We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fleas and trains!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sioux City - Airport
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Sylacauga, Alabama
1 review
“Fleas and trains!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stopped here late one night on a drive from Alabama. We were exhausted and couldn't wait to get in our suite to relax. We walked in the room and it appeared clean, smelled nice, and seemed well kept. We were in for a very long uncomfortable night! We laid down to get some rest and at 11pm a train came through. It was SO loud I thought I could reach out of the window and touch it! Then it came through again at 1am!! If that wasn't bad enough I turned on the lamp to get something to drink and right there on the white sheets, in the bed with us are fleas!!! We asked for clean sheets because we were too exhausted to try to find another hotel and when we woke up the next morning there were fleas in the bath tub and in the bathroom floor. I couldn't wait to leave! This place is the prime example of (looks can be deceiving.)The rooms are $150 a night?! Really?! That's insane for a place like that!! If you can charge that much for your rooms then you should have enough money to hire an exterminator.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laceypm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    24
    6
    13
See reviews for
60
38
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

There were only smoking room left at reservation time, I was told they would o zone it and they did not, plus there were fleas in our room. They gave a 25per net discount, but even that was not given to me until I corrected this at the counter. The Internet was very poor. It was not functional at all.
Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristinainiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, SD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First a disclaimer. I am in the hospitality business. My wife and I have run our own hotel in another state for nearly 20 years.

The relatively high TA ratings for this property seem well deserved. The physical facilities are good and the room we had was clean and well maintained. There were no apparent housekeeping or maintenance issues that we saw anywhere on the property. The breakfast was very good for a motel in this price range. We usually skip motel breakfasts and head straight for a real restaurant, but we didn't feel like we needed to do that here. The only downside was that the clerk was unable a few basic questions about Sioux City. With the room at $109 plus tax for a single queen seemed a little pricey but not outrageous.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify a non-smoking room. Ours was a smoking room and it reeked. Our bad for not speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This AmericInn was alright but I wouldn't choose it for a special occasion. Everything seemed clean but when you open the door to the room the overpowering smell of Baby Powder Scented freshener killed you. Also, just advance warning, they allow smoking and both times when we were entering the hotel there were smokers we had to endure trying to get in and out. I am sorry but I don't think I should have to "walk the gauntlet of smoke" when I want to enter or leave a building. The Computer center wasn't much either as every site I tried to go to was blocked (Expedia, FaceBook, etc). People behind the desk were kind and courteous. Like I said, it was ok but for the money I wold have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In spite of having to use one of the (plentiful) wash cloths to clean something wet and sticky off of the desk when I arrived and in spite of the beer cap on the floor, I would not mind staying at the Americinn again. Except for the above, the room was clean and pleasant. I would have preferred a setting with restaurants within easy walking distance (next door or sharing a parking lot), but I did find a decent Mexican restaurant not very far away. I slept great and loved the breakfast -- good scrambled eggs, not those atrocious flat egg things some motels call eggs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms are clean, breakfast was good and staff was very friendly and helpful. They were out of non smoking rooms, that was the only downside but we made reservations at the last minute so not really their fault.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were 3 very weary travelers with a dog who had just come from a terrible experience at another hotel. This was the first place we saw and decided to check it out. Never heard of AmericInn before and were not sure what to expect, but we were desperate. They charged a reasonable rate, the room was super clean, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was great. Oh, and the room was huge with a fridge and microwave, good sized desk, and plenty of outlets to charge all our electronics. Bare in mind this is near an airport, but we will definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.1 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Sioux City South
Super 8 Sioux City South
#6 of 19 in Sioux City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sioux City - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sioux City - Airport

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sioux City - Airport
Address: 4230 S Lewis Blvd, Sioux City, IA 51106-5148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sioux City - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sioux City - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing