We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant surprise!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shenandoah Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shenandoah
arnolds park
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Upon entering the hotel, I was warmly greeted by the front desk staff. The hotel is amazingly clean, a great and unique breakfast with bakery (real bakery not store bought Llittle Debbie's type). The rooms are well furnished and again, amazingly clean! There's wi-fi, flat screens with adequate channels. The downtown stores are all unique and would provide a nice afternoon to explore. There's also a few coffee shops and a restaurant with their own microbrew for evening meals. Would certainly recommend!

Room Tip: Main Street traffic may cause light sleepers trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
18
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, IL
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

On our 14th anniversary, we chose to stay downtown at the Shenandoah Inn and Suites, because that is the town my husband grew up in, and where we were married. The Christian Church we married in is only 2 or 3 blocks from the hotel.

It is a small town hotel, new accommodations for the city, so was nice and modern. Best hotel in town.

We enjoyed our Main St. view of this small town. We didn't eat at the hotel, but across the street at Nick's Café.

We shopped at the Emporium where we bought a wonderful Key E wind chime. It is store of very one of a kind store with a splash of some of brand name toys, jewelry, glassware, etc. They have pottery made with the Shenandoah logo on it, if you want a souvenir from this small town.

People are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VondaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Pretty clean and quiet ., nice diner across the street and the Depot is down the road to the west. I was here for work at the Eaton Transmission plant and I needed to print some things at the computer which worked fine. They do not have a scanner though so I went to walmart and got one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

WE had a large group we need accommodations for due to a death in the family they were very accommodating and gave us a great rate - clean and staff was wonderful to work with.. continental breakfast with coffee, juice, cappuccino & breakfast breads in the AM or walk across the street to a small town cafe. It is the main street through down town so gonna hear some traffic but its a small town ... definitely would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasSummertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice small town hotel ,front desk agent Shirley was very friendly and had lots of useful local knowledge. We stayed in room 218 and it was very clean, everything was in good shape, beds are very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. Nice complimentary breakfast and a good diner across the street you can walk to. Very nice hotel, thanks to the hotel manager for providing a pleasant stay and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: I dont think there is any bad rooms , we stayed in 218 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingmanGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was my second time at this motel.

This is a nice clean place in a good downtown location. The bed was comfortable and bathroom well stocked with thick towels. The staff was very pleasant.

I stayed on a Friday night and Harley's were going up and down the front of the motel and were quite loud. Ask for a room overlooking the parking lot.

Don't expect much of a breakfast. There was a few pieces of bread, English muffins and bagels and not much more. You can get breakfast at the depot down the road.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the parking lot. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight here while on a trip to this area of Iowa. It was a new, clean facility. But, is located on a busy street. We spent a Sun. Night there & there were lots of vehicles (especially loud pickup trucks) going up & down the streets until after 10:30 pm. Probably even more noticeable because everything else is either closed all day on Sun. Or at least by 8 pm! The continental breakfast was toast or a muffin & juice& coffee--nothing special. The local coffeeshop downtown didn't even open until 9:30 am!

Room Tip: There was no pool & no restaurant in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Shenandoah
Super 8 Shenandoah
#2 of 2 in Shenandoah
32 reviews
22.4 mi away
Super 8 Nebraska City
Super 8 Nebraska City
#1 of 2 in Percival
248 reviews
22.5 mi away
Motel 6 Percival
Motel 6 Percival
#2 of 2 in Percival
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Super 8 Clarinda
Super 8 Clarinda
#1 of 1 in Clarinda
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tall Corn Inn
Tall Corn Inn
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah
18 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Red Oak
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Inn & Suites

Property: Shenandoah Inn & Suites
Address: 620 W Sheridan Ave, Shenandoah, IA 51601-1708
Location: United States > Iowa > Shenandoah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shenandoah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Shenandoah Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Inn & Suites Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing