We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice.”
Review of AmericInn Spencer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Spencer
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spencer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for six nights this spring while taking care of family matters in Spencer. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were ok....cereal, waffles, a hot dish, toast, etc. The beds were fine. The room was clean and they did a good job of daily cleaning. The halls were sometimes noisy in early evening (before 10 pm) due to kids. The rooms not terribly sound proof. Top floor best. Indoor pool area looked inviting but weather was cold and rainy so I never used it. The lobby came in handy for visiting with family members and for eating carry-in dinners. For the price, I thought it was about as good as it gets in Spencer. Lots of traveling business people staying in hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor room reduces noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

do not stay here until they clean it up and air it out lkdjsf;lskdjflksdjfals;dkjfasdl;kfjsadl;fkjsdal;fksdajfl;ksdajfsdal;kfjsd;lkjfsdl;kjdsal;kfjal;kjdsfl;kdasjf;lsdakfjl;ksdjfl;skdfjl;sdkfjsld;kfjsd;lkfjsdal;kjfsadl;kfjsdl;kfjsadl;kfjsdlfkjsdfl;kjsdflkjsdflk;jdasflkjsdaflkjdsfjklsdafkjlsdf


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank mwalter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Check in was great, staff very kind. Reported in the morning that the air conditioner was broken, it had made loud noises all night finally completely quit at 2am, very hot and stuffy in the room, uncomfortable to sleep. Reported the problem and staff reported with an "okay"

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank wendelcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The staff was very friendly both at check-in and check-out. I was a little disappointed in the quality of the room. For the price, I expected a more updated room. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. TV was a little small for the size of the room. I was surprised at the variety of soda available. All three major distributors had machines in the hotel. Not a very common occurrence. Breakfast was typical hotel breakfast food. All in all, a nice hotel even if a little over priced for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent the night here for a soccer tournament and it was great. Very clean and the beds very comfortable. Apparently, a VIP was there the night we stayed and they called us to make sure our soccer team would be quiet as not to wake the VIP which I thought was rude. Otherwise really no problems at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was nor the first time I have stayed at the Americinn in Spencer, Iowa. I chose it because other members of my family were also staying there and we wanted to be close to visit each other. One thing I had forgotten was there were 2 stories and no elevator. Wouldn't you know that both my sister and I had rooms on the second floor and had difficulty carrying our suitcases up. The clerk took my sister's upstairs for her because she asked for assistance due to her back problems; she was the only person working when we checked in and said her back wasn't that great either but at least she was covered by Workman's Compensation. Although it was kind of her to carry her suitcase up for her, I did not feel comfortable to ask her to carry mine as well. The room was standard and the pillows were awesome. I slept very well. The free breakfast was ordinary, but the coffee was terrible. All in all, though it felt homey talking in the lobby with relatives, it was the last AmericInn experience for this traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room unless you like carrying your own suitcase up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have enjoyed all my stays at ameracinn before and found this hotel to be very nice. the rooms where clean and the beds were very.comfortable. we enjoy the the pool area as it is large and has games for the kids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spencer
0.8 mi away
South T Motel
South T Motel
#6 of 6 in Spencer
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Spencer
18 reviews
18.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Spencer
Super 8 Spencer
#4 of 6 in Spencer
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Spencer

Address: 1005 13th St SW, Spencer, IA 51301-5524
Location: United States > Iowa > Spencer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spencer
Price Range: $88 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Spencer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Spencer, Iowa the ideal location for a getaway to the Iowa Great Lakes area. We're perfect for business, leisure and family travelers in Spencer, the hub of Northwest Iowa. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. Our hotel also offers a multi-functional meeting/hospitality room that is great for business stays. The AmericInn Spencer hotel is conveniently located in Spencer, home to the World's Largest County Fair, The Clay County Fair, a nine day fair starting on the first Saturday after Labor Day in September. The AmericInn Spencer is near tennis courts, golf courses, Arts on Grand, Southpark 7 Theatre, over 200 retail stores, Riverview Waterpark, canoe access on the Little Sioux River and miles of bike and hike trails on the Spencer Recreational Trail System. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing