We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxed, friendly staff, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zabargad Berenice Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnis
Totnes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxed, friendly staff, great service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Realised from previous reviews that the resort had changed hands and that new owners were trying to make improvements. It was clear from our stay that all of the staff wanted to make our holiday and the resort a success. Lovely people very accommodating.

We had particularly gone for the scuba diving and we enjoyed some very relaxed diving on the fairly unspoiled house reef, supported by a very professional Emperor Divers team led by Alex. Thanks.

We also enjoyed our massages with Islam, allowing us to relax even further.

Would definitely recommend the resort to others seeking a similar type of break.


Pete

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    42
    35
    34
See reviews for
43
112
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This resort is quite remote set between the desert and the sea. Wonderful diving on the unspoilt house reef with excellent dive centre support. There was even a family of resident ospreys nesting on the dive jetty!
Very friendly, helpful staff throughout the resort. We really enjoyed the range of buffet food too.
Overall this was just the peaceful, hassle-free, relaxing week I hoped for - particularly quiet at this time of year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was a week of diving on Zabargad Resort in late February 2014. The hotel really has potential to become something special. Emperor Divers dive center worked very well and the boat diving are world class. And with the new jetty is very easy to dive on the house reef.
So I look forward to visiting this hotel again when the other half of the resort is completed. And then intend to bring enough mosquito repellent ...

Room Tip: Rooms 500-512 is closest to the divecenter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machico, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent value, the resort is not a 5 star but the whole staff make you feel like at home. Rooms are clean and spacious, restaurant very well organized and the food is everyday different and tasty. The housereef is awesome, probably the best in the ares reachable from a jetty.
Perfect for couple and friends, no animation! I love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AzulDivingMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Zabargad beach resort, although the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were wonderful the resort is in need of some updating. This is possibly due to the lack of people staying there? there were at most 20 in the whole place whilst we were there.
We stayed half board but should have gone all inclusive as there is nowhere to eat outside the complex, having said that the food we did get was o.k! a little limited in choice but that was because of the lack of guests.( no tummy troubles which I usually get in Sharm)
We booked the hotel through Emperor divers who are on site. As usual they were excellent!, it is a shame more people don't go there. We had booked a dive package of 3 days house reef + 1 days boat diving. The house reef was very good and after your initial check you can dive unguided which is great, the dive sites by boat are even better!.
I would say it was a very chilled and relaxing week, so if you don't mind the 2 hour bus journey from Marsa Alam airport... go for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of October, what a beautiful place, such a shame that there are hardly any people going here, I can only imagine what it must be like when it's buzzing with people. The rooms (we were in 504, close to the dive centre) are clean and comfortable, a little tired and in need of some TLC but this is obviously not possible with so few people going, the fridge in the room was good so that we could keep drinks cool. Aircon was good not noisy at all. The safe needed new batteries in but once that was done it worked fine. The food was very good not a vast amount of choice but again there would be no point in cooking loads of food for such a few people but what was there was well cooked and tasty. The two guys waiting on us couldn't do enough for us, excellent service. The dive centre was excellent, Emperor Divers running it and Marco and Ester were brilliant, very friendly and professional as were all the staff at the dive centre, some going above and beyond the call of duty to keep certain guests happy. We didn't hire any kit but what we saw looked in excellent condition. The diving on the house reef was really good, seeing different things every time, the two night dives that we did were also excellent. Day boats were good and the crew very helpful and again the diving was excellent. I would highly recommend this place and hope that people will start to go back, there was NO sign of any of the troubles what so ever.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest to the Dive centre start around 500
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

, I read about the promise of pristine diving in Hamata and decided to take the plunge in trying somewhere different.

Having dived with Emperor Divers in El Gouna and Marsa, I booked with them directly to stay at the Zabargad Bernice Resort, Hamata. Before going, I did some research on the hotel and saw some bad reports, however was informed that the hotel was now under new management so hoped for the best.

This review covers both the Diving (With Emperor Divers, who are onsite), and the Hotel and I must say that my concerns about going to the hotel from the old reports were completely unnecessary. The new Management has obviously done a fantastic job in reopening the hotel, and the hotel staff and dive centre staff are friendly, helpful and professional.The Holiday was so relaxing, and I even considered staying another week - The only think that stopped me was meetings back in the UK :(. I was so impressed with BOTH the Hotel, and Emperor that I am looking to go back to Hamata (with a group of divers) next year, and will be staying at the same hotel.

Communication with Emperor was first Class (as always). On Arrival at Marsa Alam Airport we were greeted by Emperor Divers as promised, and travelled to Hamata in a comfortable air conditioned minibus. The journey was as promised - About 2 hours, and on arrival at the hotel we were greeted warmly, given refreshing drinks and shown to our rooms where we found more snacks and water waiting for us.

Information from Emperor Divers was waiting for us at reception with the information about where
to be, and what to bring for the next days diving.

The bungalow style rooms are exactly as advertised - Very clean, fully air conditioned, electronic safe, comfortable beds, and satisfactory furniture. A Fresh bottle of water was provided daily without any extra charge.

The hotel has only recently re-opened and is under new management, as such there were not many guests onsite however the food choice was fantastic, and the staff could not have been more helpful or more professional. If there was something you wanted, you only had to ask, and it would be provided.

Pool area and general resort is very clean and tidy - Pool area and beach area has plenty of loungers and shades, and Bob's bar is right next to the pool should you need any drinks.

There are some areas which are still being developed and these are fenced off, but no work was being carried out while we were there so this was not an issue.

The Jewel to this Hotel is having both Emperor Divers, and a stunning House Reef on site. The Dive centre is perfectly placed near the house reef, and the initial registration, before the first days diving was completed quickly and efficiently.

Transfer to the Day boats is a 5 minute dive away, and the boat that we used for the Day Diving was outstanding. We were on the Emperor Boat 'Emperor Asmaa' - A stunning boat with sun deck on top, middle shaded deck with comfortable areas to sit and chat, lower deck with large dive deck and large salon with dining facilities for 20 guests.

Below decks and on the middle deck were excellently appointed cabins, which we did not use as we were only Day diving - However when used as a Safari boat, Emperor Asmaa would make a fantastic boat with outstanding facilities, on board compressor and plenty of hot water.

The crew and guides were (as with all other Emperor staff) extremely professional, helpful, and safety considerations were always top of the list. The food that the chef produced was absolutely stunning. You could not ask for a better boat and crew.
it was very happy holidays i hope to be back as soon as possible
i still remember the quick response of the staff of reception restaurant &bars

Room Tip: all rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emad d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnis
22.5 mi away
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
#26 of 68 in Marsa Alam
820 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resta Club Marina View Port Ghalib
0.0 mi away
Blue Vision Diving Hotel
Blue Vision Diving Hotel
#2 of 12 in Marsa Alam
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wadi Lahami Village
Wadi Lahami Village
#5 of 12 in Marsa Alam
51 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Zabargad Berenice Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zabargad Berenice Resort

Property: Zabargad Berenice Resort
Address: Hamata - Berenice | 111 K.M South of Marsa Alam, Barnis, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Barnis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zabargad Berenice Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management in 2013, this new look hotel is set in paradise. With a mountain backdrop, beautiful established gardens and wonderful sea views you will feel totally relaxed surrounded by nature in the most unspoiled of the Red Sea resorts. Our rooms are European bungalow design, spacious and comfortable with modern amenities such as full size refrigerators and flat screen LCD TVs. We have a wonderfully located buffet restaurant as well as 2 a la carte restaurants, along with 3 bars.With the only hotel jetty in Hamata & Berenice, we are the only hotel where guests are able to dive and snorkel directly onto the reef without using boats. With Emperor Divers onsite, you can be sure of a premium diver and snorkeling service. Maybe its time for you to come and experience our new hospitality, and spend some time in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zabargad Berenice Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zabargad Diving Hotel Hamata And Berenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing