We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay on 9 April”
Review of AmericInn Spencer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Spencer
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spencer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This where I stay when I am in Spencer for work. I used to stay in the Super 8 and the other local motel. When I found out the AmericInn was available for the same business rate, it was a "no-brainer" to stay there.
I have always had good service and the room I request is always given. Wake-up calls are prompt and breakfast is also good. Check-out is seamless!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 96 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn during a road trip on our way back home from SD. It was a beautiful property, and the staff made us feel welcome the moment we stepped in the front door. The room was bright and spacious, and extremely clean. We were very impressed with the breakfast offerings and the price was very reasonable. Beds were very comfortable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean comfortable place.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are a bit quieter, but all rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A beautiful lobby with a fireplace, a super friendly staff, a very clean & well kept room, a good size indoor pool complete with hot tub (also very clean), and an excellent breakfast area with a wide variety of breakfast options, all at a reasonable rate. What more could anyone ask? I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I did not see an elevator, so if stairs are a problem, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCrosby60048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I haven't stayed much in Spencer, just 3 times, but this was the nicest place I stayed at. It was clean and new, breakfast was nice, staff was great. The room was a nice size, pool was nice, internet access was available. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This AmericInn is much less expensive than the AmericInn at Lake Okoboji (which isn't even on the lake) and just a 20 minute drive. The rooms are clean and spacious and there is excellent lighting (sometimes an issue in hotels). It only gets 3 stars because it is a budget chain and, as such, is average. My only complaint is that there is no elevator and I like to be on the second floor - if it is a cool evening, there is always a wonderful breeze for sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OkobojiChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel and I was very pleased. I was able to book a room for the same day I called, however, there were no government rate rooms left so I booked a standard king. When I checked in I was surprised to have been given an upgrade to a king jacuzzi room with no rate increase to compensate. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was to die for cozy! I had family in the same hotel and we all enjoyed the pool area. The variety of food available for breakfast is fantastic and there are goodies and coffee throughout the day. I had a better experience at this hotel than I did at a 4 star, $280/night standard room hotel. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJBPJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We knew the route we would like to take & found golf courses we would like to play. Played the Municipal Golf Course in Spencer, Ia and decided to get a room for the nite. The Americinn was 2 blocks from course. Room was excellent. Beds great. clean. Only downfall was no elevator. I forgot to ask for aarp discount, but rate was still resonable.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor room if you do not want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakestravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spencer
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Spencer
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
South T Motel
South T Motel
#6 of 6 in Spencer
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Spencer
Super 8 Spencer
#4 of 6 in Spencer
97 reviews
18.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Spencer

Address: 1005 13th St SW, Spencer, IA 51301-5524
Location: United States > Iowa > Spencer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spencer
Price Range: $88 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Spencer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Spencer, Iowa the ideal location for a getaway to the Iowa Great Lakes area. We're perfect for business, leisure and family travelers in Spencer, the hub of Northwest Iowa. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. Our hotel also offers a multi-functional meeting/hospitality room that is great for business stays. The AmericInn Spencer hotel is conveniently located in Spencer, home to the World's Largest County Fair, The Clay County Fair, a nine day fair starting on the first Saturday after Labor Day in September. The AmericInn Spencer is near tennis courts, golf courses, Arts on Grand, Southpark 7 Theatre, over 200 retail stores, Riverview Waterpark, canoe access on the Little Sioux River and miles of bike and hike trails on the Spencer Recreational Trail System. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your AmericInn Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing