We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sioux City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed one night while traveling through the area. Room was very nice and clean. I liked the rustic décor in the room and lobby. It was snowing the morning I left, wish I would have had more time to sit by the fireplace in the lobby and relax. Stayed in a room with a king bed. There was empty space in the room that needed another chair or small table and chairs. Also, had a pet and the charge was $25 for a pet. I have a small very clean dog and not sure why my pet would require that much extra. Felt like this was too much to pay for a pet. Breakfast was the usual free breakfast. They did have a nice variety of hot tea flavors. Good price for the quality of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quadp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Quadp4, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we too, wish it could have been longer. We spend considerable time and effort following all pet stays to insure that the next room occupant would never know a pet had been there by conducting extensive extra cleaning. As a pet owner of a small, clean dog myself, I understand your perspective but we must insure that if the next occupant has any pet allergies, they wouldn’t suffer any consequence. We hope the future holds another travel through our area and that we get to see you and yours again. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    104
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
162
101
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Early, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I come to Sioux City whenever we can to get away. And for as long as Stoney Creek has been here we have been coming. We will never stay anywhere else. You cant go wrong, Location is perfect. Rooms are all ways clean and comfortable. We recommend Sioux City Stoney Creek to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierce, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We did a family "daycation" and took our kids to a hockey game and stayed overnight there. Everyone was so friendly and the room was super clean! We used the pool when we first got there and was surprised to see it was indoor/outdoor..the kids thought that was cool and even got up early to swim before breakfast!!

The breakfast in the morning was great with a wide selection-no one should leave hungry.

Will stay at again when in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantelC210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice. Everything is always clean. Breakfast is good. Pool, spa, video games, laundry, & gym good.

The only bad is the people who work here.

First off I shouldn't have to tell them to throw garbage away if it's full. I had my trash left there after they "cleaned" the room. And then when I tell them they insist they did throw it out when obviously they didn't.

I asked to get the beds changed and they only got rotated.

I left sandpaper on the table for work and it was thrown away and that was the last we had.

The last thing that made me not want to come here again was an issue with one of the guest services people. He came talking rudely to me about my 2 & 1 year old how they are unacceptable and if they don't be quiet he's calling the cops on them. All they were doing was picking up their toys and helping me throw trash away. I told him I'll try but they're little I'm not gong to hit them and he said I have to do something I'm the parent and they're unacceptable. Very rude!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Angie226, Please accept my sincere apologies for any rudeness you encountered during your stay. Of course we work hard to hire and train personnel who are hospitable in every way. It also sounds like we threw away things you wanted and didn’t throw what we should have. We will immediately re-address our expectations with guest services, which this representative clearly did not understand, and readdress meeting customer expectations with everyone. Thank you for the comments, both critical and positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Stoney Creek. Again everything was great! Friendly staff, comfortable beds. The pool water may have been a little on the chilly side, but -23 windchill, it's probably hard to keep it overly warm! I would recommend this hotel. The atmosphere is lodge themed, it's great! We had our two grandkids running around, the walls are well insulated, thank goodness. Can't hear what the next room is doing.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I received a free theme room stay at StoneyCreek Inn. I have never stayed here before. I believe that because my room was free I was treated different. There is no pictures on their website to see what the different theme rooms looked like. I called and was told I could come in and have someone show me and my husband what they looked like. We had a lady named Sara who was a lot of help and she was there the night we checked in and was very nice to us. From the night we called in, to the day we checked out we were treated rudely on the phone and at the front desk. We were charged for the room (even though it was free), charged a $25 "incidental" fee, was not told check out, breakfast times or even what our room number was when we checked in. We were told the name of the room and it was on the 4th floor. I couldn't believe the treatment we received here. It was our honeymoon weekend and we will never go back (even though the hotel room was nice).

Room Tip: Very loud where are room was located. We stayed on the 4th floor, hoping the kids were on the 1st &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbmiller1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President - Corporate Support at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear mbmiller, I am very sorry we left you with the impression that we didn’t care about your needs and I assure you that was not the case. Your credit card was never charged for your room and its standard operating procedure that we ‘authorize’ your credit card for potential incidental room charges. That too, was never charged to your card, only authorized in case of need. In regard to your request to see all of our room types, I can only say that each is unique and it would take a giant website and a very patient viewer to show and view all of them. There is no excuse for not telling you about breakfast times, but for your own security, we never verbally tell an arriving guest their room number where others could overhear, instead we put it on your keycard envelope. All in all it sounds like we could have communicated more clearly and I apologize for any and all misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake of the ozarks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed here about 2 weeks this last month. I normally stay at the Hilton Garden but the dates I needed they were booked. Lucky me:)
The staff is excellent and friendly. The hotel itself is decorated like a lodge. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Location is great.
If you are in a hurry during check out they offer you a little breakfast bag.
They cover everything.
I love this place and this is now where I will stay when I'm in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scheevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites: Sioux City-Southern Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City

Property: Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
Address: 300 3rd Street, Sioux City, IA 51101
Location: United States > Iowa > Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sioux City
#1 Family Hotel in Sioux City
#2 Business Hotel in Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sioux City, the "heart" of Siouxland. Whether you're here to play at the Casino, visit students at Western Iowa Tech, Briar Cliff University, or Morningside College, or to watch some Musketeers hockey, Stoney Creek is the place to stay! Located a short walk from the historic Fourth Street downtown district and just behind the Tyson Events Center, our "Urban Lodge" will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - Sioux City Hotel Sioux City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing