We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Horse Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Dubuque)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Dubuque(Dubuque)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
63
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhonor systemstagecoach stopgreat river roadus feel at homelarge walk in showershort drivebreakfast was amazinglight sleepersmall towncommon areasbuena vistahot tubblack horsebeautifully landscaped groundskencupola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 64 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We attended a class reunion dinner and then spent the night too. The appetizers were served on the patio set in a perennial flower garden. The delicious meal was served in the inn's beautifully restored front room. The guest room we stayed in had the most comfortable king sized bed with a modern private bath. In the morning we were served a delicious breakfast at a time that we chose. A wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The owner of this inn has done a wonderful job of remodeling and decorating. I'm so glad someone is providing resources to preserve and restore this historic building. The beds were the best of our ten-day trip. The host was very friendly and fixed us a wonderful breakfast which was served in the large, attractive dining room. The inn is immaculate and well maintained. Many might miss staying in this B & B as it is several miles north of Dubuque. it is located in a very small town of Sherrill which may have as many churches as people. The area is beautiful and if you are heading to Wisconsin, the Cassville ferry is nearby to take you across the mighty Mississippi River. Put this inn on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Black Horse 9/28/2012. The rooms were beautiful. The host was knowlegable about the area. The breakfast was a hearty country breafast and we got to choose the time for breakfast which is great so we could be on our way to see the leaves. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend it to everyone and will stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have bathrooms. The elevator only goes to the 2nd floor. So if you don't want to climb some steps pick a room on the 2nd floor not the third.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POLLY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We enjoyed every bit of our stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A wonderful experience. The hotel was amazing. I would have liked to spend a day just in the hotel! Beyond the charm of the historical landmark, the mattress, sheets, and towels were first rate. The people, not only gracious, but truly kind and caring, yet intelligent and sophisticated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews