We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulham Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We recently spent our second visit to The Old Bakery to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. As it was a special birthday when I asked him what he would wanted to do he immediately said he would like to go back to the Old Bakery for a couple of days. Our first visit was in September with our Australian visitors who travel the world extensively, they said it is the best place they have stayed in. Meryl & Steve are the perfect hosts and cannot do enough for their guests, they make you feel so welcome that when you leave you feel you are leaving old friends. The rooms are spotless, roomy, and very comfortable. We have recommended this establishment to many friends knowing they will not be disappointed. Thank you again Meryl & Steve we will see you next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Many thanks for submitting a review of your stay and for your very kind words. It was lovely meeting you both for a second time - we were really pleased that you decided to spend your 'special' birthday at The Old Bakery.
Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year, we look forward to seeing you again in 2012!
Regards Meryl & Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
96
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed for two nights in the Oak Room - excellent accommodation spotlessly clean and a very warm welcome.The breakfast was perfect and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.Much better than many a 4/5 star Hotel which we have experienced.Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The Oak room but no bath - other rooms I think have this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Many thanks for your very kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It was lovely meeting you both, we hope to see you again in the future.
Meryl & Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the Old Bakery for a few days in September and although the weather was cold and damp the welcome we had was definitely warm. Meryl and Steven could not have been more accomodating. The room was spotless and every detail had been thought of - from the fresh milk provided on the 'tea tray' to the selection of magazines which were the lastest issue.
The breakfast was excellent, we particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad!
We want to say a hugh thank you for making our stay so relaxing. Mike and Elen

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrenelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Mike & Elen
Thank you for your very generous review of your stay. It's always nice to know guests have enjoyed their stay enough to take the trouble to submit a review. It was lovely meeting you both and hopefully we'll see you again sometime in the future.
Meryl & Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudgwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Thank you so much to Meryl & Steven for a fabulous stay. We couldnt fault our stay at all. First class everything. Even the pouring rain sounded fantastic, along with everything else. We stayed in the Oak Room which was very well appointed with every detail thought of. We loved our stay and will definately be back.
Many thanks again
Cairine & Stewart - August 2011

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevef1968, Owner at The Old Bakery, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Cairine & Stewart,
Many thanks for the review of your stay with us, it's very much appreciated. It's always great to know that people have enjoyed their stay enough to take the trouble to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Steve & Meryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the Old Bakery room and it was a treat. The quality of the rooms was first class, with water, tea and biscuits in the room, thick towels, toilettries. The room also had a useful folder and leaflets giving advice on what to do and see in the region. The whole place was very spacious, with a nice little garden around the back. Merryl is a great host, providing ideas on what to see over our two-day stay and cooking up a great breakfast (with Norfolk preserves for the toast). As for the location, Pullham Market is a quaint village with lots of other quaint villages in the vicinity. Also, Norwich isn't very away and Southwold Pier a nice country drive of about 45 minutes. All in all a great little launch pad to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riz_Din
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have stayed in some average and awful b&bs in Norfolk and Suffolk and this time chose our accommodation through Tripadvisor. This is a wonderful b&b, with superb hosts. We didn't meet Steven (he was working during the day), but Meryl is a delight. She wants you to make her home your home, and puts herself out to make sure you enjoy yourself. The Granary Room is spacious and spotless. The tea tray was generous, even down to replacing the bottled water each morning. And the bathtowels were fit for a king - not the often-found handkerchief size.
Breakfast was excellent and served with a smile. Meryl is interested in her guests and takes time to get to know them.
We can't recommend this b&b highly enough, and won't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you find stairs difficult, don't stay on the top floor. Granary Room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Had a nice stay at the top of the house,breakfast delicious.
Downside,you can hear the road in the morning.

Room Tip: The room at the top has lovely views,downside shower not bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvantGuard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulham Market
5.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.5 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
The Old Ram Coaching Inn
#1 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
Red House Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Tivetshall St. Mary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: Old Bakery Church Walk, Pulham Market IP21 4SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Pulham Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pulham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find The Old Bakery in Pulham Market, a small, quintessentially Norfolk village, with traditional Village Green, charming period cottages, thatched roofs, two village pubs and stunning scenery. The Old Bakery is a delightful listed building, with wattle and daub walls and a timber frame, exposed internal beams and bags of character. We have five spacious bedrooms (1 with ground floor access), a comfortable lounge, private parking for guests, and a beautiful garden complete with Garden Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing