We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They saved the best until last!”
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulham Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Four of us stayed at The Old Bakery for the last two nights of our walking holiday and what a delightful place it was. Meryl and Steve were so welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. The bedrooms were of a very high standard with lovely furniture and spotlessly clean. I particularly liked the two very comfortable chairs in the room, just what was needed after a hard days walking. The other plus point for me was the provision of fresh milk in a flask for tea or coffee, so much nicer than those little plastic milks you get in most B & B's.

The Guest Lounge was beautiful and we spent a very pleasant evening in there eating our own food and drinking wine in glasses provided by Meryl.

The breakfasts were excellent and Elaine who served us was a mine of information about the local area.

I think you might have guessed from this review that we really loved this place!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bakery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend away in Norfolk, where three of us had the pleasure of staying with Meryl and Steve. The accommodation is beautifully presented and comfortable with every convenience that you could require. The breakfast was superb and we could not have asked for more, or better attention from our hosts. Gratefully and fully recommended, and when we are next in Norfolk they will be our first choice for accommodation

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind review of your recent stay, it's always lovely to receive comments such of yours. It was a pleasure meeting you all and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Bakery again in the future. Regards, Meryl & Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a party of three family couples celebrating a birthday.
Lovely welcome, Meryl, Stephen & with Elaine's help have certainly thought about the comforts of their guests. The rooms were very clean, nicely furnished keeping a relaxing feel but offering everything you need.
Breakfasts, especially the bacon & mushrooms were so tasty. The strawberry jam & sauces are locally produced. We were lucky to have nice weather so it was possible to wander around the garden, a quiet little haven of interest.
Thank you all at The Old Bakery for making the weekend a one to remember.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're always pleased to hear from guests after their stay. It was lovely meeting you all and playing a small part in making your weekend memorable. All the best, Meryl and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a great location for us to visit family in Diss and to see Southwold, Aldeburgh and Snape Maltings. The room was very spacious and cleanliness was 100% with everything you need for a relaxing stay. This included fresh milk for the tea making area. The Norfolk breakfast was excellent, fresh produce well presented, try the local sauces.. yummy.

Meryl and Steve were super hosts and made us feel at home, we would recommend The Old Bakery and definitely the local marmalade and jams to complete a special stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyffox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments about your stay. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again. Regards, Meryl and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

From the time we arrived to when we left we enjoyed every minute. Meryl and Steve have somehow developed the prefect formula for hospitality. They are delighted to help you with information as to where and what you can do whilst you sit in the comfy lounge and enjoy a drink from their bar.

Breakfast is a superb experience and will keep most folk going for the day!

Room Tip: book early - they don't have many rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just come back from spending two nights at The Old Bakery, lovely and clean, breakfast superb and hosts extremely welcoming. The only downside is that the two public houses in the village are nothing special so you need to drive out in the evenings for a meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Old Bakery is a gorgeous B & B in an amazing, quiet and peaceful village with a green, a local pub serving quality home cooked food and a small village shop selling all the necessities. Excellent location, the rooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped and extremely spacious. Breakfast was fantastic and the majority was locally produced - even down to the jams and sauces! Meryl was more than happy to help with anything and made us feel at home and welcomed straight away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to everyone! Thank you Meryl.
Jodie & Chris.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulham Market
8.8 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
135 reviews
5.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
323 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
#1 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
357 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wortwell Hall Barn
Wortwell Hall Barn
#1 of 6 in Harleston
164 reviews
2.6 mi away
South Norfolk Guest House
South Norfolk Guest House
#1 of 1 in Great Moulton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Address: Old Bakery Church Walk, Pulham Market IP21 4SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Pulham Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pulham Market
Price Range: $60 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find The Old Bakery in Pulham Market, a small, quintessentially Norfolk village, with traditional Village Green, charming period cottages, thatched roofs, two village pubs and stunning scenery. The Old Bakery is a delightful listed building, with wattle and daub walls and a timber frame, exposed internal beams and bags of character. We have five spacious bedrooms (1 with ground floor access), a comfortable lounge, private parking for guests, and a beautiful garden complete with Garden Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing