We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodations in the competitive Okoboji area. Quiet...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spirit Lake
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good accommodations in the competitive Okoboji area. Quiet room & did not hear any hi way or street noise .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for you review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice, comfortable, enjoyable night with us. You are correct we are in a very competitive market and the way we win our guest over is with great customer service. It's our edge over our competition. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had other business in the area and decided to stay over one night. the whole reason we stayed at Super 8 was to make future plans on Internet and couldn't even do that even with front desks help twice. Went home next day very disappointed we could not accomplish our goals. Not sure if we will ever try Super 8 again. We expected to get what we paid for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear we could not meet your expectations. Could we not help you get on the internet, or were we booked the dates you were looking? We try very hard to ensure that our guest are well taken care of and your review really troubled me that we were not able to accommodate your request. Please accept my apology and I hope we can accommodate you in the future. Please give the Super 8 of Spirit Lake another shot, and please continue to stay with Super 8's worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Michael U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here in Spirit Lake for one night on May 26th 2013 prior to a visit to Arnolds Park.

Paid $72.27 incl tax via Hotelclub.com over the Memorial Day Weekend.

After a long drive up from Kansas City and through some torrential weather (chased by Tornados!) we arrived at this cracking little Super 8 in Spirit Lake.

When we got into reception we were greeted by a most charming lady called Renee - one of the nicest people I have ever met in the USA (and I have been travelling over there for 20 years now from thre UK).

Renee was totally fascinated by our accents and it was a joy to converse with her. During the stay she was very helpful with directions and gave advice as to what would happen if a Twister hit the area.

The room at the hotel was as per the hotel web sites pictures - extremely clean and looked after. The bathroom was also clean and the beds were super comfy.

Breakfast was a standard continental fare - but all that you want to start your day off.

The only little niggle with the stay was that there was no internet connection for all the time we were there. Renee tried to re-set the system but to no avail. She said it was the weather that was affecting the web coverage so that is understandable after all no one can help the weather.

The are plenty of restaurants in the vacinity to eat and Arnolds Park just up the road is 10 minutes away from the hotel.

Nice little stay - would stay again if passing through the area.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel away from the road side for a quieter nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with Ranee. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and breakfast. Last fall we installed a new breakfast program and it seems to be pleasing our guest. I am sorry we had internet connection problems when you were here, we recently upgraded to 50 mb worth of bandwidth for our guest to enjoy which means faster download speeds and upload speeds. We look forward to having you come back and staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well managed. Good service. Room was good. Good location for fishing Spirit Lake. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to see that we could meet all your expectations. We are very fortunate to be in the lakes area with great hunting and fishing available to all. We appreciate you noticing our customer service, and our quality rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We needed to be in Spirit Lake for a few days to meet family and didn't want to spend a lot since all we were doing at the motel was sleeping. One afternoon, my three year old grandson needed a nap so I took him to our hotel. It was quiet, clean and the beds were comfortable. Perfect place for a sleepy toddler who needed to have some down time.

Being a good nana, I made him use the bathroom before taking his nap, but he slept so hard for two hours that when he awoke, he, his clothing and the bedding were soaked. I immediately stripped the bed and called down to the desk. Keith Pringle was on duty and he came right down and fixed the mattress and remade the bed. But it was the words of comfort he gave a little boy who hadn't wet the bed for over six months that made the real difference. He made him feel like those things just happen and no need to worry. I was so thankful and so was my grandson. He then assured me it would be properly cleaned when our stay was over. I would choose that place over any other we have stayed in Spirit Lake.

Room Tip: all rooms away from ice machines are best in any hotel. During high season, hard to get rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonboundOmahaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your response. I am glad Keith was able to put you and your grandchild to ease. I am also glad you found our beds to be comfortable, they have all been replaced in the last 2 years. On a side note we were able to get the bed thoroughly cleaned, it did have a matrices protector on it which helped in the clean up. Thank you again your response, and we hope to see you and your family back at the Super 8 of Spirit Lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and it was great! There were biscuits and gravy every morning. The room was really clean and the hotel is conveniently located. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. There was also a microwave and refrigerator in the room was really handy for late night popcorn cravings! The air conditioning in the room was the best one we have ever had at any hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8matt, General Manager at Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was nice to hear that you appreciated all of our amenities. We are conveniently located in the middle of the Iowa Great Lakes. Our new Super Start Breakfast has really got us some really good reviews. Our staff has really tried to go the extra mile for each and every guest that comes through our door. We appreciate you staying with us, and look forward to having you come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spirit Lake
0.3 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 5 in Spirit Lake
227 reviews
5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
111 reviews
2.9 mi away
Northland Inn Motel
Northland Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Spirit Lake
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites near Okoboji Lake
2.7 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
118 reviews
2.4 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 6 in Okoboji
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji

Address: 2203 Circle Dr W, Hwy 71 & 9, Spirit Lake, IA 51360-1065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Spirit Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spirit Lake
Price Range: $78 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 is part of the largest economical lodging chain in the United States. Each room is designed for comfort, including cable TV with HBO, hair dryers, ironing boards and irons in all rooms, complimentary coffee, free breakfast and free local phone calls. The Spirit Lake Super 8 completed renovations in 2007. The Super 8 is conveniently located to area attractions. Whirlpool Suite and King Executive rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing