We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Every Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulham Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a party of three family couples celebrating a birthday.
Lovely welcome, Meryl, Stephen & with Elaine's help have certainly thought about the comforts of their guests. The rooms were very clean, nicely furnished keeping a relaxing feel but offering everything you need.
Breakfasts, especially the bacon & mushrooms were so tasty. The strawberry jam & sauces are locally produced. We were lucky to have nice weather so it was possible to wander around the garden, a quiet little haven of interest.
Thank you all at The Old Bakery for making the weekend a one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're always pleased to hear from guests after their stay. It was lovely meeting you all and playing a small part in making your weekend memorable. All the best, Meryl and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
96
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a great location for us to visit family in Diss and to see Southwold, Aldeburgh and Snape Maltings. The room was very spacious and cleanliness was 100% with everything you need for a relaxing stay. This included fresh milk for the tea making area. The Norfolk breakfast was excellent, fresh produce well presented, try the local sauces.. yummy.

Meryl and Steve were super hosts and made us feel at home, we would recommend The Old Bakery and definitely the local marmalade and jams to complete a special stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyffox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments about your stay. It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again. Regards, Meryl and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

From the time we arrived to when we left we enjoyed every minute. Meryl and Steve have somehow developed the prefect formula for hospitality. They are delighted to help you with information as to where and what you can do whilst you sit in the comfy lounge and enjoy a drink from their bar.

Breakfast is a superb experience and will keep most folk going for the day!

Room Tip: book early - they don't have many rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just come back from spending two nights at The Old Bakery, lovely and clean, breakfast superb and hosts extremely welcoming. The only downside is that the two public houses in the village are nothing special so you need to drive out in the evenings for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Old Bakery is a gorgeous B & B in an amazing, quiet and peaceful village with a green, a local pub serving quality home cooked food and a small village shop selling all the necessities. Excellent location, the rooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped and extremely spacious. Breakfast was fantastic and the majority was locally produced - even down to the jams and sauces! Meryl was more than happy to help with anything and made us feel at home and welcomed straight away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to everyone! Thank you Meryl.
Jodie & Chris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is situated in a small peaceful village almost on the village green where there are two pubs.
The whole house is immaculately furnished, we received a lovely welcome from the owner and taken up a very small, windy staircase to our room which was stunning and furnished to the highest standards. My only wish was that there had been a bath to soothe my aching muscles after walking almost 10 miles, normally I wouldn't care about there being no bath because I haven't done a walking holiday before but the shower was very good and the lovely Pecksniff toiletries were a nice addition. Towels were good but only 1 bath and hand towel each for the 2 day stay.
In the morning the breakfast room was a delight to sit in, beautifully set table with immaculate tablecloth and everything set out very smartly.
The fruit salad was delicious and made with very fresh fruit including mango which I love.
Cooked breakfast was excellent but unfortunately didn't enjoy next days which was smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin. There was way too much egg and the muffins were dry and hard.
The owners are lovely people and we got on well with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you are visiting norfolk you must stay at this delightful 5 star b&b. we have just spent 3 nights and truly could have stayed longer and will definately be returning.It had been recommended to our friends who we met up with there.we stayed in the harvest room which had everything you could ask for.im sure if steve and meryl could arrange beautiful weather for you they would do that for you as nothing seems too much trouble for this couple.first class breakfasts to set you on your way for the day.they will even do you a packed lunch if required.a lovely lounge welcomes you home in the evenings where you can relax and have a nightcap.Also thanks to elaine who serves you with a lovely smile at breakfast.we felt so relaxed here and cant wait to sample the lovely garden room in warmer weather.there was nothing we could find fault with at the old bakery.top class.dont miss out.

Room Tip: if you are less able to climb stairs there is a lovely ground floor room which was highly praised by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay. It was lovely meeting you all and it's great to know you enjoyed your stay so much - and yes if we could do something about the weather for our guests we certainly would! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Steve, Meryl & Elaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulham Market
3.5 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
8.0 mi away
White House Bed & Breakfast
White House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Bressingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: Old Bakery Church Walk, Pulham Market IP21 4SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Pulham Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pulham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find The Old Bakery in Pulham Market, a small, quintessentially Norfolk village, with traditional Village Green, charming period cottages, thatched roofs, two village pubs and stunning scenery. The Old Bakery is a delightful listed building, with wattle and daub walls and a timber frame, exposed internal beams and bags of character. We have five spacious bedrooms (1 with ground floor access), a comfortable lounge, private parking for guests, and a beautiful garden complete with Garden Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing