We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eagles galore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone State Park

Stone State Park
Ranked #10 of 28 things to do in Sioux City
Attraction details
BULLHEAD CITY
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Eagles galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nice winding roads and trails through out the park, being free helped out too, on the highest overlook turnout was beautiful views of South Dakota and the park, we counted at least 20 eagles and hawks soaring above on the thermals, which was a surprise since it was so cold and windy, but with the abundance of rabbits and squirrels we seen in the area might be why they were still here in the winter, a must stop if you are a hiker or bird watcher.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful park. Great place to spend the weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a great park with camping, hiking, and nice picnic areas. Only complaint is that it can get a little crowded at times during summer and at times can feel like you are right on top of other people. Its a great place to be so that is understandable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank builtevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
387 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

You can drive to some overlooks with fantastic views of the area. There are hiking trails scattered throughout the park, some easy enough for small children. The park itself is a mixture of woodland, prairie and lots of hills. There is camping available and several nice picnic areas for large or small groups. The nature center off Hiway 12 is worth stopping for too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jnobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to combine great hiking with sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great for a short visit of family camping, sightseeing, and hiking.

This is a beautiful, peaceful park that feels remoTe but is close to everything. We spent 3 nights in one of the two cabins they have. Ours was "pet friendly" and smelled like an animal had sprayed when we first arrived, but we were able to air it out sufficiently by the end of our first full day. The cabins themselves are very clean and well-constructed, one-room log style. Both have heat and AC. It was almost 100 degrees our first day and we were all very comfortable. Each cabin has a twin over full bunk and a separate full futon, a dorm fridge, table with seating for 4, and a small microwave. On the porch they have a bench and adirondack chair and a picnic table right outside. The fire pit is nicely constructed with an extra picnic table beside it. The toilets that are nearby needed attention. They're secluded and a little dark and creepy, and no one cleaned them while we were here, but the building was new and there were few of us around, so it wasn't terrible. We showered in the larger campground area, a short walk, and the facilities there were fine - clean and well-maintained. There were few campers, and we can't figure that out. The only reason we can come up with is that there's not a lake here, but don't let that deter you from a short visit. 3 nights and 2 days was the perfect amount of time for a stay.

We came in at around 10 PM, and as we drove up the first road, a mama raccoon and 3 babies greeted us. The babies were enamored with our headlights, and it was quite a sight to see the mother trying to herd her kits off the pavement. Over the next days we saw many deer families and heard numerous birds as we hiked the trails and enjoyed some blackberries, which were plentiful. The vegetation is lush, with a high canopy throughout the woods, and the fireflies were prolific.

The Dorothy Pecaut Nature Center had some fine, short hiking trails, where we found a corn snake, among other typical wildlife. Their new falcon exhibit included 2 wounded raptors that are being rehabilitated. The center offered several other exhibits that interested both of our boys, aged 10 and 15.

The park is located just minutes from Sioux City, which has several interesting attractions. We enjoyed the Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center, and we found the memorial park and sculpture commemorating the 1989 UA crash inspirational. The town had several nice walking areas, and the movies offered a great deal for matinee munchies ($1 each for a small popcorn and drink). We spent several hours at the YMCA pool, which was clean, had 2 water slides, and a nice grassy area to sit. A very nice place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Conni_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

for a picnic or a hike or bird watching. Great for the whole family. Hike to the top of some bluffs for a real nice view of the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MBKSoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone State Park also viewed

 

Been to Stone State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing