We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Bakery
Nearby Hotels
J.D.Young(Harleston)
$115
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
$104
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Hotel(Wymondham)
$106
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
132
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage greenb bnorfolk breakfastspent one nightattending a weddingnice pubhome from homehostsharvestcrown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 137 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Old Bakery is a spotless B&B run by Meryl & Steve both of whom are wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Mill room, spacious, clean and with a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable, linen was crisp and cosy, with pillows that aided a great nights sleep. Breakfast was great quality with a wonderful choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and cooked options. We stayed here to attend a family wedding and celebrate our wedding anniversary, our lovely hosts had an anniversary card in our room and some heart shaped chocolates on arrival.
What makes a great B&B? Comfortable, clean rooms, great breakfast, good hosts. The Old Bakery ticks every box and then some, Meryl and Steve were fantastic hosts and nothing was to much trouble, they even dropped us off at the wedding reception to save leaving our car there, breakfast was fantastic and locally sourced, room was stunning.
We stay in many hotels and B&B's and the Old Bakery is one of the best!! We will certainly return here whenever we are the area, or even when not, just because!!!!!

Thanks Meryl and Steve for making our weekend more special than anticipated.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your very generous comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Bakery and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Meryl & Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having arranged to go to a concert in the nearby village we were looking for a convenient local B&B and are so pleased that we chose The Old Bakery. Charming hosts, a superb Elizabethian property lovingly restored, a very large comfortable bed & bedroom and we can heartily recommend this hideaway - especially the smoked salmon and scambled eggs for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are very tall then request the Harvest Room to avoid bumping your head.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here the first week in September for a holiday and to visit friends and relatives.
What can one say about The Old Bakery apart from perfect.
Meryl & Steve are truly wonderful hosts, very friendly, easy to talk to and with a sense of humour.
The service they provide is second to none.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well presented.
We stayed in The Harvest Room which is extremely comfortable with all the ameneties one could wish for.
Fabulous breakfast every morning using high quality ingredients, especially the delicious eggs from Elaine's own chickens!
It is sure to be our 'Number 1' choice when visiting Norfolk again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plateel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a fantastic weekend at a friends sons wedding and this was made extra special by the warm welcome we received at The Old Bakery. The rooms were the best we have ever stayed in and our breakfast was very tasty and plenty of it.
Would definitely look to stay here again when we are in the area.
Have told friends and family about our find and hope that they will also look to stay there in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent and we would have been happy to stay in any one of them.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgersport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at The Old Bakery for 2 nights visiting family in the village - it was the perfect spot. The Granary room is spacious and comfortable and surpasses any 5 star hotel we have stayed in. We enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast which saw us past lunch time. The staff were very helpful and Molly the black lab is gorgeous and loves a tickle.

Room Tip: The Granary room is huge & light
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avia_in_Arabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews