We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About the only hotel in the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sheldon
Kansas City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“About the only hotel in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is about the only hotel worthy in the area. There is a Super 8, which I stayed in years ago and swore I would never stay there again.

It's a typical HIE. The issues I have with this hotel are small, but they could easily fix (but probably won't).

Lighting in the rooms are horrible, period.

If your policy (hence the hanging tag in the bathroom) is to be "Green", please follow it. I try to be as green when I can. I leave my towel hanging on the rack to use again the next day and housekeeping takes it. Like I said...small thing, but this really upsets me. If you advertise it....do it. It's not hard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkitelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear kkitelin,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
3
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are in the area, this mote is a must stay. Very clean, well stocked rooms with the latest and greatest upgrades. Very friendly staff that exceeds all expectations. The beds are very comfortable, flat screen tv's and very clean property. It is located on the east end of Sheldon, but it is positioned well for fast food (Taco Johns) a mexican restaraunt and chineese restaraunt very close as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdhockeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recently stayed here while visiting relatives in the area. There are not many places to stay locally so having this newer hotel in the area is a big plus. We found the room very nice, spacious and clean. It was comfortable and the price was fair. We did not utilize the pool area but it looks quite nice. The locals are scared of it though because the roof has fallen down 3 times since its construction. We found the staff to all be personable and friendly. The breakfast was the usual good one provided by this chain and we utilized it both mornings. They only get 4 of 5 stars for not providing smoking rooms for those guests who desire them. Due to the huge lack of places to stay, we will be back again, if our usual rental is unavailable.

Room Tip: The 2 Queens Suite is very comfortable and well appointed with mini "kitchen" and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is well kept, the rooms are spacious enough and clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here severel times and have always been pleased. They have a nice exercise room as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

How disappointing. We are long-time riders of RAGBRAI and choose to stay in local motels along the way. We have NEVER encountered what was quoted to us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Sheldon Iowa. I was quoted $249.95 for a standard room for the Saturday night before this year's RAGBRAI begins. I decided to compare room prices for the Saturday evening AFTER RAGBRAI. H'mmm....$109.00 for a standard room. The front desk informed me this was a "corporate" decision. We have stayed in other Holiday Inn Express motels during our years on RAGBRAI and never encountered this type of price gouging. RAGBRAI is a family friendly, tourism boost to the state of Iowa for an entire week each year during July. Too bad this new Holiday Inn Express has chosen not to support the tourism being brought into the state.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
6 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here while I was visiting friends. It was a great place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made me feel right at home. They have a large great lap pool which was nice for our group. The rooms were big and beautiful. Comfy beds. The breakfast was great too. They even have a pancake machine. YUM! I would recommend it for anyone looking for a place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the door if you are a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hope V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I've stayed in many of the hotels in this chain, and without a question, this is the nicest, cleanest, and friendliest I've ever stayed at. I truly didn't want to leave. The bedrooms are large and spacious with beautiful furnishings, including a bed that is extremely comfortable. My room had a microwave and a refrigerator, and the vending machines near the lobby are stocked with all sorts of microwaveable foods. The front desk staff is truly delightful to work with. They allowed me a late check-out, even though their housekeeping staff was finished and waiting on my room. If I'm ever within 100 miles of here again, there's no question that I'll be staying right back at this property. These people deserve some kind of special award!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank max88s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheldon
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Center
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Orange City
Hampton Inn Orange City
#1 of 2 in Orange City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sibley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Sheldon
Super 8 Sheldon
#2 of 4 in Sheldon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
19.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sioux Center
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
17.4 mi away
Super 8 Orange City
Super 8 Orange City
#2 of 2 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 201 34th Ave, Sheldon, IA 51201-7611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Sheldon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sheldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find Rest at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Sheldon, Iowa Quiet and small, Sheldon, Iowa is the perfect town to enjoy a restful stay. Our Sheldon hotel is conveniently located within a short drive to many different attractions and businesses. The Sheldon Municipal Airport (KSHL)and the city center are within 2 miles of our Sheldon accommodations, making us the perfect destination for business travelers. Our hotel is near companies like Maintainer Corp., Data Dimensions, Rosenboom Machine & Tool and KT Industries, and we are just three miles from the Community Convention Center. Leisure travelers can explore Sheldon and get a glimpse of the beautiful Midwest. You can play 9 holes of golf at the Sheldon Golf and Country Club, only 3 miles from our 100% Smoke-Free Sheldon hotel, or you can visit the Sheldon Competition Park for a kart or motocross race. And the new outdoor Sheldon Aquatic Center is open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. This pet-friendly Sheldon hotel is the perfect place to unwind. We offer you choice amenities, including an indoor competition-size pool, a wading pool with fun features, and a whirlpool. You can visit the remodeled Fitness Center to work off the stresses of the day. You can stay connected with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and start your day with a free Express Start breakfast. There's also a 24-hour business center. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Sheldon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sheldon
Sheldon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sheldon, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing