We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second Leg of Crosscountry Trip-Iowa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
delaware
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Second Leg of Crosscountry Trip-Iowa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Again, Priceline served me well in offering a good value. Quality Inn & Suites was clean, had free WIFI and was located right off the highway. The standard breakfast had some so-so powdered eggs that offered a little protein. They have a 24 hr. fitness room but the equipment is dated. The treadmill is really old and the free weights were strewn about. The elliptical machine was in good shape however.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahiadreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    16
    17
    13
See reviews for
24
17
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good room friendly front desk Good value Pool and spa area were clean Also good location for area attractions Guest laundry was a clean area Room was ready for early check in so we could get started with our sites to see The Sioux City Park and light show was a good experience The ladies in the gift shop were more than helpful and the restaurant prices were high for what you got but the food was good This is a great place to spend hours just looking around

Room Tip: Good rooms for all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Made my confirmed 9/21/12 reservation for here over a month before my arrival. I have a bad leg and cannot go up or down stairs and my reservation stated I must be on 1st floor or near elevator as do all of my "Choice Hotel" reservations. When I arrived at 8:00 PM they said all they had was on the 2nd floor and no elevator. Manager, Mike Desai said they had a group of senior citizens, with some being handicapped coming that will be taking all the 1st floor rooms. Well, I am a senior citizen and am handicapped but that made no difference to him. He said the best he could do was carry my luggage up the stairs. When I told him he would have to carry me, too, he didn't seem to care at all. His additude was the worst thing about this experience. I had to drive another 40 miles to get a room because everything was full in Sioux City. I may have to reconsider my loyalty to Choice Hotels".

Room Tip: Mike Desal is a terrible manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Found this hotel by accident since it was not listed in my Choice Directory. Tucked beside the Comfort Inn, I was told by clerk that it was formerly a Holiday Inn Express. If you are just looking for a good nights rest, this is the place. A small hotel, it has workout room but no pool. Very clean, comfortable, and inexpensive. Extremely helpful desk clerk who went out of her way to find me some tea bags after our late arrival. A very pleasant place to stay. Cozy lobby with filled book shelves and computer for guest use. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
231 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Trip Advisor says this was formerly a Southern Hills hotel but my GPS has it listed as a Holiday Inn. Whatever it was, it has only been a Quality Inn for about two months. It looks like they did a pretty good job of fixing it up during the transition. Near shopping and restaurants, but not near downtown Sioux City.

Pros: Very good Wi-Fi connection in my room. Nice room and furniture (except chair, see below) including fridge and microwave. Everything appears to be very clean and well-maintained except for some accumulated dirt on A/C vent and a missing light bulb. Also, the side entrance needs some attention. Nice breakfast including scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy.

Cons: Bathroom light and very loud fan on same switch, which was annoying. Desk chair stuck in low position; had to sit on a pillow. They switched my reservation for a ground floor room to an upper level (no elevator) supposedly so another customer could have a ground floor room. I checked in at 3:00 p.m. and there was only one other car in the parking lot, so it wasn’t because I checked in late. When I threatened to move to another hotel they somehow found me a room on the ground floor.

Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
412 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The property looks brand new. Our large room featured two comfortable queen size beds with a flat screen TV. It was clean although there was some trash in the upstairs hallway that should have been removed but was left out overnight. The hot breakfast was more than adequate. I cashed in choice reward points for a free stay but I could have gotten the room for under $60 with advanced purchase on choicehotels.com. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I booked this hotel online with Choice Hotels. I have had consistent good results with this method of booking rooms and this Quality Inn was not disappointing. Good value for the price. Friendly staff, clean quiet modern room and good hot breakfast (missing instant oatmeal packets, but you can't have everything). Supper across the street was Mongolian Grill which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingman_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
1.1 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sioux City
Comfort Inn Sioux City
#11 of 19 in Sioux City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Sioux City
Days Inn Sioux City
#10 of 19 in Sioux City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux City - Southern Hills
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 4230 S Lakeport St, Sioux City, IA 51106-4518 (Formerly Southern Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux City-Lakeport St. Hotel Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Sioux City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing