We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodeway Inn and Conference Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Reviewed February 11, 2012

1.First thing that is noticeable when pulling up to this particular hotel is that it is right next door to a company that sells gravestones.
2.This hotel is very old and is in desperate need of repairs.
3.When we were there, the hot tub was “out of order.”
4.The room smelled like old cigarette smoke (we booked a non-smoking room).
5.This is one of those hotels where people live for an extended period of time.
6.The breakfast was great with hash browns, sausage, eggs, etc.
7. This hotel is good for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWMN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

This Hotel was built 50 years ago as a Holiday Inn. Everything in the hotel looks tired, cracked, poorly fixed or not functioning. Here are some examples:
-Front desk people had no eye contact and would prefer that you just left them alone... Just get out of your seat just once to work with a customer... not happening.
-Room has cracks in the sink, tub and stool. Shower plumbing had chrome and Iron pipe fittings, showing it was cheaply repaired. If you need light for the bathroom there is only one switch, and it also turns on the outside vanity which has many very bright bulbs... not good if someone is sleeping, so you take a flashlight to the bathroom with you.
-Nice to have a hot breakfast, but its the same thing every day. Apples (try bananas or oranges once), scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, sausage and biscuits/gravy. Please rotate with pancakes and French toast. Also, beagles, juice, milk, coffee, and cereals. Good for a free breakfast.
-Indoor Pool was good but sauna looked scary and did not work. I got the feeling the big outdoor pool does not open.
-General cleaning was good but corners, and outside cleaning was poor.
-There are no support services anywhere near the hotel. If it didn't have a free breakfast you wouldn't want to stay here.
I wold stay here again; and if I were the manager, I would hire employees who were more committed to their jobs and readily available to help the guests... there won't be any of that here.

Room Tip: The hotel has 146 rooms, if walking is difficult be sure to ask for a room near the front desk. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I know that as soon as Tripadvisor reviewers see the three circle rating they'll think that I didn't like this place. That wouldn't be true. I liked this place and recommend it. But...you've got to understand that Rodeway is a budget motel. Don't expect more than the average for budget motels. That's not a negative comment. Just the honest truth. Yes, I got a decent nights sleep. Yes, I showered and got cleaned up just fine. Was it clean? Yes, it was. Just don't expect luxury rooms or showers or the perfect bed or spotless walls. The price is right. You're there to sleep, get cleaned up, and move on in the next day or two. (The place was filled up with bikers on their way to the Sturgis rally.) I will say this: The free breakfast buffett was terrific!!! Especially for a 'budget' motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldhickory5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A tad dated, Room was ok, No dining within walking distance, In all fairness half the town was under water at the time of the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stnmaddjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked this room on line at hw and when we found out were it was we said only one night . The place is old & needs a upgrade , our room was in the back building and maybe was one that had not been renovated dirty burn holed carpet,stained mattersses .We were told we could park at the back but my car was scared to sleep there,can't say alot about security as the big rock jammed in the outside door never moved when we were there . Spend a little extra and don't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

We have electronic locks on all exterior doors on guest rooms side of the building. The doors only open with the guest room key. We have some contruction crews staying at the hotel that prop the door open with a rocks to bring in or take out their belongs and don't always remove the rock. Our staff always removes them when they see it. Our own maintenance staff goes around the entire building at the end of their shift to make sure all doors are secure and locked. Guest security is a top priority at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We got this hotel room because of the distance it stated it was online to the events center...it was not close, it was not easy to get too, and I would NEVER walk that route after a concert late at night. We checked in and our first question was regarding the shuttle that was advertised online to and from the events center. We were told there was no driver for the night, because he was going to the same concert was we were...we were VERY frustrated. Then we asked when the restaurant opened, and she stated the restaurant is no longer open, but there is a bar you can go too, it was supposed to be open at 5, but i'm not sure if they are here yet to open it. So far the location was further than stated online, no shuttle, no restaurant...what's next. We pulled around to our side of the building to get to our room and the windows were broken out of the security doors....doesn't leave a real great impression. All in all, the rooms weren't bad...clean bedding and it had a refridgerator and microwave which weren't expecting. If I were you, I'd spend the extra to stay right next to the Convention Center.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDTravelerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paaru, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

The safety glass was in door C and it was ordered the very day it broke, but it takes a week to get here. We apologize for the confusion in the restaurant and the shuttle service. The restaurant has not been open for Lunch and Dinner for over a year. We use that area to serve hot breakfast that is cooked fresh daily. The shuttle service is only available on the weekends. We changed those two items on the brand website which distributes the changes to all of the other websites. Some sites might not have picked up the changes so we apologize for that. Our staff will go thru the various websites and make sure the information is accurately reflected. Thanks for the compliments on our room cleanliness. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a very old motel that has been refurbished. Our room was very clean and comfortable. My husband is very sensitive to overnight noises and he said it was quiet. The lobby smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and that is where the "business center" (a couple slow computers) is. There was a hot breakfast, the heavy kind with eggs, potatoes, sausage, biscuits and gravy, etc. but not much for someone who might be more diet conscious. We did not use or even see the pool. All in all I think for the price, we got what we wanted. We didn't plan to spend much time in the room and were looking for economy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTraveler512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sioux City
Comfort Inn Sioux City
#12 of 19 in Sioux City
102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Super 8 Sioux City South
Super 8 Sioux City South
#6 of 19 in Sioux City
295 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
5.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux City - Southern Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1401 Zenith Dr, Sioux City, IA 51103-5204 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn(R) & Conference Center is conveniently located within 2 miles from the Tyson Events Center/Gateway Arena, Downtown Historic 4th St, Hard Rock Casino, Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center, Riverfront, & National Historic Trails. Minutes from shopping & dining. Enjoy a FREE HOT BREAKFAST BUFFET. Indoor Pool, Hot Tub & Sauna. Outdoor Courtyard & Sundeck. Be sure to visit Gavin's Place Lounge, on property, with nightly drink specials, pool tables, darts, pizza & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sioux City
Sioux City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing