We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Sioux City
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Reviewed April 22, 2008

The hotel is simple but comfortable. I stay at this hotel when I'm in town. The rooms have always been clean and I've found the hotel staff to be friendly. The restaurants up a couple of blocks have excellent food and there's a skyway that'll get you most of the way there in case of weather. The pool area is small but does the job if you just need to relax or hang out with the kids. I would recommend this hotel if you need an inexpensive place to stay. The only issue I have with this hotel is that you need to run the hot water for a minute or two before you get in the shower. Other than that, no problems...

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Togo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 411 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2007

The room was ok, but cleaning left much to be desired, e.g., top of splash guard around bathroom sink, not clean, also edges of carpets around the wall visible border of dust all around the room. No refrigerator or microwave in the room, Paint pealing off the back of the bathroom door. Room bascially need a wall to floor cleaning through out.

Free WiFi was good signal throughout, but no option to send anything to their printer, the desk clerk said did not know how and did not have password to get into the system either.

One free ealry model Gateway in the lobby was hooked up to a printer, but it took, 15 minutes to boot, no exageration here. They could get something better at a garage sale.

Pool and Spa were bit run down, bar and restuarant were closed most of time and had little or no business.

Hotel has potential to be 3 ro 4 star, with more attention to detail and maintenance.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scotty410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

This stay was terrible. Was in town to celebrate family birthday. Arrived into a dirty room. Bed sheets were filthy and the bathroom not cleaned. Also had the do not disturb sign on the door, but the maid banged on the door very loudly at 9:30 in the morning. Checkout wasn't until noon. This was very rude. Did not appreciate this hotel at all. The linens in the room on the bed were very dirty.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich23230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I just recently stayed at this Clarion Hotel on 4th Street in Sioux City. I figured it was the best in that particular area since it has been newly remodeled and the prices were a bit higher. Wrong! I stayed there Saturday night and I bet I got maybe 1-2 hours of sleep. The walls are so thin I could hear my neighbors...And it was not something I really wanted to hear..The walls are so thin I could hear the lady BREATHING heavily among other things. Then when I did finally get some sleep (at about 9-10:30 am) I could hear the maids coming down the hall discussing if the people on my floor had checked out or not and if they should go to a different floor or not. When I went to check out the lady at the front desk was very unfriendly and did not even ask me if I had enjoyed my stay and if everything was ok. Shocked, I just returned my room cards and left. I can't believe I spent $100.79 to stay one night in this hotel and not even get a good nights rest. Maybe next time in the remodeling process something can be done about the walls, I don't know. All I know was it was NOT worth the money when I could have stayed down the street for about $30 less.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InHotelHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

This hotel was a great bargain for a 2.5/3 star hotel. It was clean and comfortable. I have stayed in 4 star accomodations that were no better. Nothing overly fancy yet it had what we paid for. If you are looking for and paying for beautiful front desk help choose elsewhere. Otherwise, the price I paid at Priceline made this a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gerininamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

I'm a little astounded at reading some of the previous reviews of this hotel, because in twice yearly visits to Sioux City for years, this has been our favorite place to stay. The building is a tower - like 11-13 stories and beautifully located in downtown Sioux City. It was originally built as a Hilton, which means that the "bones" of the structure are good. Over the last several years when it was sold from the Hilton, it had a series of owners and names, and a lot of maintenance and updating was not done until the Clarion chain bought them a couple of years ago. They are continuing to update rooms, and do make sure that you ask for an updated room.

Part of why we really like this place is the location in downtown SiouxCcity. You get free parking in the connected city parking garage, it's connected to the skywalk, which means you can get around to a lot of downtown. There are some great eating places within walking distance or a few minute drive. Because of the tower nature of the hotel, you get a great view. Rooms are nice size, and the rooms that I've stayed in generally have one wall of glass, floor to ceiling to the outside, so it's quite light.

The Clarion has slowly and steadily continued to make progress in updating the hotel. Prior to change in ownership, the rooms were getting shabby, working ice makers were at a premium, and one of the first changes the Clarion did was install wireless internet. The only change the Clarion made that I was less than thrilled with was the color they painted the pool area.

Again, I'm surprised at some of the reviewers comments on hotel staff. We've just never had any problems with them. I generally travel with pets, and they have always been very accomodating, including the cleaning staff.

There is breakfast availability there, but, frankly, I'd recommend going elsewhere. The continental part is OK, but you pay extra for the hot items, and for the price, you would have a better choice at Perkin's, just down the street. There is a bar downstairs, so you can also get a drink if you wish.

It's a moderately priced hotel, in a great location, and we just find it our home away from home in Sioux City.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mikocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We arrived very late, after flight delays, but the check in was no problem. The room was quite large (but rather gloomy - even if daytime, there never seemed to be quite enough light), and the bed was very comfortable.

However, the opening hours for the breakfast room seemed rather limited and there was often no member of staff there. The first day we came back to the room, after a long day out, our room had not been cleaned - beds were unmade, towels not changed. We went to the front desk and were told "Well, they don't usually do that much." A night housekeeper came to our room, tidied up a bit, and gave us a couple of clean towels. She said that the other housekeeper had probably knocked on the door at 9am (when we were still asleep, after arriving very late) and not getting any answer had decided not to come back. We were surprised at only getting one chance at having our room cleaned - but this only happened on one day. I also got insect bites on my legs and feet while staying in this room. The location was convenient, and there were restaurants nearby for the days when we missed breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GBMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
133 reviews
4.4 mi away
Super 8 Sioux City South
Super 8 Sioux City South
#6 of 19 in Sioux City
286 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Sioux City

Address: 707 Historic 4th Street, Sioux City, IA 51101 (Formerly The Sioux City Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range: $76 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Downtown Hotel located in the Historic 4th Street entertainment district. Close to Convention Center, Museum, Movies Theaters, over 14,000 meetings rooms for weddings, and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sioux City Hotel And Conference Center
The Sioux City Hotel Sioux City
Clarion Hotel Sioux City
Clarion Sioux City
Sioux City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing