We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Hunan Palace

Hunan Palace
Ranked #135 of 212 Restaurants in Sioux City
Restaurant details
Humboldt, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great place for good Chinese food. We went late and there weren't many other people there but still received good service. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take-out, watch out!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to order some take-out on a Saturday night. I hadn't eaten Hunan Palace since the 1980's when it was located in the Mayfair Mall in Sioux City. The food looked and smelled like someone had literally fished it out of the garbage in put it in take-out containers. My husband and I didn't feel like driving all the way back across Morningside to complain about it, so we ended up eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Never again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NosherGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We overnighted in Sioux City and, never having been there before, decided to check Trip Adviser reviews. We opted to try the Hunan Palace as it had some good reviews and were so glad we did as the food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and helped us to choose just the right number of dishes for the two of us. The quality and quantity of food served was excellent and we left very satisfied. Whether you live in Sioux City or are just visiting, we cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. Two main dishes, rice and noodles was under $20.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
300 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dined here this week with a group of friends--we were able to sit in the back room & converse & enjoy our time together as well as the food! The food was Great! I always enjoy the food here, but don't often come here. We had very good service, even though the other room was very busy when we first got there. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great price!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The flavor of the string bean chicken was delicious, and the price could not be beaten. Included wonton soup, egg roll, tea, fried rice, all for about what you would spend at a fast food place. And it WAS fast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank IowaMusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Palace also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing