We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views”

Sergeant Floyd Monument
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Sioux City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good views”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Five minutes will complete your view. There is not much to this site, except great views of the entire city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank eagleroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    71
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Creek, MN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than it sounds..”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My first and only visit was too much of a quick visit. Definitely enjoyed the history which was more than I expected. Hope to return and take in more.

Helpful?
Thank macraw4d13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view of the valley”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A must stop if you are on the Lewis and Clark trail and want to see a great view of the river valley from a high vantage point. The Army Corp of Engineers have dredged this part of the Missouri River for barge traffic, so, it is not in 1803 condition.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaybird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute on the river”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ship on the river,fun 4 the land locked,maybe a first time on a big ship 4 ur kids, but we're from Fl. so kinda lame .

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyCampers000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“History I didn't know”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited this monument on a cloudy and cool November day but, as others have noted, had a fantastic view of Eastern Nebraska. There were several informative plaques (that could use some restoration) describing Sergeant Floyd and the Lewis and Clark expedition. It is amazing to look at the powerful Missouri River from here and think about Lewis and Clark going upstream, without a motor. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sergeant Floyd Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sergeant Floyd Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing