We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a perfect place”
Review of Bois Bourdet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bois Bourdet
Ranked #1 of 1 Souvigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Bois Bourdet is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. The gites are meticulously clean and very comfortable for a most welcome home from home stay and Les and Louise the owners are so helpful they just cant do enough for you, they're great. The swimming pool is just lovely for those long hot summer days and the kids will have a ball with all the toys provided.
We have stayed 3 times now with family, alone and on honeymoon with friends when we couldn't think of a better place to be for our special holiday. If you want peace & quiet or a lovely family holiday in a georgous setting you cannot go wrong here.

Lynne & Ian Bellamy
Barnsley
Sout Yorkshire

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottybalotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic fortnight stay at Bois Bourdet with our 2 young children (5 and 2 years old).

The children loved the secure gardens where they could play and roam freely. They enjoyed the sandpit, wendy house, swings and trampoline and we had many happy hours in the lovely, heated pool. The children particularly miss feeding the chickens!

The accomodation itself was very comfortable and had everything we could need. It was lovely to be able to help ourselves to the fresh vegetables from the garden (cucumber, salad leaves and tomato at the moment) for our own meals. We loved the fresh eggs as well. The best bit was Les and Louise's fantastic home cooked meals - a real treat in self-catering accomodation. Louise even made a beautiful sponge cake to celebrate our daughter's 5th birthday.

We had a fantastic holiday at Bois Bourdet. It is a perfect place for a young family - lots for the children to do and a chance for adults to relax too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieB275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Bois Bourdet offers the perfect blend of adult relaxation (remember those child free holidays!) whilst being a great child-friendly location allowing the little ones to enjoy themselves in the great outdoors at the same time. We had as relaxing a holiday as a break with a toddler can be! Our very lively 21 month old enjoyed feeding the chickens, picking (eating the majority) fresh strawberries, playing on the swings, slide, wendy house and swimming in the lovely heated pool. We enjoyed dining on our private terrace whilst Les & Louise (the perfect hosts) served us with delicious home cooked cuisine. We could also relax in the knowledge that we were close on hand should our toddler escape her cot (a favourite pastime) yet still enjoy some much needed adult time as eating out had become a thing of the past. Bois Bourdet offers a perfect combination of self catering with the option of having a fantastic meal cooked for you on those nights where you want to spoil yourselves. The only downside was the weight gain from such good food and only having stayed for one week. Next time we will book two! Thank you Les & Louise for making us feel human again!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Just spent a very enjoyable week at Bois Bourdet. The Farmhouse has everything we needed. There was loads for the kids to do; giant sandpit, swings & slides, wendy house, trampoline and a lovely warm swimming pool + toys in the farmhouse for them to play with.
Louise cooks a fantastic evening meal - which we enjoyed on numerous evenings as couldn't be bothered to cook for ourselves.
Really recommend it especially if you have small children, the only problem was we had to go home!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_Willcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Bois Bourdet with our three children (ages 2, 4 and 11). We had a super time. Bois Bourdet is just stunning, with great attention to detail. Our children just loved pottering around the garden in the playhouse, hammock, swimming pool, sandpit and feeding the chickens.
There is huge amounts of garden for the children to play in and the whole property just feels so exclusive. The hosts Les and Louise are lovely, warm, genuine people and you are made to feel very welcome. The food is fantastic and parents can relax and wind down while the children are in bed. It is just truly a little piece of paradise. If you want a holiday in beautiful surroundings with great food and lovely hosts, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JConnelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our experience at Bois Bourdet was second to none. We arrived with our 17 month old son with all of the amenities you need for a young child, including cot, high chair, changing mat, bowls and cutlery and a bath, and even a basket of toys! We even arrived to fresh milk and yoghurt for our son as requested along with a sumptuous welcome pack. Lou and Les served us a fantastic 3 course dinner on our terrace 3 nights, knowing our son was safely tucked up in bed. Our son adored chasing the chickens, going in the heated pool and playing in the sandpit and wooden house. We took advantage of the freshly laid eggs and helped ourselves to salads from the vegetable patch and strawberries and cherries. We stayed in Le Petit Maison and the accommodation was stunning, with a particular attention to detail. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chummy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Our 2 week stay at Bois Bourdet with our 2.5 year old daughter was a fantastic success! Louise, Les & Ellie were fantastic hosts, helping us to make the most of our stay but letting us have our space despite only living next door! The accommodation and set-up at Bois Bourdet is just perfect for children- trampoline, playhouse, sandpit not to mention the pizza-making and friendly chickens! The evening meals provided by Louise & Les (if required) are perfect for adults as it's like eating a restaurant just right next door without worrying about travel or baby-sitters!
All in all, a very relaxing 2 weeks, we shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendycobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bois Bourdet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois Bourdet

Address: Lieu Dit Bois Bourdet, 79800 Souvigne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Souvigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Souvigne
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bois Bourdet is a beautifully restored 18th-century farmhouse set in six acres of secluded grounds, amidst the lovely countryside of the Poitou-Charentes region of France with amenities and attractions close by. Offering total comfort and relaxation, the farmhouse and two barns have been converted into luxurious holiday accommodation for both self-catering and Bed & Breakfast guests. All three properties have been equipped and modernised to an exceptional standard, yet still retain their original character and charm.Come and enjoy the beautiful unspoilt countryside, historic towns and villages, the lifestyle and the delicious food and wine that this lovely region has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you to Bois Bourdet very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bois Bourdet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing