We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Meal”
Review of Ye Old Sun Inn

Ye Old Sun Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ye Old Sun Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Colton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Meal”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a lovely large family meal over Christmas period. All of our party found something enjoyable on the menu. All the food was very good and delivered in a nice unhurried atmosphere. Would certainly be returning again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    89
    43
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More 'Nouvelle Cuisine' than Gastro, but excellent nonetheless.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't get me wrong - there is absolutely nothing wrong with nouvelle cuisine, I simply wouldn't expect it at these prices and in this location! The food and the atmosphere here are wonderful, but I still can't help but feel a little cheated on the food front. We all had starters, mains and desserts because we had room - which is a slight fail in my books. The pigeon starter was 2 very small slivers of pigeon breast with a scattering of kale and 1/3 of a roasted plum. Yes it looked and tasted beautiful, but it was more of an amuse-bouche than a starter. The other starters at the table were the same. The mains, on the other hand, were the complete opposite in terms of value for money. The rabbit pie was full to the brim with goodness with a lovely shortcrust top - although we had to share a small bowl of veggies and a pot of chips between 4 people. The 2 waiters were slightly over-attentive, but nothing to spoil our meal over.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patisabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Fabulous Local”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are lucky to live less than three miles form this great dining venue so we are able to visit regularly.

We like the fact that we can dress up or go casual and never feel out-of-place. There is always a warm and relaxed welcome.

We had Christmas Lunch at the Ye Old Sun Inn last week and would concur with the review by LHYORK below. We left it far too late to book for this special event but Kelly kept us on her waiting list and luckily was able to fit us in with only two days before!

The restaurant runs a loyalty / membership scheme and we frequently receive vouchers and special offers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieSue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most fabulous Christmas lunch at a delightful venue”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked ye old sun inn for Christmas day lunch following recommendation from a friend.... I must say, the whole day was absolutely faultless and couldn't have been better!

Upon arrival, we enjoyed drinks at the bar - we weren't rushed to our table as I thought we might be, so had chance to catch up with some old friends that we bumped into.
Our lunch started with bucks fizz followed by beautiful starters and homemade bread rolls. The Christmas turkey and all the trimmings was outstanding, better than you would eat at home! The friendly waiting staff offered more potatoes and vegetables, but there was so much that nobody could eat anymore - this was a nice touch though.
The dessert plate was a real treat, offering several mini desserts on one platter so that a bit of everything could be tasted - if you have a sweet tooth, this is definitely for you! Finally, the cheese board, homemade crackers, Christmas cake and grapes/celery arrived. Again, the waiting staff asked if we would like this straight away or prefer a break - which we opted for! Following a nibble of cheese, coffee, tea and mince pies was served by which time we were absolutely full!
The visit from santa with a gift for all the party was an added surprise and very well considered.
the real ales on offer suited my husband and the extensive wine list ensured everyone was dated for.

Overall, this was a fantastic venue for Christmas lunch - the quality and quantity of food was outstanding, the service friendly and efficient and the whole atmosphere very pleasant. As such, we have already reserved our table for next Christmas day to avoid disappointment! We will definitely be back there before then though to enjoy some of the other tasty dishes on offer!

Many thanks Ashley, Kelly and your wonderful team of chefs and waiting staff - a truly enjoyable day was had by all!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas at the Sun Inn”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Recently returned from the Sun Inn at Colton where we spent Christmas eve and Christmas night. Everything was excellent from the lovely rooms to the fantastic food coupled with really good service from the owners and their staff. We could not have asked for better. The reason for our visit was to enable us to spend Christmas day and have lunch with our 95 year old father who is in a wheelchair, He thoroughly enjoyed it and ploughed his way through every course, much to our suprise. We were later provided with more food later on in the evening just in case we were still hungry! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bucksfizzLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Old Sun Inn also viewed

Bilbrough, Selby District
Bishopthorpe, York
 
Tadcaster, Selby District
Tadcaster, Selby District
 

Been to Ye Old Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing