We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exhibition”

The Mid America Museum of Aviation & Transportation
Ranked #15 of 28 things to do in Sioux City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a step back into history and encounter unique artifacts and exhibits that help tell the exciting story of aviation and transportation in our lives. Explore a wide variety of displays and exhibits of full size aircraft and surface transportation from bicycles to vintage automobiles, a fire engine, and even a Boeing 727-200! The Mid America Museum of Aviation and Transportation preserves and celebrates the rich aviation and transportation history of the Sioux City area. Spend an hour…spend a whole day… the entire family will find something fascinating, entertaining, unique or educational at the Mid America Museum of Aviation and Transportation!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great exhibition”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Extremely interesting displays covering air and land with a special coverage of the United crash. Many of the displays brought back man memories of previous times. The quality of. Various cars was unbelievable especially the Cadillac limo and the ambulance . The Huey chopper brought back Vietnam memories to one of our party.
Overall great way to spend a few hours good value for money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiretraveller2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Can't believe 8 of these engines on one plane”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to believe that an airplane could be large enough that eight of these engines would fit on the wings.

Helpful?
Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relive Transportation History!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

When you walk in, the size of the building is astounding. There is both aviation and vehicle artifacts from all different decades and eras. It was a lot of fun learning about all the different exhibits, especially the Flight 232 video!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MC_jln_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid America Museum of Aviation and Transportation”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I found that the museum is amazing in nature. It gave off so much history and was a well deserved place to visit. Anyone young or elderly would have no problem visiting the building and seeing the attractions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Flight 232 seat makes you stop in your tracks.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The museum exhibits are well done, but when I came by the captains seat from the failed United Flight 232, it really made me stop in my tracks. I also appreciated the Vietnam era helicopter. So many nice collections here unique to the Midwest.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mid America Museum of Aviation & Transportation also viewed

 

Been to The Mid America Museum of Aviation & Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing