We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, great hospitality highly reccommended”
Review of Weldborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weldborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Weldborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We heard about the Weldborough hotel when looking for places to mountain bike in Tasmania. It is at the trail end and sounded like a good place to finish the day. Friends of ours in Hobart said there was nothing there worth seeing but we went anyway.

We checked in and paid the $10 for the night which included hot showers!! The amenities block was dated but the showers were fine.

We got information from the lovely man that runs the hotel abut the mountain bike track called the Blue tier descent. We headed out for a ride and got hideously lost. When we returned we cleaned off and went inside for a beer. They have all sorts of beers from microbrewery's in Tassie. Unfortunately we had missed dinner but the man felt for us and made us a cheese toastie to go with our beverages.

We chatted with fellow travelers and then headed off to our camp for the night.

We camped under a lovely tree in a great big grassy paddock. I wish we had been able to stay longer. It is definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I dropped in at the Weldborough Hotel on the Australia Day weekend for lunch. This is the first time we have ever visited this place. Apparently much of the interesting decor had been removed by the previous owner, and this left the pub rather lacking in atmosphere. The publican was friendly, and I saw as he offered people samples of the various designer brews he had available, which is apparently the selling point for this pub, the fact that it has the largest range of designer and micro brews around. Being a teetotaler, this didn't interest me. The menu is basic pub fare, and from what we saw, most of the meals offered to other diners were of a reasonable size, and most plates were left clean. I chose to order the steak sandwich, and was very disappointed. It consisted of rather dry multi-grain toast, with a lettuce leaf, a small amount of red onion, some cheese, and a small piece of admittedly tender steak which barely covered the toast. There was little in the way of sauce, making the whole thing rather dry, and at $16, poor value for money. I would certainly not recommend this dish. Weldborough has only a handful of houses, and the pub is the only business in the very small village. If you are into micro-brews, stay away from the steak sandwich, and want to stop for lunch on the way to either St Helen's or Launceston, then this place will probably suit, as long as you don't mind sharing your meal with a number of blow-flies, which started to hover when the meals came out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaywol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Let me start by reiterating previous reviewers. This hotel is in Weldborough, Tasmania. It is not in Croydon, Victoria. I have notified Trip Advisor of the error regarding the address but as yet they have not responded.
The photos of the inside of the hotel were taken about a year ago. The photos of the camping ground were taken in January 2013.
This property is a basic country pub. The owners are friendly, the food is good, the accommodation and facilities are basic.
The double room has a double bed with just enough room to walk up each side of it, a chest of drawers, a bedside lamp and a small heater. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The bathroom was a shared one at the end of the hall. It was clean and functional.

Breakfast was included in the tarriff, and consisted of cereal, toast, tea and coffee. There is no where else to go for breakfast for miles.The owners of the hotel do not live on site, and breakfast is set out before they leave the previous evening. I found the room that breakfast was served in very oppressive. It was a small box like room and quite dingy. There is a second, larger room that is much nicer that is obviously used for breakfast, but that was not being used when we stayed there.

The camp grounds are beautiful. The amenities block needs a good clean, but it is functional and provides what is needed.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledTasmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Really disappointed with the team at Weldborough Hotel. I called when I (and my 18 yo son and a mate) was 2 1/2 hours away to book in and they confirmed the family room at $115 per night.

So after travelling that 2 1/2 hours we turn up and hear "Oh sorry, we booked that room. You'll have to have 2 doubles at $80 each."

I hate feeling like I've been played for a sucker. I asked for a reduced price of $60 per room to ease the pain in my hip pocket and was met with "The owner will be here in 1/2 hour, but he'll probably say no."

Ouch. So off we went.

BTW, this review and the others here, along with the photos are for the Weldborough Hotel in Weldborough, not Maroondah in Victoria.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a fantastic little jewel in the country! The whole town is in the pasture land high in the hills, and only has a population of less than 30, but the pub is awesome! They carry microbrews from the 8 micros in Tassie, and they all you to car camp behind the hotel for a very reasonable fee.

If you are looking for a low cost place in the hills above St. Helens, then go to this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just stopped in for a meal. Very nice old country pub. Some different boutique beers (only place we found to let you taste the beers before you buy). Good chat.
We had some lovely homemade meals and felt very welcomed
Pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a fantastic old historic hotel in the old Tin mining area of north east Tasmania. The old photos and relics are fantastic. Staff are very helpful with service and conversation about the historic area. Had a great couple of hours with the publican and his wife. Highly recomend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Weldborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weldborough Hotel

Address: Tasman Highway 12 Main Rd, Weldborough, Tasmania 7264, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Weldborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weldborough
Price Range: $71 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weldborough Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country pub with great hospitality, Tasmanian craft beer, cider and wines, picturesque beer garden, home-cooked meals and basic accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Weldborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing