We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Worst Hotel Stay EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Sioux City
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Reviewed January 19, 2007

Wow, we were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel. Even though we got a great price through priceline it wasn't even worth that price.

We were greeted by a deskclerk who didn't look at us or smile. She definately did not take pride in her appearance, nor did her supervisors. Her shirt was wrinkled and untucked. If she wasn't behind the front counter I would not have known she worked there.

We had 2 adjoining rooms. One room had a broken lock on in so our toddlers kept opening the door and walking out into the hallway. We stayed on the 6th floor and the only floor that had a working ice machine was on the 11th floor. So staying with 5 children it was very inconvient to get ice.

I had a huge work deadline to meet so I called earlier in the week to make sure they had working Internet at the hotel. But when we arrived the Internet was not working. The night staff was very polite and reset the Internet several times trying to get it to work. But it did not happen.

In the morning I went to the front desk to ask if they could have someone come look at the Internet because It was very important that I be able to get some work done that evening.

The female clerk looked me start in the eyes and said "Do you think I control the Internet or something. I can't help it if it is not working." Then she went back to ignoring me on her telephone call to a friend.

I stood there waiting for her to decide to come back to our conversation. She rudely asked "What else do you want?" I kindly explained that it was important that I get on the Internet this evening and asked if she could call a supervisor.

The clerk told me to use the old computer in the corner. After explaining that I needed to use my laptop for my work and getting extremely frustrated with her inability to be polite. I finally got a gentleman who came out from the back room to help me a bid. But he admitted that the only way I was going to probably be able to get the wireless Internet to work was going to be to sit with my laptop in the lobby.

Well, let's see I guess I'll put my 5 children to bed on the floor of the lobby and sit and do my work!

The weekend continued to get worse and worse. The pool was freezing so no child or even Adult could possible swim in it. The hot tub was broken. There was no refrigerator in the room. And no breakfast bar in the morning.

Overall the Clarion was a huge disappointment. Both its quality of hotel room and its quality of employees.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leadwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Sioux City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 399 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2006

Just OK----I always expect top-notch accommodations from the Clarion chain. in Sioux City I was "greeted" by a frumpy desk clerk in a wrinkled, dis-colored Clarion shirt. She was quite busy answering the phone and flirting with the custodian. It took her several attempts to activate our key cards since she was so distracted. Our room was just fine except for the bathroom. Red mildew decorated the shower curtain, and only the shower worked. A bath was not an option.
We were rudely awakened the next a.m. by the housekeeping crew who was intent on cleaning our room...although we had not checked out! Funny, when we left at noon, there was trash all over the hallway. All over the hotel I saw water-damaged ceilings and rag-tag carpets.Upon check-out, I tried to report the mildew and house-keeping booboo. The clerk was somewhat interested in the mildew (no apology), but she could not understand the problem with housekeeping coming so early. I explained it to her several times, but she just offered a variety of limp excuses.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank texag77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

I was pleased with our stay to the Clarion Hotel in
downtown Sioux City. The two things that pleased my
wife and I the most were the great downtown location
connected to the skywalk system and the wonderful
pillowtop beds. Our room was clean and quite large
with a nice downtown view. This is an older hotel
so please take into account that not everything
looks new. The bathroom was somewhat small but very
nice with a beautiful new sink area and again clean.
The walls were okay but the wallpaper and walls
could be updated. Carpet wasn't bad and it was fairly
new and clean. The hotels shows signs of wear and
tear but I think they maintain it well. Just remember,
for the price your getting a good value and by no
means is it a 4 or 5 star hotel but it's a nice old
hotel that is well run and clean. Also, I'm not sure
if all the rooms have been updated so ask at check in
and make sure you get a room that has been updated
with new beds.

4  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sioux City
14
Reviewed June 28, 2005

There were few nice things about this hotel. The worse thing was the heating which is evidently being replaced as we speak throughout the whole hotel. I went here for my honeymoon, got a last minute reservation so i didnt expect to much. We ended up getting an $89 room. Everything in the room was old fashioned, no lights on ceiling or walls, all the lights were lamps, and none of them matched maybe 1 or 2 out of 7. We were placed on the 3rd floor with windows that can not be opened directly opposite of a parking ramp that was used all night so we had to keep blinds closed for privacy. There was a small bathtub with shower. The Water was incredibly hot which was a plus i guess. There was an old tv that was annoying to watch. It was supposed to be a suite but the bedroom and the living room were technically 1 room but the bed was in a little box off to the side and lacked for room. The vending machines were on the opposite side of a thin wall right next to our bed and sleep was impossible. All in all after asking for something nice i believe that the Plaza hotel ruined our honeymoon so now we are spending more money all over again to try having a better ecperience at a different hotel. Also the 1st floor is beautiful, but of course thats the only thing. Ask to see rooms before you stay here, because they are nothing like what you see when you walk into the hotel.
I also live in Sioux City, and am embarrased that we were provided with so little from a hotel with such a good reputation here. If you do stay here, get a room on a top floor facing the river. Also I know that the air conditioners are currently being replaced in all the rooms. A better located room with better temperature may make for a much better night than we experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
spencer, iowa
12
Reviewed April 20, 2005

I had read on another web site that this was not a good place to stay but I was pleasantly surprised when we got there. It is old but not run down. Everything was in working order and clean. We really liked how it was connected by skyways to a lot of places. The ballrooms they had were beautiful. Maybe someone had a bad experience but we really liked it.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
132 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Sioux City
Days Inn Sioux City
#9 of 19 in Sioux City
300 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Sioux City

Address: 707 Historic 4th Street, Sioux City, IA 51101 (Formerly The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Downtown Hotel located in the Historic 4th Street entertainment district. Close to Convention Center, Museum, Movies Theaters, over 14,000 meetings rooms for weddings, and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sioux City Hotel And Conference Center
The Sioux City Hotel Sioux City
Clarion Hotel Sioux City
Clarion Sioux City
Sioux City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing