We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathered for wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spencer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank KATIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 306 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank WMANDMARTHA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank KAREN J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were able to check in early, which was nice because we drove 3 hours to attend a wedding and I was hoping to get ready beforehand. The young lady at the front desk was helpful in making that happen. The unfortunate part of our stay was the next morning at breakfast, or lack there of. The staff neglected to keep anything in stock, and then blamed it on a "new person". They didn't even have coffee out. This typically isn't a big deal, but the with the 3 hours drive back home, I was hoping for at least a warm cup of coffee. Room was very clean and comfortable, it's too bad that this tiny flaw ruined the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank SARAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had called way in advance to book our room while we were in Spencer for the clay county fair. I had specially asked for a non smoking KING bed. I had a confirmation number and price of $89.99 plus taxes. When we arrived in Spencer that morning I called to let them know we were in town and would not be checking into our room until after 6pm. I confirmed my reservation, and was told they were holding my room and that it would be available for us whatever time we arrived. We arrived around 7:30 pm to a rude young man who said there was a problem with my reservation and that they have to give our room to someone who had booked a month ago and requested a king size bed. I stated that was exactly what I had done and that I had gone one step further and had called that very morning and confirmed also. He stated well they got here first and demanded our room and that they could put us in a different room with 2 queen beds. Which really wasn't a problem, it was just the idea that I had done all that I did and was told everything was fine and room would be waiting no matter what time we arrived. The rude kid behind the desk stated that he could me me a discount for changing rooms. I will admit that I was upset as it seemed to be first come first serve and that it didn't matter that we also had the reservation well in advance and confirmed that morning. I said we would take the room with the discount for them giving our room out to someone else. He then stated that price would be $82.99. A WHOLE $7.00 discount which then felt like a slap in the face. When I commented on that, he then seemed disgusted that I wasn't happy with the $7.00 off and said "Ok let me see what else I can do" he then ended up giving us $20.00 off the room which seemed to be a better offer for their apparent error in over booking. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds for a Days Inn. We have stayed in some pretty bad Days Inn's in the past and I was a little leary of staying in one again. But I called some people we knew up in that area and was told it was a nice clean motel. I will give it that. But when they make an error they have no reason to make you feel that you're the one in the wrong and have no reason to be upset over the mistake. Breakfast was nothing special.

Room Tip: I don't have a good tip as booking in advance and confirming that moring did nothing us for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Room clean,good water pressure,beds very comfortable and really excellant pillows and towels.Breakfast served at 5:00 everyday! Wireless slow. Pool murky and breakfast below average. Front desk was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Spencer
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Spencer
AmericInn Spencer
#3 of 6 in Spencer
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
South T Motel
South T Motel
#6 of 6 in Spencer
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spencer
18.0 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
118 reviews
22.6 mi away
Super 8 Emmetsburg
Super 8 Emmetsburg
#1 of 4 in Emmetsburg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA

Address: 10 11th St SE, Spencer, IA 51301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Spencer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spencer
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn, located in south Spencer, is within walking distance of several restaurants and located in the heart of the shopping district. Only minutes from the Lakes Region, the hotel features an indoor heated pool and hot tub, a refrigerator and microwave in each room, as well as a gazebo picnic area with grills. We have an extensive and generous continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi. Additionally, we have an entire PET FRIENDLY (East) building! For guests who enjoy hunting, we not only offer a central location to great areas, but a bird cleaning station as well. So whether you come to hunt or fish, vacation or work - Days Inn is well placed to where you need to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing