We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Gem in Sioux City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Rare Gem in Sioux City”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I lived in SC IA for 10 years, so after coming "home" after a few years, it was nice to find a place as well appointed and friendly as the Stoney Creek Inn. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, with a mountain / log cabin type decor. The one drawback? The red and black plaid pattern in the bathroom is obnoxious; you'll find yourself singing Monty Python's "I'm a Lumberjack" song every time you go in.

Warning to parents: When you come into the room you'll find a stuffed animal waiting on the bed. (Ours was a fox; our daughter's room had a bear.) It has a $19.99 sticker price on it, so if you don't want your kids to bug you for a souvenir, you may want to hide it before the kids can see it.

The hotel is located directly in downtown SC, right behind the Tyson Events Center, making it convenient for those attending events. The drawback is that the noise seeps in through the room. There was a carnival in the Tyson lot, and we heard the noise until well after midnight.

The continental breakfast wasn't much to write home about, but it was free, so it worked.

The swimming pool is half indoor/half outside, and not heated very well (if at all). There were plenty of pool towels available.

Overall, the Stoney Creek Inn was a nice place, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cidbliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    109
    17
    9
    9
See reviews for
166
107
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

-Housekeeping put dirty towels from bathroom floor BACK ON THE RACK in the bathroom! I recognized a stain on one of the towels. Beyond disgusting! Towels even smelled! We were there for 4 nights, and I bet we never once had clean towels.
-Loud partying (both a wedding and a graduation) went on all of one night. Complained to front desk 3 times; on third time, was told our floor had no noise problem. This was after I witnessed a "guest" removing his pants in the hall and a woman from the floor below came up to yell at them for keeping her up too. I found beer bottles in the hall the next morning.
-When went to check out, I expected the front desk clerk to ask if we enjoyed our stay, but she didn't even make eye contact, mumbled "What's your room number?", and handed us a check-out slip. Very poor service! Checkout is the last time the hotel has an opportunity to make things "right", and they failed.
-One bright spot - I live in the East, and was wide awake at 4 a.m. and didn't want to disturb my husband. The fitness center isn't open then, but that desk clerk opened it for me anyway. He was beyond helpful! Definitely wasn't the same clerk the night of the partying.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seentoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaknight, General Manager at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay. Your comments will help to improve our service to ultimately improve our Guests' experience. I sincerely apologize for your less then positive experience. We believe in a mission of "People First" to create a positive experience for all our guests and your comments will go far to help us improve.
Mike Trudeau
Regioanl Director of Operations
Stoney Creek Hospitality Corp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stoney Creek Inn has the most awsome suites we have ever seen. They are so large. We met with friends and family at your motel, and everyone gathered in our suite! They are so spacious and everything was very clean. Awsome fitness room and swimming pool.
We will stay with you again next time we are in the area! And will recommend your motel to everyone!
Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanuaryHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed here because we wanted to just have a night away, let the kids swim and relax! It was just the trick. We have a 9 year old and we let her bring a friend, they had a lot of fun in the pool going inside and then outside (in the 20 degree weather) they thought that was pretty cool.
We also have a 2 year old and he had just as much fun swimming, although for him and mom the air temperature was a little cold. Since the inside outside pool still allows some of the cold air to come in.
Everyone loved the room, the bunkbeds were a great hit! We booked under the winter rate for 60.00 and the hotel had overbooked the regular rooms for an apparent basketball tournment in town, so they upgraded us to an Expanded Room for the same rate! It was very nice, the sofa would have pulled out as well for sleeping, but we didn't need the extra room.
The breakfast wasn't what I was expecting to be honest. While it served the purpose and everyone got fed. their webiste made it sound more appealing. The only waffles/french toast they had were in a bag in a cooler and you just put them in the toaster. No bacon or sausage. They did have biscuits and gravy, if you like that.
Overall, it was a great stay for the family getaway. The kids didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

I stayed in a suite on the 4th floor for 6 nights. The suite was immaculate, extremely spacious, well-equipped, modern, and comfortable. Multiple plasma TVs, whirlpool tub, bar, refrigerator, microwave, comfortable bed, you name it. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the breakfast in the AM (6-9am on weekdays, 7-10am on weekends) was a very nice touch, and the accessibility to downtown and my work location was perfect. This is a very new hotel so most things here are new and in mint condition. Finally, it was very reasonable. In Sioux City, the Stoney Creek Inn is an absolute no-brainer, especially when you consider the national chain alternatives that are older, more expensive, and offer much less in terms of character and value.

To be objective, the only "negative" I would point out is that the indoor pool/hot tub on the first floor were frequently mobbed with kids and families. That really did not affect my experience at all, though, since I could just sit in the large whirlpool tub in the comfort of my own room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We booked a fantastic room using our Entertainment book coupon. The room was spacious and clean. The kids loved the bunk beds. The adults enjoyed the couch, comfy chairs, large HD TV, fridge and microwave area of the room. The kids enjoyed the large (for a hotel) pool area and large, hot spa. The pool area was well stocked with towels and nice furniture. The swim through pool was a fun part of the pool. The exercise room was clean with all equipment functional and well stocked with towels and water. The continental breakfast was well stocked with a friendly breakfast attendant on site to refill and converse with guests. The lobby area is decorated in the wilderness motif, but not overdone. The large screen HD LG TVs throughout the hotel were a nice touch. For an overnight stay booked at the last minute, we truly enjoyed it from beginning to end.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Stoney Creek for one night in September. This is a new (opened June 2009) hotel. The normal rate for a room is $99.00 a night, but we booked through Expedia and got a rate of $74. Even at the higher rate, this would have been a bargain for this hotel.
Our room had 2 comfortable queen beds, a flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. The room was clean and comfortable.
The hotel has an inner courtyard witha nice seating area around a waterfall. There is a swimming pool that is both inside and outside along with a whirlpool. The hotel offers a contenital breakfast that is included in your rate. It consisted of 3 types of juice, 2 types of pop, coffee, tea, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, french toast, waffles, 2 types of cold cereal, milk, yogurt, milk, toast, muffins, bagels and fruit.
The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants and behind the Event Center.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynm4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
222 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
128 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Address: 300 3rd St, Sioux City, IA 51101-1403
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sioux City
#1 Family Hotel in Sioux City
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sioux City, the "heart" of Siouxland. Whether you're here to play at the Casino, visit students at Western Iowa Tech, Briar Cliff University, or Morningside College, or to watch some Musketeers hockey, Stoney Creek is the place to stay! Located a short walk from the historic Fourth Street downtown district and just behind the Tyson Events Center, our "Urban Lodge" will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - Sioux City Hotel Sioux City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing