We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Lake Macbride State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Solon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been going there since I was young, we like to rent a boat and fish, or rent a paddle boat. We like to swim at the beach on the east side, we like to camp on the west side. We like to walk the trails and we like to fish there a lot. It's a fun afternoon with the kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmk304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ice Fishing Yeah baby!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

All year around I'm here. It is a little drive from Cedar Rapids but this lake has it all. Nice accoodations, great rangers, excellent cared for grounds. The lake is stocked and you always get fish. Canoeing is fun as well as camping. There will never be another McBride and we will be in the primitive side forever!! Thannks to everyone who makes this little piece of heaven possible!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
727 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“A great place to spend time sailing, kayaking, hiking, bicycling”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A quiet lake with a horsepower limit that keeps the big boats from swamping you or running into you. Birds, fish, swimming beach and more. You can't go wrong.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lake Macbride for a leisurely day”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to Lake MacBride for a day picnic along-with entire family consisting of three generations. While my husband and I loved the thick green forest and crystal blue lake, our children settled down with lighting the grill and preparing some delicious stuff, the grandchildren enjoyed running around the open spaces and going up and down the slide. Had a wonderful afternoon.
Because of small children with us, we did not go for boating which is one great option there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranjana1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lake Macbride Boat Rental”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We rented a pontoon for 4 hours... When we got there the list of 'what not to do' was pretty rudely read to us. No swimming of the boat was one of the big ones. All day we reined in 6 kids that wanted to swim. While on our return runt o return the boat, the kids hung their feet off the front and splashed themselves and thereby soaking the front deck. We were no sooner docked and the completely rude person running the shack yells at us that our kids were swimming against rules and she was charging us an extra $25 dollars to clean up the water. The high school guys working the dock spent approximately 4 minutes with the shop vac and it was done.

I don't mind paying a bit extra but the completely rude and unprofessional manner was inexcusable. The Lake is great and the beach is great. I would recommend against renting the pontoon. Can't swim off it and can't fish off it. And don't get this boat wet or they will charge you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
21 Thank LBinIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Macbride State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Macbride State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing