We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking in the wild”
Review of Kitich Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kitich Camp
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you like luxury off the beaten path, if you like to earn your wildlife sitings, lunch and amazing scenery...this place is for you. Only 6 tents in the camp and plenty of people to look after you. Wake up and choose between swimming in the lovely river pools, climb a mountain, search for elephants and lions or lounge and read a good book! Spend three nights, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: Tent 5 or 6 are the biggest at the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Kitich Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the wilderness surrounding us - swimming in the rock pools is a firm favourite with all our guests!

With warm wishes
Sally & Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Kitich was unlike any other camp we encountered in Namibia, Kenya or Botswana. Tiny, in a high lush river valley, it was gorgeous and quiet. Instead of driving, you can take walks of varying length through the valley and along the river and up onto the ridges, accompanied by Samburu guides, with time to look at butterflies, birds, insects, and fish. We picnicked by a clear gorgeous pool. The lodge, and the elegant tents, front along the river, and you can see elephants, bushbuck, and other game along the river edge. At night you can hear lion and leopard, and in the morning birds. The bush is thick and the evenings cool. The food was delicious, the atmosphere intimate. More "rustic" than some lodges (no cell phone, WiFi or unlimited hot water and blow dryers here) it was infinitely more beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETGJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is such a beautiful place I almost don't want to review it as then more people will know about it! The drive there, across a few rivers in flood was exciting, but at the end of the road is a haven of peace and tranquility. No driving around here, but lots of walking with the Samburu trackers, picking up tracks in the forest, all very exciting to know you are walking a few hundred yards behind some big bull buffalo! The rock pool swimming and swing were a big success, food back at the main lodge wonderful, and we even had a Samburu Santa to visit us. As there are only 6 tents you never feel inundated with people. We wanted to get away from it all at Christmas time and I would say we succeeded with Kitich. I hope that they can find someone to run the place when the current couple leave as it would be a crying shame for this place to disappear off the tourist map.... Thankyou Patrick and Meriam for a truly memorable stay!

Room Tip: Tents are all the same, so no problem there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Public Relations Manager at Kitich Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely Trip Advisor reviews on our properties - greatly appreciated that you have taken the time to post. Thanks also for visiting Kitich - as you say, you really do get away from it all at Kitich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Kitich camp is quite remote, three hours drive from Samburu airfield. It is deep up a forested valley and out of phone coverage ( although there is wireless via satellite at the office). That said, it is very peaceful and safe as it is in the heart of a Samburu conservancy where all the local people have a vested interest in the success of the camp. The main activity is walking through the forest. We did not see many animals but our guides pointed out fresh tracks of lion, buffalo, leopard, warthog, bushbuck etc. Elephants were absent as they only return to the valley in the dry season. The walks were very rewarding and interesting. The food was excellent and the service was courteous and concerned. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WilliamECPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The most beautiful mountain retreat. If you like gorgeous virgin forest unspoiled nature and hiking then Kitich is for you . The staff answer your every wish , accommodation is very comfortable. Some of the walks will take your breath away , take a picnic in the forest , then sundowner under the baboon rocks , views are dazzling.

Room Tip: Take a large tent , there are large and smaller , small are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is an absolute jewel of a place, tucked away deep in the Mathew's Range of Kenya. Nestled in a green valley, this is a playground for leopards, lions, elephants and hyenas, and anyone lucky enough to get to come here.

There are only six tents, and apart from our group, no other tourists. It is the perfect place to get away from it all.

The tents are spacious, the staff fantastic, the food superb. They looked after us so well, it was so sad to leave. i will be back as soon as I can be.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Kitich, for what was my first visit to the Mathew's Range after hearing amazing things about the mountains for years from lots and lots of Kenya safari old-timers. Not disappointed at all - it really is a magical place with a strange, undefinable but striking aura of timelessness, tranquility and seclusion.

The camp is excellently run by Patrick and the large, friendly and well-trained staff, almost all of them from the local Samburu community. Tents and public areas very comfortable - simpler, perhaps, that other camps nearby, but that matches the ambiance of the setting. Food excellent, beers cold, shower water hot, no request too much from our party - which included a toddler and a baby.

The main attraction of the place is the walks off through the forested slopes and open glades of the wilderness leading down the valley away from camp. A two-hour hike along paths dotted with fresh spoor of leopard, lion (huge) and elephant led to a rock pool for a refreshing dip then a picnic lunch in the bush. Later, sundowners overlooking hillsides where elephant herds grazed. And all of it completely exclusive just to our group. Magical.

And, the final surprise, it really is not that tough to get there by road all the way from Nairobi. Including an hour for lunch in Nanyuki, the trip took 8 hours, which definitely puts Kitich into contention for long weekends (three nights) from Nairobi. It truly is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePflanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu District
15.2 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
377 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
347 reviews
1.5 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Samburu Riverside CAMP
Samburu Riverside CAMP
#2 of 3 in Archers Post
1 reviews
7.2 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
355 reviews
0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitich Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitich Camp

Address: Mathews Mountain Range | Namunyak Conservancy, 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Samburu District
Price Range: $303 - $1,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitich Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mathew’s Mountain Range rise up out of the desert; a chain of peaks covered in dense dewy forest, home to elephant, leopard, and ancient plant species such as cycads. In a remote valley, Kitich Camp overlooks a river glade. Walk along forest paths guided by Samburu, or swim in natural rock pools of the crystal mountain streams, Kitich Camp is an authentic ‘bush camp’ and offers a truly unique and private forest wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kitich Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing