We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spirit Lake
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at this motel for 3 nights. The breakfast is basic but adequate w/ waffles, cereal, toast, biscuits & gravy, yogurt etc. The room was clean and the staff friendly & helpful. I thought the weekend rates were somewhat high. The only real beef I have is that the walls and doors did not appear to have sound insulation. I could understand the conversation next door and certainly from the hallway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank hetmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you found our hotel fit your needs. We do try to offer a variety of different breakfast items for guest that do stay multiple nights. Our staff truly does try to treat every guest as we would treat our own family. I am sorry to hear that you didn't think we had enough sound insulation around the rooms. Just for peace of mind and out of respect for all our guest we try to keep the hallways as quite as possible. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to any readers of this post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Wes L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a nice Super 8--very clean, hot shower, and excellent price. My complaint was with the temperature. The air conditioner was set to 65 degrees in the room, and was doing its job, because it was freezing. I turned it up, biut it was still cold, so I ended up turning it off. The bed had a sheet, a very thin blanket, and another sheet, which wasn't enough. I really think they need some new (warmer) blankets.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that you found our hotel to be very clean, with hot water for your shower, and at a great price. On one had it is good to hear that during the hottest days of the year our air conditioners were able to keep up and keep you cool. On the other hand I am sorry to hear you did not like our linen. We have gone to what the industry calls "triple sheeting" which means a blanket sandwiched between a flat sheet and a top sheet. This ensures a clean bed each and every stay. I am sorry you were not able to get warmed back up, if that does happen again, we do have extra blankets available at the front desk. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to having you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spirit Lake
0.3 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 5 in Spirit Lake
231 reviews
5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
111 reviews
15.5 mi away
Estherville Hotel & Suites
Estherville Hotel & Suites
#1 of 3 in Estherville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Northland Inn Motel
Northland Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Spirit Lake
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 5 in Okoboji
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji

Address: 2203 Circle Dr W, Hwy 71 & 9, Spirit Lake, IA 51360-1065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Spirit Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spirit Lake
Price Range: $64 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 is part of the largest economical lodging chain in the United States. Each room is designed for comfort, including cable TV with HBO, hair dryers, ironing boards and irons in all rooms, complimentary coffee, free breakfast and free local phone calls. The Spirit Lake Super 8 completed renovations in 2016. The Super 8 is conveniently located to area attractions. Whirlpool Suite and King Executive rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing