We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lengua in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Juanita

La Juanita
Ranked #2 of 209 Restaurants in Sioux City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Lengua in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Juanita's lengua tacos are the most tender delicious meal I've ever eaten. They shred it by hand, that's why its so tender. Most restaurants cube it or dice it ... BIG DIFFERENCE.

The lady or man behind the counter always has a big smile and is very friendly.

The restaurant is very clean and well kept.

My daughters enjoy their fish tacos, their chicken burritos, their rice.

When I get together with my daughters and talk about where we should eat lunch, they say let's go to Waa Waa's. They know Juanita's is is my favorite choice.

Thanks Juanitas for continuing to improve and to invest in your restaurant to make it nice for your customers !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiouxCityChefsSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

More of a quick service place, Lawa's as locals call it, is a great place to stop for tacos. Don't be intimidated by the menu as everyone is helpful and will get you pointed in the right direction. Just tell them what you want and off they go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We were passing through Sioux City and decided we wanted some 'real' not fast food Mexican for lunch. Based on Trip Advisor reviews we chose La Juanita and we weren't disappointed! Just to be clear it's not fancy and you do have to order @ the counter but the service is fast, friendly and you get huge portions for a very reasonable price! What I liked is that the kitchen/prep area is out in the open right behind the counter so you see how clean and orderly it is. We were there at 3 p.m. and there was a steady steam of customers (many Mexicans which is a good sign to me!) If you're looking for fancy sit-down service then don't come here but if you want authentic Mexican it's a must visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelChickSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We chose LaJuanita's based on reviews. Upon arriving there we were disappointed to find that it was "order from the counter" service. We had hoped for a nice "sit down dinner". It was noisy and very crowded and busy. Lots of traffic which we considered to be a good sign. It was hard to order as the menu is difficult to understand what you are getting. Pricing was reasonable enough. Meals are served in baskets or not so attractive dinner plates. We were not impressed with the food. We are not fans of authentic mexican and prefer ground beef over shredded.. But what we ordered was pretty good-just not what we had hoped for. Not a bad meal-but not a great one either.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great authentic mexican food in the midwest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Since we live in Sioux City, this is our go to restaurant. When our children visit from out of town, they always request La Jua's. A burrito is a meal for less than $4. Don't forget the free pickled carrots. Their shrimp cocktail is to die for. They have counter service with booths, but we usually do takeout. You will not be disappointed here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Juanita also viewed

 

Been to La Juanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing