We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Nighter in Rural Iowa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One Nighter in Rural Iowa”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pleasant check-in staff, the room was very clean, tastefully decorated and we found the beds to be comfortable. We're sure the old box TV was there for nostalgia in a otherwise fully updated room. The kids enjoyed the water park and there were plenty of attentive guards on duty around the pools and slides. The buffet breakfast was good and fairly priced at about $9 for an adult. We were in town for a wedding but this resort would be a good weekend get-away too.

Room Tip: Lake side view in an additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Xtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 7Xtraveller,

Thank you for staying at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort. We are glad you were pleased with the cleanliness and décor of the room. We're also glad you had a comfortable night of stay.

We're happy to hear your kids enjoyed the waterpark and they were kept safe by our wonderful staff! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the Regatta Grille as well.

We really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort! Feel free to 'like' us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    233
    148
    89
    48
See reviews for
544
35
7
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here overnight to break up a drive to South Dakota. The rooms were nice(we had a family suite) with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. We took the pull out sofa, and the matresses were so thin, I could feel every coil and spring all night. It got to the point where I tried laying on the sofa cushions. The others who slept in the normal beds said they were quite comfy. I did mention to staff about the sleeper sofa and they said they were trying to get mattresses replaced. The waterpark (both indoor and outdoor) were quite fun, and the staff was very friendly. The hotel offered wonderful views of Storm Lake which sets right beside the hotel. It was nice that four waterpark passes were included in the price of the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a lakeside view, it may cost a bit more, but much better than overlooking the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleystarr2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Shelleystarr2753,

Thank you for choosing to stay at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort. We are glad you enjoyed the family suite. However, we are sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable night of sleep on the sleeper sofa. We will take your concern to our housekeeping staff to get the mattresses replaced.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the waterparks and are glad that our staff was friendly and accomodating. We hope to see you at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort again in the near future!

Thank you for providing us with your feedback! Feel free to 'like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinbeck
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent the week end at this resort in Storm Lake while attending a wedding. Because it was supposed to be a nice place we opted to stay there rather then a budget motel. The bed spread had disgusting stain on it and the floor by my bed had about three sticky spots. Every time I got out of bed I would step on them!! When i brought it to the receptionist attention she said "I'll write it down and let them know". That was it, When I pay extra $ to stay in a motel I expect something better then I'll let them know. i won't be going back there again.

Room Tip: Check your room before you commit to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear a l,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the condition of your room.

We apologize for the stain on the bed spread and the sticky spots on the floor. We will definitely pass this concern on to our housekeeping staff to get this problem resolved.

We hope that you will give us another chance at King's Pointe Resort to make your stay more enjoyable. Again, we apologize for your unpleasant stay.

Sincerely,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Storm Lake hotels

Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A couple of weeks ago we loaded up the van and drove 2.5 hours up to Storm Lake to enjoy our first vacation as a family of four at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort.

This was our second time staying at the resort and again it did not disappoint.

We pulled into Storm Lake around 11:00 am and quickly and easily checked into our room. We stayed in a double queen suite on the third floor. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the lake. It was truly beautiful! The queen suite was perfect for our family as we have a one-year-old who goes to sleep around 7:00 pm, so we could put him down in the bedroom and hang out on the balcony or watch tv in the living room without worrying about waking him up.

After we got settled in our room we headed down the Regatta Grill where we enjoyed a nice lunch overlooking the lake. After lunch it was time for the main event...swimming!!! Despite being a chilly day (I think the high was 60 degrees that day) we decided to brave the outdoor waterpark. To my surprise the water was super warm! It actually felt better in the water than out. We swam outside for about thirty minutes but soon the sky filled with clouds and our littlest swimmer started shivering so we decided to head inside to the indoor waterpark.

I can't say enough great things about the indoor waterpark! It has 3 big slides, a great area for little kids and it's very own lazy river. We had the best time!

We took a break in the middle of the afternoon to drive around Storm Lake and explore. We stopped at the bakery downtown and grabbed some afternoon snacks to fuel up for round 2 of swimming.

We spent the rest of the afternoon bouncing back and forth between the indoor and outdoor waterpark. After we had our fill of swimming we enjoyed a pizza picnic on the lawn of the resort overlooking the lake. We spent the rest of the evening exploring the resort and walking around the lake.

After a good nights sleep by all, we started our morning off with the breakfast buffet at the Regatta Grill. We thought we better squeeze in one last swim before we had to leave so after breakfast we headed down to the indoor waterpark (it was another cool and rainy day) where we had to literally drag our kids kicking and screaming when it was time to go home!

We had the best time at King's Pointe! They helped make our first vacation as a family of four a memorable success. We hope to make this trip an annual event and are already excited to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Director of Sales at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Katie C,

Thank you for choosing King's Pointe Waterpark Resort as your first family vacation of four! We are glad you were satisfied with your room and enjoyed your time at the waterpark.

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with King's Pointe Resort and that you had a great time on your family vacation. We look forward to your next vacation with us!

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. Feel free to 'like' us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for our latest specials and upcoming events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My only problem was that the sound travels quite a bit between rooms, the first night we heard footsteps from upstairs a lot and the second morning we were awoken by a crying baby. The resort was beautiful and was a great getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Sales & Events Coordinator at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Jimmy L,

Thank you for your recent stay at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort. We are glad you had a great getaway and you enjoyed our beautiful resort.

We are sorry that you had a problem with the sound traveling throughout the rooms. We strive to make sure our guest have a quiet and comfortable stay but unfortunately, some groups are louder than others.

We apologize again for the noise, but we are glad you still enjoyed your time and we hope to see you again in the future.

Feel free to ‘like’ us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@kings_pointe), or sign up for our newsletter on our website for the latest specials and upcoming events. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Thank you,
Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the waterpark hotel for a weekend wedding. We had a great time. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room were very nice, the only bad thing about the suites is that there are no doors on the rooms. The waterpark was fun and the hotel sits on a picturesque spot on the lake. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smntk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Sales & Events Coordinator at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear smntk3,

Thank you for your recent stay at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us. We are also glad you enjoyed the waterpark and the view of the lake.

We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the set up of the suite. However, our 2 bedroom suites do have doors separating the bedrooms from the living area when you decide to stay with us in the future.

We appreciate your business and feedback. We look forward to your future stays. Feel free to 'like' us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter (@Kings_Pointe), or join our email list on our website to stay up to date on our latest specials and events.

Thank you,

Samantha Kavan
Sales & Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were put in a room near the banquet hall with a loud reception. We couldn't sleep all night. I could hear everything the dj at the wedding reception said from inside my room. Terrible experience! They don't regulate how loud the music can be in the banquet hall so everyone suffers! I won't stay here again especially for the money we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAnative1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPointe, Sales Coordinator at King's Pointe Waterpark Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear IAnative1020,

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at King’s Pointe Waterpark Resort this last weekend. We did have a wedding reception at the resort the weekend you stayed. I apologize that you were unable to sleep due to the loud music coming from our ballroom.

We are a facility that accommodates all events in our ballroom and we do realize that occasionally the loud noise will effect a few of the guest rooms located above the ballroom which is why all events that are held in the ballroom have to end by 12:00am.

I do know there is an inconvenience with changing rooms, but our front desk staff is always accommodating when it comes to moving rooms due to loud music in the ballroom especially when there is availability to do so.

Thank you for your feedback as we will use your feedback to make improvements in our resort to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Thank you,

Whitney Dickinson
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storm Lake
21.2 mi away
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
21.1 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#1 of 3 in Cherokee
33 reviews
24.5 mi away
Super 8 Ida Grove
Super 8 Ida Grove
#1 of 2 in Ida Grove
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Storm Lake
Super 8 Storm Lake
#2 of 4 in Storm Lake
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
5 reviews
21.8 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Pointe Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Pointe Waterpark Resort

Property: King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
Address: 1520 E Lakeshore Dr, Storm Lake, IA 50588-2676
Location: United States > Iowa > Storm Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Storm Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Pointe Waterpark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outdoor and indoor waterpark fun next to a 3200 acre lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your King's Pointe Waterpark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Pointe Waterpark Hotel Storm Lake
Kings Pointe Waterpark Hotel
Hotel Kings Pointe Waterpark
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort Storm Lake, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing