, but it is what it is. What I DO have a problem with is that I was NEVER informed of this fee. I checked my reservation confirmation email and it makes no mention of it. I was also not informed of it when checking in. It just left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Sales Coordinator at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear TLWTraveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort. We are glad you enjoyed the room you stayed in on your trip to the resort. However, we are sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay.

We are disappointed to hear that your coffee was not replenished in your room and for the long wait for your towels. We will take your concern to our housekeeping manager to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the waterparks; however, in regards to the swim meet, we do understand that it is an inconvenience to our guests when we close the lap line pool side of the waterpark for hometown swim meets, thankfully this doesn’t happen often, and we do apologize for this inconvenience.

In regards to the items you weren’t satisfied with in the waterpark snack shack and restaurant, we will bring them to the attention of our Waterpark Director and Food & Beverage Director so they can make changes accordingly. Some people love our pizza, and others do not.

Your suggestions about renting chairs and umbrellas is a great idea, and we will discuss this further as a part of our action plan in the future. Unfortunately, our pontoon boat is being repaired as it was broken from a previous user. It was a pretty bad mechanical glitch that occurred, so it took a little bit of extra time to get the issue fixed. We are sorry this put a glitch in your vacation though.

We also apologize that you were not aware of our $7 resort fee. We have had a resort fee on every waterpark room since we have opened. We appreciate your feedback and will look into adding this information in more locations on our website so all guests are fully aware of the fee.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback! We believe that hearing the feedback is the only way we know of your issues and it’s the only way we can take actions to improve. Should you need anything else, please feel free to contact us directly. I do believe you did not experience the best that we have to offer at King’s Pointe Resort, so we do hope you will give us a second chance and come to see us in the future. Again we are sorry for the inconveniences we have caused during your vacation.

Thank you,

Whitney Dickinson
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family decided get away from Omaha for a long weekend and chose King's Pointe. We LOVED it. The staff, from front desk to cleaning staff to waterpark staff, were very nice and friendly. The first aid station was well stocked and quick to help when my husband hurt himself.
The rooms were very comfy and clean...I slept well, which usually doesn't happen at a hotel!
We have 3 boys, ages 10, 7, and 4, and they all had a BLAST on both the indoor and outdoor water features, playing pretty much all day.
We will be going to King's Pointe again next summer for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Jessica R,

We are so glad to hear that you loved King's Pointe Waterpark Resort! Our staff strives for customer service so we are happy to hear that our front desk, cleaning, and waterpark staff met your expectations.

We are also happy to hear that the rooms were comfortable and clean for you to enjoy peaceful nights of sleep, especially during your family getaway.

King's Pointe Waterpark is a great place to spend the day out in the sun so we are glad your boys enjoyed the waterpark! We are looking forward to your next getaway at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort next summer!

We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing King's Pointe Waterpark Resort. Feel free to 'like' us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pleasant check-in staff, the room was very clean, tastefully decorated and we found the beds to be comfortable. We're sure the old box TV was there for nostalgia in a otherwise fully updated room. The kids enjoyed the water park and there were plenty of attentive guards on duty around the pools and slides. The buffet breakfast was good and fairly priced at about $9 for an adult. We were in town for a wedding but this resort would be a good weekend get-away too.

Room Tip: Lake side view in an additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Xtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear 7Xtraveller,

Thank you for staying at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort. We are glad you were pleased with the cleanliness and décor of the room. We're also glad you had a comfortable night of stay.

We're happy to hear your kids enjoyed the waterpark and they were kept safe by our wonderful staff! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the Regatta Grille as well.

We really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort! Feel free to 'like' us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storm Lake
21.1 mi away
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
21 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#2 of 3 in Cherokee
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Storm Lake
Super 8 Storm Lake
#2 of 4 in Storm Lake
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#2 of 2 in Storm Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Pointe Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Pointe Waterpark Resort

Address: 1520 E Lakeshore Dr, Storm Lake, IA 50588-2676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Storm Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Price Range: $106 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Pointe Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outdoor and indoor waterpark fun next to a 3200 acre lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your King's Pointe Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Pointe Waterpark Hotel Storm Lake
Kings Pointe Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Kings Pointe Waterpark
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort Storm Lake, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing